MCP servers › com.theopenapps › openapps
MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-10-23 · last tested 2026-10-23
com.theopenapps/openapps
Rankings, launches and featuring across the ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor and Grok Bot app stores. — the publisher's description
Summary
com.theopenapps/openapps is a remote MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 1.0.1. On 2026-10-23 ProtocolProbe connected to it in read-only mode and read its inventory: 14 tools, 0 resources and 3 prompts.
Record checks
1 of 2 record checks met · 7 do not apply
- met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
- not met: Source repository link opens
- not applicable: Repository is not archived
- not applicable: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
- not applicable: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
- not applicable: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
- not applicable: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
- not applicable: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
- not applicable: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
- Not ranked by downloads: a remote server publishes no download figure
- Not ranked by stars: no public GitHub repository
From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason · Is it safe to install?
Key facts
- Runs
- remote (hosted by the publisher)
- Transport
- streamable HTTP
- Sign-in
- none needed to open a session
- Tools
- 14
- Described as changing data
- 1 of 14 toolsAI-classified
- Topic
- search-and-web-dataAI-classified
- Pricing
- freemiumAI-classified
- Last tested
- 2026-10-23
Observed fact
This server accepted a session without any credential and lists 1 tool whose name or declaration suggests it changes data (feedback_send). That is our reading of the names; we did not call it. Source: our connection, 2026-10-23.
Worth knowing before you connect it
- 1 tool is described as changing something (feedback_send): our AI model's reading of the descriptions, not something we tested, and the server opened a session without any credential. We did not call it.
Each line comes from a section below, with its source and date.
How fresh this is
- Live-tested
- yes, a real session (not a text-only review)
- Last tested
- 2026-10-23
- Mode
- read-only (no tool calls)
- Latest version
- 1.0.1, published 2026-10-22 (registry, as of the 2026-10-23 snapshot)
- First listed version
- 2026-10-22 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
- Version history
- 2 versions listed, all on 2026-10-22; 2 in the 90 days before the 2026-10-23 snapshot.(versions still listed in the registry only)
Most recent 2 versions
1.0.1· 2026-10-221.0.0· 2026-10-22
- Registry data
- snapshot 2026-10-23
- Package and repository
- checked 2026-10-22
- Engine
- mcp-runtime-engine@0.1.0 · sdk@1.32.0
Changes since the last refresh
New in the registry: not in the list of 2026-10-04, listed on 2026-10-23 with version 1.0.1 (published 2026-10-22).
Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-10-04 and on 2026-10-23.
What it is
What does this server offer?
Observed inventory1 of 14 tools are described as changing something (creating, editing, deleting, sending or running).
- changes_listreads or searches
“Use this when the user asks what changed in a store: chart moves, featuring, launches, delistings, metric moves or MCP changes, newest first with counts per type.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no
9 inputs, 1 required
storestringrequiredregionstring“ChatGPT country code (default us).”sincestring“Window start: ISO-8601 or -24h, -7d.”appsarray“Listing refs or OpenApps URLs.”typesarray“Default: all but release_change.”limitintegercursorstringresponse_formatstringcontextstring“The user's goal, briefly.”
- new_listreads or searches
“Use this when the user asks which apps are new in a store since a time, by launch date or else the day each went live.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no
9 inputs, 1 required
storestringrequiredsincestring“Window start: ISO-8601 or -24h, -7d.”sortstringlimitintegercursorstringcategorystring“Category title (ChatGPT).”kindsarray“e.g.”response_formatstringcontextstring“The user's goal, briefly.”
- stores_getreads or searches
“Use this when you need stores, app counts, countries, freshness, charts or metrics.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no
4 inputs
storestringguidestringresponse_formatstringcontextstring“The user's goal, briefly.”
- charts_getreads or searches
“Use this when you need a chart now or at a past time, with movement and 1-based positions.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no
9 inputs, 2 required
storestringrequiredchartstringrequired“Chart name; stores_get lists them.”regionstring“ChatGPT country code (default us).”atstring“Past time: ISO-8601 or -24h, -7d.”kindsarray“e.g.”limitintegercursorstringresponse_formatstringcontextstring“The user's goal, briefly.”
- leaderboards_getreads or searches
“Use this when the user asks which apps lead a store by a published number.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no
7 inputs, 2 required
storestringrequiredmetricstringrequired“Metric name; stores_get lists each store's.”kindsarray“e.g.”limitintegercursorstringresponse_formatstringcontextstring“The user's goal, briefly.”
- scores_listreads or searches
“Use this when the user asks which apps are popular in a store over the last month: OpenApps Rank, a 28-day aggregate of its popularity charts, with tier and momentum.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no
6 inputs, 1 required
storestringrequiredchartstring“Chart name; stores_get lists them.”limitintegercursorstringresponse_formatstringcontextstring“The user's goal, briefly.”
- listings_searchreads or searches
“Use this when you need an app's ref from its name, its publisher, a brand it works with or what it does ("create jira ticket"); one row per app, best match first.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no
8 inputs, 1 required
querystringrequired“Words in app names, descriptions or publishers.”publisherstring“Publisher name, in any form.”storestringkindstringlimitintegercursorstringresponse_formatstringcontextstring“The user's goal, briefly.”
- featuring_historyreads or searches
“Use this when you need when and where apps were featured, per app or home shelf, over at most 30 days.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no
10 inputs, 1 required
storestringrequiredappstring“Listing ref or OpenApps URL.”chartstring“Chart name; stores_get lists them.”regionstring“ChatGPT country code (default us).”sincestring“Window start: ISO-8601 or -24h, -7d.”atstring“Past time: ISO-8601 or -24h, -7d.”limitintegercursorstringresponse_formatstringcontextstring“The user's goal, briefly.”
- listings_profilereads or searches
“Use this when you need a listing profile, or up to 5 (Pro): its app, country availability, ranks, metrics and MCP tools.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no
4 inputs, 1 required
appsarrayrequired“Listing refs or OpenApps URLs.”includearray“Sections per profile.”response_formatstringcontextstring“The user's goal, briefly.”
- mcp_toolset_getreads or searches
“Use this when you need a tracked app or server's stored MCP tools or changes.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no
6 inputs
appstring“Listing ref or OpenApps URL.”serverstring“MCP server URL.”atstring“Past time: ISO-8601 or -24h, -7d.”diff_fromstring“Earlier toolset: snapshot hash or time.”response_formatstringcontextstring“The user's goal, briefly.”
- market_getreads or searches
“Use this when you need store sizes, weekly launches, app kinds or MCP ecosystem statistics.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no
3 inputs
storestringresponse_formatstringcontextstring“The user's goal, briefly.”
“Use this when ChatGPT deep research needs listings, apps, tags (query tag:<id>), charts or tracked MCP URLs.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no
1 input, 1 required
querystringrequired“Words in app names, descriptions or publishers.”
Show 2 more tools
“Use this when ChatGPT deep research needs a document for an id returned by search: listing, app, tag, chart or MCP toolset.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no
1 input, 1 required
idstringrequired“A search result id: listing:{store}:{plugin_id}, app:{slug}, tag:{id}, chart:{store}:{chart} or server:{url}.”
“Use this when OpenApps' tools or data fail the user: an error, data the user says is wrong (such as an app bound to the wrong listing), a missing capability, or something confusing.”
Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · idempotent no · open-world no
8 inputs, 3 required
issuestringrequiredsummarystringrequired“One line.”initiatorstringrequired“user if the user asked for it, else model.”detailsstringtoolstringsubject_typestringsubject_idstring“Ref, slug or URL.”request_idstring“From an error answer.”
Each quoted sentence is the first sentence of the publisher’s own description. The kind of tool and the “changes data” mark are our AI model’s reading of that description, not something we tested: two differently worded runs had to agree, otherwise no label is shown, and nobody has checked them by hand. A tool without the “changes data” mark is described as only reading, searching or calculating, or the two runs did not agree. No tool was called. Read the publisher’s full description before relying on it. “Publisher declares” lists the hints the server itself sends with the tool (MCP annotations: read-only, destructive, idempotent, open-world); they are the publisher's claims, not checked by us. Inputs are the parameters in the tool's own input schema: name, declared type, whether it is required, and the first sentence of its description. Read 2026-10-23.
How well are its tools described?
Features #4 and #5
How clearly this server's own tool descriptions say what a tool does, and how consistent its tool list is. The first part is an AI model's yes/no reading of each description; the second part is counted. We do not turn it into a grade.
Descriptions
AI reading of each description
- Says what the tool does
- 100% of 14 tools
- Says what it returns
- 100% of 13 tools
- States limits, defaults or errors
- 100% of 10 tools
- Says when to use it
- 100% of 14 tools
- Items covered per tool
- 4.0 of 4 on average
Counted from the listing
- Parameters with a description
- 52% of 85
- Tools with a description
- 100% of 14
- Typical description length
- 218 characters
The tool set
Counted from the listing
- Tools
- 14
- Size of the list
- about 2,988 tokens for an agent to load (characters ÷ 4)
- Naming
- 12 of 14 names use snake_case
AI reading: easy to mix up
No pair found.
The AI items cover 14 of 14 tools: for a tool where two differently worded runs disagreed, that item is left out. They were not checked by hand, and no tool was called. “Easy to mix up” means two tools whose names or descriptions overlap without saying how they differ; the AI found none. We do not rate whether the tool set is complete or whether side effects are spelled out, because our AI reading of those was not reliable enough.
How do I add it to my client?
Config from the registry entry
From the remote endpoint (Streamable HTTP)
We connected to this URL on 2026-10-23 (a read-only session: no tool was called).
Add to CursorAn install link in the format Cursor documents, holding the Cursor config below.
Claude Desktop or claude.ai
Settings → Connectors → Add custom connector, then paste: https://theopenapps.com/mcp
Cursor · .cursor/mcp.json in a project, or ~/.cursor/mcp.json
{
"mcpServers": {
"openapps": {
"url": "https://theopenapps.com/mcp"
}
}
}VS Code · .vscode/mcp.json
{
"servers": {
"openapps": {
"type": "http",
"url": "https://theopenapps.com/mcp"
}
}
}VS Code (command line) · Bash or zsh terminal (macOS, Linux)
code --add-mcp '{"name":"openapps","type":"http","url":"https://theopenapps.com/mcp"}'Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http openapps https://theopenapps.com/mcp
Try it in the MCP Inspector · runs on your machine, opens in your browser · Node 22.19+
npx @modelcontextprotocol/inspector@2.11.0 --server-url https://theopenapps.com/mcp --transport http
- The server runs on the operator's infrastructure; it may ask you to sign in when you first connect.
- The MCP Inspector lists the server's tools, resources and prompts; a tool you call there runs for real.
Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.
Does the registry listing match what we found?
Feature #6The registry verifies a package once, when it is published, and does not re-check it. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.
| Registry says | We found | Result | Source · date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Remote endpoint theopenapps.com/mcp | Session opened | matches | our test · 2026-10-23 |
| No credential declared as required | Opened a session without any credential | matches | our test · 2026-10-23 |
Choosing
Record checks
Public records · not a safety rating1 of 2 record checks met · 7 do not apply
- Not ranked by downloads: a remote server publishes no download figure
- Not ranked by stars: no public GitHub repository
- MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
- Not metSource repository link opensThe registry entry gives no repository link.
- Does not applyRepository is not archivedNo public GitHub repository to read.
- Does not applyCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkNo public GitHub repository to read.
- Does not applyRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)No public GitHub repository to read.
- Does not applyPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierRemote server: it ships no package.
- Does not applyThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnRemote server: it ships no package.
- Does not applynpm package carries build provenance (attestation)Remote server: it ships no package.
- Does not applyNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependenciesRemote server: it ships no package.
Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-10-22. No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating. How each check works · Leaderboards
Common questions about com.theopenapps/openapps
Answered from the data aboveIs com.theopenapps/openapps safe to install?
We do not rate servers as safe or unsafe. 1 of its 2 applicable record checks are met (facts from public records, each listed on this page). What the records show: 1 of its tools describes changing data (our AI model's reading of the descriptions). These are facts with their sources on this page, not a safety guarantee, and we did not run its tools.
Is com.theopenapps/openapps free to use?
Its website (theopenapps.com/pricing) describes a freemium pricing model. This is an AI-classified reading of the page on 2026-10-23, so check the page itself before relying on it.
Does com.theopenapps/openapps need an API key or sign-in?
It opened a session without any credential on 2026-10-23. The registry entry declares no required credential; no declaration is not a guarantee.
Has com.theopenapps/openapps been security tested?
Partly. 5 of the 16 checks that apply to it were exercised. It accepted a session without any credential and lists tools whose names suggest they change data. We did not call them. No security verdict is published before verification.
What can com.theopenapps/openapps do?
It lists 14 tools. In our AI model's reading of their descriptions (two runs had to agree, nobody checked it by hand), they include tools that read or search and send messages. We did not call any tool, so this describes the text, not the behaviour.
Can com.theopenapps/openapps change or delete data?
1 of its tools says in its description that it creates, edits, deletes, sends or runs something (our AI model's reading). We did not call any tool, so we cannot say what actually happens.
Found this page useful?
Anonymous · no sign-inA quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.
Similar servers
Same topic · AI-read
- io.github.screenpipe/screenpipe-mcpscreenpipealso has tools that reads or searches, sends messagescompare with this one
- ai.cotal/cotalCOTAL actions (cotal.ai)also has tools that reads or searches, sends messagescompare with this one
- com.squirrelscan/squirrelscansquirrelscanalso has tools that reads or searches, sends messagescompare with this one
- io.github.Eclipse-Cj/paper-distill-mcpPaper Distill MCPalso has tools that reads or searches, sends messagescompare with this one
- com.theagenttimes/agent-newsAgent News by The Agent Timesalso has tools that reads or searches, sends messagescompare with this one
- com.mcparmory/apifyalso has tools that reads or searches, sends messagescompare with this one
Active servers whose topic is also “search-and-web-data” and that have at least one tool of the same kind; most kinds in common first, then most GitHub stars. The topic and the tool kinds are an AI model's reading of the publishers' descriptions, not checked by hand. Similar is not a recommendation.
Compare with another server
Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.
Security testing
What did we test, and what did we leave out?
18 checks · features #1, #2
Open without sign-in
It accepted a session without any credential and lists tools whose names suggest they change data. We did not call them. No security score is given; a check we did not run is never counted as passed.
- Inventory: exercised
- Hidden instructions: exercised
- Real execution: not run · our policy
- Secret leak: not run · nothing to check it against
- Internal addresses: not run · our policy
- Unconfirmed changes: not run · our policy
- Bad input: not run · our policy
- Model requests: not run · nothing to check it against
- Sensitive questions: not run · nothing to check it against
- Folder boundary: not run · our policy
- Log leaks: not run · nothing to check it against
- Hidden content: exercised
- Fake assistant turns: exercised
- Token passthrough: not applicable
- Token audience: not applicable
- Sign-in redirect: not run · our policy
- Consent handling: not testable from outside
- Sign-in metadata: exercised
5 exercised11 not run (reason given)2 not applicable
Each check ends in exactly one state: exercised, not run (with the reason), or not applicable (with the reason). 5 of the 16 checks that apply to it were exercised. We do not publish security-check outcomes for named servers.
- 1Inventory
tool-listReads the declared tools, resources and prompts.exercised - 2Hidden instructions
description-poisoningLooks for hidden instructions in tool descriptions.exercised - 12Hidden content
audience-hidingChecks resources that hide content from the user.exercised - 13Fake assistant turns
fake-assistant-turnChecks prompts that pose as the assistant's own words.exercised - 18Sign-in metadata
oauth-url-schemeChecks the published sign-in metadata for unsafe URLs.exercised
- 3Real execution
real-executionCalls a tool and checks what really happens.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 4Secret leak
canary-leakPlants a fake secret and checks whether it leaks.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 5Internal addresses
ssrfChecks whether a tool can be steered to internal addresses.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 6Unconfirmed changes
write-without-confirmationChecks whether tools that change data act without asking.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 7Bad input
error-handlingSends bad input and watches how the server answers.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 8Model requests
samplingChecks whether the server asks the client's model to act for it.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 9Sensitive questions
elicitation-sensitive-dataChecks whether the server asks users for sensitive data.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 10Folder boundary
root-boundaryChecks whether the server reaches outside the folders it was given.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 11Log leaks
logging-side-channelChecks whether log messages carry data they should not.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 16Sign-in redirect
open-redirectChecks the sign-in redirect for abuse.Testing the sign-in redirect means sending probes to the operator's sign-in service, which we do not do.not run · our policy - 17Consent handling
confused-deputyChecks consent handling when one service acts for another.Depends on the operator's own consent screen, which differs per server and cannot be tested from outside.not testable from outside
- 14Token passthrough
token-passthroughChecks whether the server forwards a user's token to other services.The server opened a session without sign-in, so there is no token flow to check.not applicable - 15Token audience
token-audience-validationChecks whether tokens meant for another service are accepted.The server opened a session without sign-in, so there is no token flow to check.not applicable
Source: our own test, 2026-10-23, mcp-runtime-engine@0.1.0. Which checks count and why follows our published scoring model.
What happened during the test?
Feature #8
The steps in order, as the test record holds them.
- 0 msStarted a read-only session with the server's remote endpoint
- 837 msConnected after 0 redirects. No credential was sent or needed.
- Read the inventory: 14 tools, 0 resources, 3 prompts.
- 2,868 msFinished: 5 checks exercised.
Reference
How is it classified?
18 fields
One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.
“Browsing OpenApps is free.”
“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.
Cite or correct this page
Sources and corrections
Suggested citation
ProtocolProbe. “com.theopenapps/openapps: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-10-23. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/com.theopenapps/openapps
Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.
As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.
Badge for your README
[](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/com.theopenapps/openapps)
It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.
Something wrong, or is this yours?
If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.
Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology