Skip to content

MCP servers › io.github.JialaoLiu › dsh-baton

MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-10-24

io.github.JialaoLiu/dsh-baton

Hand tasks from Claude Code, Codex or any MCP client to a local DeepSeek Harness. — the publisher's description

8 of 9 record checks metTopic: developer-tools · AI-classifiedversion 0.5.9JavaScriptMITstandard input/output

Summary

io.github.JialaoLiu/dsh-baton is a local MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 0.5.9.

Record checks

8 of 9 record checks met

  • met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
  • met: Source repository link opens
  • met: Repository is not archived
  • met: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
  • not met: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
  • met: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
  • met: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
  • met: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
  • met: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
  • Not ranked by downloads: no download figure available
  • Not ranked by stars: no star count available

From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason · Is it safe to install?

Key facts

Runs
local package
Transport
standard input/output
Package
npm · listed version current
License
MIT
Dependencies
no known high or critical advisories
Repository
public
Topic
developer-toolsAI-classified
Last tested
not tested

Add to your client

Worth knowing before you connect it

  • Its package is signed and carries a build record naming its source.

Each line comes from a section below, with its source and date.

How fresh this is

Live-tested
no
Last tested
not tested
Latest version
0.5.9, published 2026-10-24 (registry, as of the 2026-10-24 snapshot)
First listed version
2026-10-22 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
Version history
7 versions listed, 2026-10-22 to 2026-10-24; 7 in the 90 days before the 2026-10-24 snapshot.
Most recent 7 versions
  • 0.5.9 · 2026-10-24
  • 0.5.8 · 2026-10-24
  • 0.5.7 · 2026-10-23
  • 0.5.6 · 2026-10-23
  • 0.5.5 · 2026-10-23
  • 0.5.4 · 2026-10-22
  • 0.5.1 · 2026-10-22
(versions still listed in the registry only)
Registry data
snapshot 2026-10-24
Package and repository
checked 2026-10-24

Changes since the last refresh

Version 0.5.4 (published 2026-10-22) → 0.5.9 (published 2026-10-24), between the registry lists of 2026-10-23 and 2026-10-24.

The publisher’s GitHub release note for v0.5.9, published 2026-10-24.

Read the release note (the publisher’s text, shown as plain text)
## New

- **Updates load without a restart.** When a newer dsh-baton lands in `~/.dsh-baton/app` (a plugin update, `setup`, or a copy by hand), a conversation that is already open in Claude Code or Codex uses it from its next `dsh_*` call. The connection stays open.
  - `src/server.mjs` is now a thin shell that holds the client's connection, and the server itself (`src/mcp.mjs`) runs as its child process. Before each call, the shell checks the app folder and starts the new version if there is one.
  - The first call on the new version carries a note: `dsh-baton was updated from X to Y without a restart`. The note also names any tools that are new in this version.
  - A `dsh_wait` that is already running finishes on the old version.
  - If the new version cannot start, the old one keeps working and the note says why.
  - This applies from 0.5.9 on. A server started from 0.5.8 or earlier needs one last restart, or a `/mcp` reconnect, to pick it up.
- **`dsh_call {name, arguments}`**: a backup entry that calls any `dsh_*` tool by name and runs the same code as a direct call.
  - Codex keeps the tool list a conversation started with, so it does not show a tool added by an update until the next conversation. Through `dsh_call`, an open conversation can use that tool at once, and the update note points to it.
  - Called with a name that does not exist, it changes nothing and returns the available tools with their input schemas.
- **Relayed questions put the client's own advice first.** When a run stops to ask (`ask_user_question`):
  - Option labels no longer carry the asking model's "(Recommended)" or "(推荐)" mark. That pick moves to a separate field, `harness_suggested`.
  - The result includes `relay`, the question laid out for the user. Its first line, `My recommendation: <pick>, because <reason>`, is for the client to fill in with its own pick and reason, in the user's language. The tools ask it to show this before the options.
  - `dsh_answer` takes an optional `reason`. When the user lets the client decide, it gives one sentence on why. The reason is not sent to Harness.
  - When the run ends, the result starts with `decided_for_user`: what the client chose and why. The client is told to say this to the user, not just pass on the final reply.

## Update

Update the plugin in Harness (Plugins → dsh-baton-host → Uninstall, then Add plugin → `dsh-baton-host@0.5.9`) and restart Harness. The plugin installs the matching MCP server. Then restart Claude Code and Codex, or start a new chat, once. Later updates load without a restart.

Tested on macOS with Claude Code and Codex, and on Windows with Codex.

**Full Changelog**: https://github.com/JialaoLiu/dsh-baton/compare/v0.5.8...v0.5.9

The release on GitHub

Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-10-23 and on 2026-10-24; release notes from the GitHub Releases API, checked 2026-10-24.

What it is

How do I add it to my client?

Config from the registry entry

From the npm package dsh-baton-mcp

Add to CursorAn install link in the format Cursor documents, holding the Cursor config below. The command runs the publisher’s code on your machine.

Claude Desktop · claude_desktop_config.json (Settings → Developer → Edit Config)
{
  "mcpServers": {
    "dsh-baton": {
      "command": "npx",
      "args": [
        "-y",
        "dsh-baton-mcp@0.5.9"
      ]
    }
  }
}
Cursor · .cursor/mcp.json in a project, or ~/.cursor/mcp.json
{
  "mcpServers": {
    "dsh-baton": {
      "command": "npx",
      "args": [
        "-y",
        "dsh-baton-mcp@0.5.9"
      ]
    }
  }
}
VS Code · .vscode/mcp.json
{
  "servers": {
    "dsh-baton": {
      "type": "stdio",
      "command": "npx",
      "args": [
        "-y",
        "dsh-baton-mcp@0.5.9"
      ]
    }
  }
}
VS Code (command line) · Bash or zsh terminal (macOS, Linux)
code --add-mcp '{"name":"dsh-baton","type":"stdio","command":"npx","args":["-y","dsh-baton-mcp@0.5.9"]}'
Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio dsh-baton -- npx -y dsh-baton-mcp@0.5.9
Try it in the MCP Inspector · runs on your machine, opens in your browser · Node 22.19+
npx @modelcontextprotocol/inspector@2.11.0 -- npx -y dsh-baton-mcp@0.5.9
  • This runs the publisher's code on your machine (npx). Read its README first.
  • The MCP Inspector lists the server's tools, resources and prompts; a tool you call there runs for real.

Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.

Can it be installed, and is it up to date?

Version pin · advisories

Listed version

Registry lists
0.5.9
Latest stable
0.5.9
Status
current
Withdrawn
no

Source: registry.npmjs.org · 2026-10-24. About the version the registry lists; a manual install may resolve to a different one.

Dependency advisories

critical0high0moderate0low0

Counted in the full dependency tree as resolved on 2026-10-24 (npm audit; each bar counts packages with an advisory, not advisories). Bars share one scale. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev).

Integrity, provenance, license

Integrity
sha512-/eSArGcayB5LogFJL…
Signature
signed and attested
License
MIT

Source: the package registry · 2026-10-24.

Usage

Downloads
1,680 in the last month

Source: api.npmjs.org · 2026-10-24.

Does the registry listing match what we found?

Feature #6

The registry verifies a package once, when it is published, and does not re-check it. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.

Registry saysWe foundResultSource · date
Version 0.5.9 on npmExists and can be installedmatchesnpm · 2026-10-24
Repository github.com/JialaoLiu/dsh-batonOpens publiclymatchesapi.github.com · 2026-10-24

Who made it?

Feature #7 · lineage

Facts about the publisher. We do not turn them into a trust score.

Namespace
io.github.JialaoLiu
GitHub owner
a personal account (JialaoLiu)
Build record
signed and attested
Repository
github.com/JialaoLiu/dsh-baton
Stars
24
Repository age
0–30 days
Last push
0–30 days ago
Archived
no
Security policy
none found (we looked for SECURITY.md in the repository and in its owner’s .github repository)

Source: the registry entry and api.github.com · 2026-10-24; security policy read from GitHub · 2026-10-23.

Publish this server? Run these checks against it yourself before release, from your own machine: a server the command starts, or your own server at its URL after a one-time proof that you control it: npx protocolprobe-selftest.

Choosing

Record checks

Public records · not a safety rating

8 of 9 record checks met

  • Not ranked by downloads: no download figure available
  • Not ranked by stars: no star count available
  • MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
  • MetSource repository link opensThe linked GitHub repository is public.
  • MetRepository is not archivedNot archived.
  • MetCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkLast push 0-30 days before our check.
  • Not metRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)No SECURITY.md in the places GitHub reads it from.
  • MetPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierMIT
  • MetThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnThe listed version exists and is current.
  • Metnpm package carries build provenance (attestation)Signed, with a build attestation naming the source and workflow.
  • MetNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependenciesNone known in the package or its dependency tree.

Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-10-24. No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating. How each check works · Leaderboards

Common questions about io.github.JialaoLiu/dsh-baton

Answered from the data above

Is io.github.JialaoLiu/dsh-baton safe to install?

We do not rate servers as safe or unsafe. 8 of its 9 applicable record checks are met (facts from public records, each listed on this page). What the records show: Its npm package carries a build-provenance attestation that names its source repository and build workflow. Its source repository opens publicly. Its repository had a push in the last 90 days. The listed version is the latest stable release. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev). Its full dependency tree has no known advisory. These are facts with their sources on this page, not a safety guarantee, and we did not run its tools.

Has io.github.JialaoLiu/dsh-baton been security tested?

Not yet. It could be started, but has not been tested yet. This is our limit, not the server's.

Does io.github.JialaoLiu/dsh-baton publish a security policy?

We found no SECURITY.md in its repository (root, .github/ or docs/) or in its owner's .github repository.

Is the listed version current?

Yes. The registry lists 0.5.9, the latest stable release on npm.

Where is the source code of io.github.JialaoLiu/dsh-baton?

In github.com/JialaoLiu/dsh-baton, which opens publicly.

Found this page useful?

Anonymous · no sign-in

A quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.

Similar servers

Same topic · AI-read

Active servers whose topic is also “developer-tools”, most GitHub stars first. The topic and the tool kinds are an AI model's reading of the publishers' descriptions, not checked by hand. Similar is not a recommendation.

Compare with another server

Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.

Security testing

Has it been tested?

Feature #1

It could be started, but has not been tested yet. This is our limit, not the server's. — our limit

Reference

How is it classified?

18 fields

One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.

TopicAI-classified
AI-classified · 2026-10-23 · from version 0.5.4 (same title and description)
Pricing modelAI-classified
not checked
no website in the registry entry
Programming language
api.github.com · 2026-10-24
Hosting type
registry · 2026-10-24
MCP capability
not checked
not read (no session)
Transport
standard input/output
registry · 2026-10-24
Required credentials
none declared
registry · no declaration is not a guarantee
Package registry
registry · 2026-10-24
Freshness
0–30 days
registry updatedAt · 2026-10-24
Lifecycle status
registry · 2026-10-24
License class
package registry · 2026-10-24
Integrity hash
declared (sri)
package registry · 2026-10-24
Signature / provenance
package registry · 2026-10-24
Dependency advisories
none known
npm audit · 2026-10-24
Popularity
1,680 downloads a month
package registry · 2026-10-24
Publisher signals
owner: a personal account · repository age: 0–30 days · stars: 10–99 · build record: signed and attested
api.github.com · 2026-10-24
Maintenance
api.github.com · 2026-10-24
Environment
your machine
where it runs, from the hosting type

“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.

Cite or correct this page

Sources and corrections

Suggested citation

ProtocolProbe. “io.github.JialaoLiu/dsh-baton: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-10-24. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.JialaoLiu/dsh-baton

Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.

As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.

Badge for your README

ProtocolProbe: 8 of 9 record checks met

[![ProtocolProbe](https://protocolprobe.com/api/v1/badge/io.github.JialaoLiu/dsh-baton)](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.JialaoLiu/dsh-baton)

It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.

Something wrong, or is this yours?

If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.

Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology