Skip to content

MCP servers › dev.kurlo › kurlo

MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-10-24

dev.kurlo/kurlo

Run, write and test the API requests saved in a Kurlo workspace, the open source API client. — the publisher's description

9 of 9 record checks metTopic: developer-tools · AI-classifiedPricing: open-source · AI-classifiedversion 2.5.0TypeScriptMITstandard input/output

Summary

dev.kurlo/kurlo is a local MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 2.5.0.

Record checks

9 of 9 record checks met

  • met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
  • met: Source repository link opens
  • met: Repository is not archived
  • met: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
  • met: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
  • met: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
  • met: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
  • met: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
  • met: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
  • #6,294 of 15,115 packages by monthly downloads, tied with 3 others
  • Not ranked by stars: no star count available
  • #556 of 809 packages meeting all 9 record checks, by downloads, tied with 2 others

From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason · Is it safe to install?

Key facts

Runs
local package
Transport
standard input/output
Package
npm · listed version current
License
MIT
Dependencies
no known high or critical advisories
Repository
public
Topic
developer-toolsAI-classified
Pricing
open-sourceAI-classified
Last tested
not tested

Add to your client

Worth knowing before you connect it

  • Its package is signed and carries a build record naming its source.

Each line comes from a section below, with its source and date.

How fresh this is

Live-tested
no
Last tested
not tested
Latest version
2.5.0, published 2026-10-24 (registry, as of the 2026-10-24 snapshot)
First listed version
2026-10-15 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
Version history
5 versions listed, 2026-10-15 to 2026-10-24; 5 in the 90 days before the 2026-10-24 snapshot.
Most recent 5 versions
  • 2.5.0 · 2026-10-24
  • 2.4.2 · 2026-10-23
  • 2.4.1 · 2026-10-22
  • 2.4.0 · 2026-10-21
  • 2.3.2 · 2026-10-15
(versions still listed in the registry only)
Registry data
snapshot 2026-10-24
Package and repository
checked 2026-10-24

Changes since the last refresh

Version 2.4.1 (published 2026-10-22) → 2.5.0 (published 2026-10-24), between the registry lists of 2026-10-23 and 2026-10-24.

The publisher’s GitHub release note for v2.5.0, published 2026-10-24.

Read the release note (the publisher’s text, shown as plain text, cut at 4,000 characters)
## Kurlo 2.5.0

### Added

- **AI requests.** A new request type sends a prompt to a language model: OpenAI, Anthropic, OpenRouter, Groq, Ollama, LM Studio, or any server with an OpenAI-compatible API. Choose the provider and the model next to the URL (**Load models** reads the provider's list), and write a system prompt and a prompt with `{{variables}}`. The answer streams into a conversation that shows the model's thinking, each tool call with its arguments and result, the stop reason, the time to the first token, the speed and the tokens in and out. **Reply** continues the conversation, **Raw** shows each stream as it arrived, and an answer cut off by the token limit or an error in the middle of a stream is called out where it happened. API keys come from `{{openaiApiKey}}`, `{{anthropicApiKey}}` and the like, so they stay out of the YAML.
- **MCP servers as tools for the model.** The **Tools** tab of an AI request lists the MCP requests in the workspace. Tick one, and when the model calls one of its tools Kurlo runs the call with that request's URL, auth and headers and gives the result back, step by step, until the model answers or the step limit is reached.
- **Markdown docs for every request.** The **Docs** tab has **Edit** with a live preview and **Preview**, which renders headings, lists, tables, code, links and images and adds a reference built from the request: the method and URL, the auth type, and the path variables, query params, headers and body with each row's description.
- **A status bar button for the response layout.** It puts the response beside or below the request; before, this was only in the command palette. Choosing the side-by-side layout yourself keeps it on editors down to 760 px wide.
- **`pm.response.llm()` in tests.** Test scripts of an AI request get the answer in one shape for every provider: the text, the tool calls with their parsed input, the stop reason, the tokens and the timings. Tests run once, after the last step.

### Changed

- **The AI conversation reads like a chat.** Answers are rendered as Markdown, the conversation uses the whole width of the panel, and the message field sends on `Enter` (`Shift+Enter` for a new line) without the system's spelling suggestions. **New chat** moved to the status line, and the Prompt tab says which text goes with every message and which only starts the chat.
- **Raw stays quick in long conversations.** Each step shows its URL and request body, steps are folded except the last, long bodies show their first 20,000 characters with **Show all**, and earlier sends no longer keep their raw bodies in memory.
- **The prompt field fits its text.** It starts at about six lines and grows as you write, up to the free height of the tab, instead of filling the whole tab.
- **The full address under the base URL.** An AI request shows where it sends the prompt, such as `POST https://api.deepseek.com/v1/chat/completions`, with the path Kurlo adds highlighted, so it is clear that the field takes the base URL.
- **Clearer errors when the model list does not load.** The provider and model box says what went wrong in a short title, shows the status and the address Kurlo asked (without its query string, where keys can hide), and suggests what to do next, such as checking the base URL or typing the model name.
- **Length limits for prompts.** The prompt and each chat message take up to 200,000 characters, the system prompt up to 50,000. A paste that does not fit is cut at the limit, a counter appears next to the label as you get close, and a longer prompt from an edited YAML file is refused when you send.
- **The method menu is shorter.** HTTP methods and the other protocols sit side by side.

### Fixed

- Clicking the provider and model box while it was open closed it and opened it again at once in the app; it now closes. The gRPC method picker had the same problem.
- With the response beside the request, the request side could be dragged so narrow that settings fields w

The release on GitHub

Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-10-23 and on 2026-10-24; release notes from the GitHub Releases API, checked 2026-10-24.

What it is

How do I add it to my client?

Config from the registry entry

From the npm package @kurlo/cli

Add to CursorAn install link in the format Cursor documents, holding the Cursor config below. The command runs the publisher’s code on your machine.

Claude Desktop · claude_desktop_config.json (Settings → Developer → Edit Config)
{
  "mcpServers": {
    "kurlo": {
      "command": "npx",
      "args": [
        "-y",
        "@kurlo/cli@2.5.0",
        "mcp"
      ]
    }
  }
}
Cursor · .cursor/mcp.json in a project, or ~/.cursor/mcp.json
{
  "mcpServers": {
    "kurlo": {
      "command": "npx",
      "args": [
        "-y",
        "@kurlo/cli@2.5.0",
        "mcp"
      ]
    }
  }
}
VS Code · .vscode/mcp.json
{
  "servers": {
    "kurlo": {
      "type": "stdio",
      "command": "npx",
      "args": [
        "-y",
        "@kurlo/cli@2.5.0",
        "mcp"
      ]
    }
  }
}
VS Code (command line) · Bash or zsh terminal (macOS, Linux)
code --add-mcp '{"name":"kurlo","type":"stdio","command":"npx","args":["-y","@kurlo/cli@2.5.0","mcp"]}'
Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio kurlo -- npx -y @kurlo/cli@2.5.0 mcp
Try it in the MCP Inspector · runs on your machine, opens in your browser · Node 22.19+
npx @modelcontextprotocol/inspector@2.11.0 -- npx -y @kurlo/cli@2.5.0 mcp
  • Optional arguments the entry also lists (left out above): <workspace>.
  • Arguments are written as the registry entry gives them; a named one as “--name value”, the form the registry documentation shows.
  • This runs the publisher's code on your machine (npx). Read its README first.
  • The MCP Inspector lists the server's tools, resources and prompts; a tool you call there runs for real.

Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.

Can it be installed, and is it up to date?

Version pin · advisories

Listed version

Registry lists
2.5.0
Latest stable
2.5.0
Status
current
Withdrawn
no

Source: registry.npmjs.org · 2026-10-24. About the version the registry lists; a manual install may resolve to a different one.

Dependency advisories

critical0high0moderate0low0

Counted in the full dependency tree as resolved on 2026-10-24 (npm audit; each bar counts packages with an advisory, not advisories). Bars share one scale. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev).

Integrity, provenance, license

Integrity
sha512-/d7yo5umOGatCxePe…
Signature
signed and attested
License
MIT

Source: the package registry · 2026-10-24.

Usage

Downloads
612 in the last month

Source: api.npmjs.org · 2026-10-24.

Does the registry listing match what we found?

Feature #6

The registry verifies a package once, when it is published, and does not re-check it. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.

Registry saysWe foundResultSource · date
Version 2.5.0 on npmExists and can be installedmatchesnpm · 2026-10-24
Repository github.com/stormhop/kurloOpens publiclymatchesapi.github.com · 2026-10-24

Who made it?

Feature #7 · lineage

Facts about the publisher. We do not turn them into a trust score.

Namespace
dev.kurlo
GitHub owner
an organization (stormhop)
Build record
signed and attested
Repository
github.com/stormhop/kurlo
Stars
29
Repository age
91–180 days
Last push
0–30 days ago
Archived
no
Security policy
SECURITY.md

Source: the registry entry and api.github.com · 2026-10-24; security policy read from GitHub · 2026-10-23.

Publish this server? Run these checks against it yourself before release, from your own machine: a server the command starts, or your own server at its URL after a one-time proof that you control it: npx protocolprobe-selftest.

Choosing

Record checks

Public records · not a safety rating

9 of 9 record checks met

  • #6,294 of 15,115 packages by monthly downloads, tied with 3 others
  • Not ranked by stars: no star count available
  • #556 of 809 packages meeting all 9 record checks, by downloads, tied with 2 others
  • MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
  • MetSource repository link opensThe linked GitHub repository is public.
  • MetRepository is not archivedNot archived.
  • MetCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkLast push 0-30 days before our check.
  • MetRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)SECURITY.md found.
  • MetPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierMIT
  • MetThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnThe listed version exists and is current.
  • Metnpm package carries build provenance (attestation)Signed, with a build attestation naming the source and workflow.
  • MetNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependenciesNone known in the package or its dependency tree.

Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-10-24. No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating. How each check works · Leaderboards

Common questions about dev.kurlo/kurlo

Answered from the data above

Is dev.kurlo/kurlo safe to install?

We do not rate servers as safe or unsafe. 9 of its 9 applicable record checks are met (facts from public records, each listed on this page). What the records show: Its npm package carries a build-provenance attestation that names its source repository and build workflow. Its source repository opens publicly. Its repository had a push in the last 90 days. The listed version is the latest stable release. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev). Its full dependency tree has no known advisory. These are facts with their sources on this page, not a safety guarantee, and we did not run its tools.

Is dev.kurlo/kurlo free to use?

Its website (kurlo.dev/docs/guides/mcp-server/) describes a open-source pricing model. This is an AI-classified reading of the page on 2026-10-23, so check the page itself before relying on it.

Has dev.kurlo/kurlo been security tested?

Not yet. It requires a setting the publisher marks as required (for example a URL part or a configuration value) that has no default, so we did not start it.

Does dev.kurlo/kurlo publish a security policy?

Yes: its repository has a public security policy (github.com/stormhop/kurlo/blob/HEAD/SECURITY.md). That is the publisher's statement, not permission for us to test the server, and we call none of its tools.

Is the listed version current?

Yes. The registry lists 2.5.0, the latest stable release on npm.

Where is the source code of dev.kurlo/kurlo?

In github.com/stormhop/kurlo, which opens publicly.

Found this page useful?

Anonymous · no sign-in

A quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.

Similar servers

Same topic · AI-read

Active servers whose topic is also “developer-tools”, most GitHub stars first. The topic and the tool kinds are an AI model's reading of the publishers' descriptions, not checked by hand. Similar is not a recommendation.

Compare with another server

Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.

Security testing

Has it been tested?

Feature #1

It requires a setting the publisher marks as required (for example a URL part or a configuration value) that has no default, so we did not start it. — the server's own choice

Reference

How is it classified?

18 fields

One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.

TopicAI-classified
AI-classified · 2026-10-23 · from version 2.4.1 (same title and description)
Pricing modelAI-classified
open-source
read from kurlo.dev/docs/guides/mcp-server/ · 2026-10-23 · from version 2.4.1 (same website)

“MIT licensed”

Programming language
api.github.com · 2026-10-24
Hosting type
registry · 2026-10-24
MCP capability
not checked
not read (no session)
Transport
standard input/output
registry · 2026-10-24
Required credentials
none declared
registry · no declaration is not a guarantee
Package registry
registry · 2026-10-24
Freshness
0–30 days
registry updatedAt · 2026-10-24
Lifecycle status
registry · 2026-10-24
License class
package registry · 2026-10-24
Integrity hash
declared (sri)
package registry · 2026-10-24
Signature / provenance
package registry · 2026-10-24
Dependency advisories
none known
npm audit · 2026-10-24
Popularity
612 downloads a month
package registry · 2026-10-24
Publisher signals
owner: an organization · repository age: 91–180 days · stars: 10–99 · build record: signed and attested
api.github.com · 2026-10-24
Maintenance
api.github.com · 2026-10-24
Environment
your machine
where it runs, from the hosting type

“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.

Cite or correct this page

Sources and corrections

Suggested citation

ProtocolProbe. “dev.kurlo/kurlo: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-10-24. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/dev.kurlo/kurlo

Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.

As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.

Badge for your README

ProtocolProbe: 9 of 9 record checks met

[![ProtocolProbe](https://protocolprobe.com/api/v1/badge/dev.kurlo/kurlo)](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/dev.kurlo/kurlo)

It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.

Something wrong, or is this yours?

If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.

Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology