Skip to content

MCP servers › io.github.aaronmsoto › finops-framework-mcp

MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-10-23 · last tested 2026-10-23

io.github.aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp

Unofficial MCP server for the FinOps Framework: phases, domains, capabilities, maturity, KPIs. — the publisher's description

9 of 9 record checks metRead-only · tools listed 2026-10-23Topic: finance-and-payments · AI-classifiedversion 0.2.0HTMLMITstandard input/output11 tools

Summary

io.github.aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp is a local MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 0.2.0. On 2026-10-23 ProtocolProbe started its published package in an isolated sandbox in read-only mode and read its inventory: 11 tools, 44 resources and 4 prompts.

Record checks

9 of 9 record checks met

  • met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
  • met: Source repository link opens
  • met: Repository is not archived
  • met: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
  • met: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
  • met: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
  • met: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
  • met: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
  • met: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
  • #14,731 of 15,112 packages by monthly downloads, tied with 2 others
  • Not ranked by stars: 0 stars (ranked from 10)
  • #1,072 of 1,074 packages meeting all 9 record checks, by downloads, tied with 2 others

From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason · Is it safe to install?

Key facts

Runs
local package
Transport
standard input/output
Package
npm · listed version current
License
MIT
Dependencies
no known high or critical advisories
Repository
public
Tools
11
Described as changing data
0 of 11 toolsAI-classified
Mainly works on
nothing outside itself: it only answers questionsAI-classified
Topic
finance-and-paymentsAI-classified
Last tested
2026-10-23

Add to your client

Worth knowing before you connect it

  • Its package is signed and carries a build record naming its source.

Each line comes from a section below, with its source and date.

How fresh this is

Live-tested
yes, a real session (not a text-only review)
Last tested
2026-10-23
Mode
read-only (no tool calls)
Latest version
0.2.0, published 2026-10-20 (registry, as of the 2026-10-23 snapshot)
First listed version
2026-10-20 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
Registry data
snapshot 2026-10-23
Package and repository
checked 2026-10-23
Engine
mcp-runtime-engine@0.1.0 · sdk@1.32.0

Changes since the last refresh

New in the registry: not in the list of 2026-10-04, listed on 2026-10-23 with version 0.2.0 (published 2026-10-20).

Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-10-04 and on 2026-10-23.

What it is

What does this server offer?

Observed inventory
11tools
44resources
4prompts

What it mainly works on, as our AI model read its tool descriptions: nothing outside itself: it only answers questions.

None of its 11 tools are described as changing anything.

  • get_framework_inforeads or searches

    “Start here.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · idempotent yes · open-world no

    Takes no inputs.

  • search_frameworkreads or searches

    “Ranked keyword search over every entity (capabilities, KPIs, personas, principles, phases, domains, technology categories, maturity levels, scopes).”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · idempotent yes · open-world no

    4 inputs, 1 required
    • querystringrequired“Keywords, e.g.”
    • entity_typesarray“Restrict to these entity types (default: all)”
    • limitinteger
    • cursorstring“Opaque cursor from a previous call”
  • list_capabilitieson 109 other serversreads or searches

    “All 22 capabilities (slug, title, domain, one-line summary), optionally filtered by `domain` and/or `persona` (both take a slug, e.g.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · idempotent yes · open-world no

    4 inputs
    • domainstring“Domain slug, e.g.”
    • personastring“Persona slug, e.g.”
    • limitinteger
    • cursorstring
  • get_capabilityon 20 other serversreads or searches

    “One capability's content, section-selectable via `include` to control size.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · idempotent yes · open-world no

    3 inputs, 1 required
    • capabilitystringrequired“Capability slug, e.g.”
    • includearray“Sections to return (default [summary, definition])”
    • personastring“With include:['activities']: return only this persona's activities”
  • get_maturity_assessmentreads or searches

    “The official FinOps Framework maturity assessment prose for a capability, verbatim, at one level (crawl|walk|run) or all three.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · idempotent yes · open-world no

    2 inputs, 1 required
    • capabilitystringrequired“Capability slug, e.g.”
    • levelstring“One level; omit for all three official levels”
  • get_kpison 3 other serversreads or searches

    “Full KPI records: description, formula + candidate data sources (present for the 44 KPIs the site details in capability-page popups), official related capabilities, and where each is featured.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · idempotent yes · open-world no

    5 inputs
    • slugstring“Exact KPI slug for a single-record lookup, e.g.”
    • capabilitystring“Only KPIs featured on or officially related to this capability”
    • featured_onlyboolean“With `capability`: only KPIs featured on that capability's own page; alone: only KPIs featured on some page”
    • limitinteger
    • cursorstring
  • assess_maturity_pathreads or searches

    “For one capability, the official maturity assessment text at each level between current and target — evidence to look for when maturing.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · idempotent yes · open-world no

    3 inputs, 3 required
    • capabilitystringrequired“Capability slug, e.g.”
    • current_levelstringrequired“Starting maturity level, exclusive — the gap begins above this”
    • target_levelstringrequired“Ending maturity level, inclusive — must be above current_level”
  • map_personasreads or searches

    “With `persona`: every capability that persona works in, WITH that persona's activity bullets inline (one call answers 'what does X do across the framework').”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · idempotent yes · open-world no

    2 inputs
    • capabilitystring“Capability slug, e.g.”
    • personastring“Persona slug, e.g.”
  • get_entityon 45 other serversreads or searches

    “Full rendered markdown for entity types that have no dedicated tool.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · idempotent yes · open-world no

    2 inputs, 1 required
    • entity_typestringrequired
    • slugstring“Required for entity_type 'persona'; ignored otherwise”
  • get_maturity_modelreads or searches

    “The official FinOps maturity model: Crawl/Walk/Run with each level's characteristics and the community's sample goals/KPIs (e.g.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · idempotent yes · open-world no

    Takes no inputs.

  • get_changelogon 12 other serversreads or searches

    “What changed between data versions of this server's crawled artifact (rolling window of the 20 most recent refreshes — the crawler caps the log at 20, so this tool covers the full retained history; t…”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · idempotent yes · open-world no

    1 input
    • limitinteger

Each quoted sentence is the first sentence of the publisher’s own description. The kind of tool and the “changes data” mark are our AI model’s reading of that description, not something we tested: two differently worded runs had to agree, otherwise no label is shown, and nobody has checked them by hand. A tool without the “changes data” mark is described as only reading, searching or calculating, or the two runs did not agree. No tool was called. Read the publisher’s full description before relying on it. “Publisher declares” lists the hints the server itself sends with the tool (MCP annotations: read-only, destructive, idempotent, open-world); they are the publisher's claims, not checked by us. Inputs are the parameters in the tool's own input schema: name, declared type, whether it is required, and the first sentence of its description. Read 2026-10-23.

How well are its tools described?

Features #4 and #5

How clearly this server's own tool descriptions say what a tool does, and how consistent its tool list is. The first part is an AI model's yes/no reading of each description; the second part is counted. We do not turn it into a grade.

Descriptions

AI reading of each description

Says what the tool does
100% of 11 tools
Says what it returns
100% of 11 tools
States limits, defaults or errors
63% of 8 tools
Says when to use it
100% of 11 tools
Items covered per tool
3.7 of 4 on average

Counted from the listing

Parameters with a description
73% of 26
Tools with a description
100% of 11
Typical description length
344 characters

The tool set

Counted from the listing

Tools
11
Size of the list
about 4,042 tokens for an agent to load (characters ÷ 4)
Naming
11 of 11 names use snake_case

AI reading: easy to mix up

No pair found.

The AI items cover 11 of 11 tools: for a tool where two differently worded runs disagreed, that item is left out. They were not checked by hand, and no tool was called. “Easy to mix up” means two tools whose names or descriptions overlap without saying how they differ; the AI found none. We do not rate whether the tool set is complete or whether side effects are spelled out, because our AI reading of those was not reliable enough.

How do I add it to my client?

Config from the registry entry

From the npm package finops-framework-mcp

Our sandbox started this package on 2026-10-23 (a read-only session: no tool was called).

Add to CursorAn install link in the format Cursor documents, holding the Cursor config below. The command runs the publisher’s code on your machine.

Claude Desktop · claude_desktop_config.json (Settings → Developer → Edit Config)
{
  "mcpServers": {
    "finops-framework-mcp": {
      "command": "npx",
      "args": [
        "-y",
        "finops-framework-mcp@0.2.0"
      ]
    }
  }
}
Cursor · .cursor/mcp.json in a project, or ~/.cursor/mcp.json
{
  "mcpServers": {
    "finops-framework-mcp": {
      "command": "npx",
      "args": [
        "-y",
        "finops-framework-mcp@0.2.0"
      ]
    }
  }
}
VS Code · .vscode/mcp.json
{
  "servers": {
    "finops-framework-mcp": {
      "type": "stdio",
      "command": "npx",
      "args": [
        "-y",
        "finops-framework-mcp@0.2.0"
      ]
    }
  }
}
VS Code (command line) · Bash or zsh terminal (macOS, Linux)
code --add-mcp '{"name":"finops-framework-mcp","type":"stdio","command":"npx","args":["-y","finops-framework-mcp@0.2.0"]}'
Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio finops-framework-mcp -- npx -y finops-framework-mcp@0.2.0
Try it in the MCP Inspector · runs on your machine, opens in your browser · Node 22.19+
npx @modelcontextprotocol/inspector@2.11.0 -- npx -y finops-framework-mcp@0.2.0
  • Optional settings the entry also lists (left out above): FINOPS_MCP_DATA.
  • This runs the publisher's code on your machine (npx). Read its README first.
  • The MCP Inspector lists the server's tools, resources and prompts; a tool you call there runs for real.

Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.

Can it be installed, and is it up to date?

Version pin · advisories

Listed version

Registry lists
0.2.0
Latest stable
0.2.0
Status
current
Withdrawn
no

Source: registry.npmjs.org · 2026-10-23. About the version the registry lists; a manual install may resolve to a different one.

Dependency advisories

critical0high0moderate0low0

Counted in the full dependency tree as resolved on 2026-10-23 (npm audit). Bars share one scale. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev).

Integrity, provenance, license

Integrity
sha512-ZTqTVL4GJmueH6dbj…
Signature
signed and attested
License
MIT

Source: the package registry · 2026-10-23.

Usage

Downloads
20 in the last month

Source: api.npmjs.org · 2026-10-23.

Does the registry listing match what we found?

Feature #6

The registry verifies a package once, when it is published, and does not re-check it. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.

Registry saysWe foundResultSource · date
Published package can be startedStarted and answeredmatchesour test · 2026-10-23
Version 0.2.0 on npmExists and can be installedmatchesnpm · 2026-10-23
Repository github.com/aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcpOpens publiclymatchesapi.github.com · 2026-10-23

Who made it?

Feature #7 · lineage

Facts about the publisher. We do not turn them into a trust score.

Namespace
io.github.aaronmsoto · 3 servers
GitHub owner
a personal account (aaronmsoto)
Build record
signed and attested
Repository
github.com/aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp
Stars
0
Repository age
91–180 days
Last push
0–30 days ago
Archived
no
Security policy
SECURITY.md

Source: the registry entry and api.github.com · 2026-10-23; security policy read from GitHub · 2026-10-23.

Publish this server? Run these checks against it yourself before release, from your own machine: a server the command starts, or your own server at its URL after a one-time proof that you control it: npx protocolprobe-selftest.

Choosing

Record checks

Public records · not a safety rating

9 of 9 record checks met

  • #14,731 of 15,112 packages by monthly downloads, tied with 2 others
  • Not ranked by stars: 0 stars (ranked from 10)
  • #1,072 of 1,074 packages meeting all 9 record checks, by downloads, tied with 2 others
  • MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
  • MetSource repository link opensThe linked GitHub repository is public.
  • MetRepository is not archivedNot archived.
  • MetCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkLast push 0-30 days before our check.
  • MetRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)SECURITY.md found.
  • MetPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierMIT
  • MetThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnThe listed version exists and is current.
  • Metnpm package carries build provenance (attestation)Signed, with a build attestation naming the source and workflow.
  • MetNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependenciesNone known in the package or its dependency tree.

Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-10-23. No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating. How each check works · Leaderboards

Common questions about io.github.aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp

Answered from the data above

Is io.github.aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp safe to install?

We do not rate servers as safe or unsafe. 9 of its 9 applicable record checks are met (facts from public records, each listed on this page). What the records show: Its npm package carries a build-provenance attestation that names its source repository and build workflow. Its source repository opens publicly. Its repository had a push in the last 90 days. The listed version is the latest stable release. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev). Its full dependency tree has no known advisory. These are facts with their sources on this page, not a safety guarantee, and we did not run its tools.

Has io.github.aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp been security tested?

Partly. 4 of the 13 checks that apply to it were exercised. We started the package in an isolated sandbox and read what it declares, but this test round was read-only, so its tools were not called. No security verdict is published before verification.

What can io.github.aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp do?

It lists 11 tools. In our AI model's reading of their descriptions (two runs had to agree, nobody checked it by hand), they include tools that read or search. We did not call any tool, so this describes the text, not the behaviour.

Can io.github.aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp change or delete data?

None of its 11 tools is described as changing anything (our AI model's reading of the descriptions; nobody checked it by hand). We did not call any tool.

Does io.github.aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp publish a security policy?

Yes: its repository has a public security policy (github.com/aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp/blob/HEAD/SECURITY.md). That is the publisher's statement, not permission for us to test the server, and we call none of its tools.

Is the listed version current?

Yes. The registry lists 0.2.0, the latest stable release on npm.

Where is the source code of io.github.aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp?

In github.com/aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp, which opens publicly.

Found this page useful?

Anonymous · no sign-in

A quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.

Similar servers

Same topic · AI-read

Active servers whose topic is also “finance-and-payments” and that have at least one tool of the same kind; most kinds in common first, then most GitHub stars. The topic and the tool kinds are an AI model's reading of the publishers' descriptions, not checked by hand. Similar is not a recommendation.

Compare with another server

Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.

Security testing

What did we test, and what did we leave out?

18 checks · features #1, #2

Not probed (read-only run)

We started the package in an isolated sandbox and read what it declares, but this test round was read-only, so its tools were not called. No security score is given; a check we did not run is never counted as passed.

The 18 checks at a glanceour test · 2026-10-23
  1. Inventory: exercised
  2. Hidden instructions: exercised
  3. Real execution: not run · our policy
  4. Secret leak: not run · nothing to check it against
  5. Internal addresses: not run · our policy
  6. Unconfirmed changes: not run · our policy
  7. Bad input: not run · our policy
  8. Model requests: not run · nothing to check it against
  9. Sensitive questions: not run · nothing to check it against
  10. Folder boundary: not run · our policy
  11. Log leaks: not run · nothing to check it against
  12. Hidden content: exercised
  13. Fake assistant turns: exercised
  14. Token passthrough: not applicable
  15. Token audience: not applicable
  16. Sign-in redirect: not applicable
  17. Consent handling: not applicable
  18. Sign-in metadata: not applicable

4 exercised9 not run (reason given)5 not applicable

Each check ends in exactly one state: exercised, not run (with the reason), or not applicable (with the reason). 4 of the 13 checks that apply to it were exercised. We do not publish security-check outcomes for named servers.

Exercised · 4
  • 1Inventory
    tool-list
    Reads the declared tools, resources and prompts.exercised
  • 2Hidden instructions
    description-poisoning
    Looks for hidden instructions in tool descriptions.exercised
  • 12Hidden content
    audience-hiding
    Checks resources that hide content from the user.exercised
  • 13Fake assistant turns
    fake-assistant-turn
    Checks prompts that pose as the assistant's own words.exercised
Not run, with the reason · 9
  • 3Real execution
    real-execution
    Calls a tool and checks what really happens.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy
  • 4Secret leak
    canary-leak
    Plants a fake secret and checks whether it leaks.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against
  • 5Internal addresses
    ssrf
    Checks whether a tool can be steered to internal addresses.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy
  • 6Unconfirmed changes
    write-without-confirmation
    Checks whether tools that change data act without asking.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy
  • 7Bad input
    error-handling
    Sends bad input and watches how the server answers.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy
  • 8Model requests
    sampling
    Checks whether the server asks the client's model to act for it.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against
  • 9Sensitive questions
    elicitation-sensitive-data
    Checks whether the server asks users for sensitive data.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against
  • 10Folder boundary
    root-boundary
    Checks whether the server reaches outside the folders it was given.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy
  • 11Log leaks
    logging-side-channel
    Checks whether log messages carry data they should not.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against
Does not apply to this server · 5
  • 14Token passthrough
    token-passthrough
    Checks whether the server forwards a user's token to other services.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable
  • 15Token audience
    token-audience-validation
    Checks whether tokens meant for another service are accepted.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable
  • 16Sign-in redirect
    open-redirect
    Checks the sign-in redirect for abuse.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable
  • 17Consent handling
    confused-deputy
    Checks consent handling when one service acts for another.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable
  • 18Sign-in metadata
    oauth-url-scheme
    Checks the published sign-in metadata for unsafe URLs.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable

Source: our own test in an isolated sandbox, 2026-10-23, mcp-runtime-engine@0.1.0. Which checks count and why follows our published scoring model.

What happened during the test?

Feature #8

The steps in order, as the test record holds them.

  1. 0 msStarted the published package in an isolated sandbox (read-only mode)
  2. 3,187 msConnected after 0 redirects.
  3. Read the inventory: 11 tools, 44 resources, 4 prompts.
  4. 13,879 msFinished: 4 checks exercised.

Reference

How is it classified?

18 fields

One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.

TopicAI-classified
AI-classified · 2026-10-23
Pricing modelAI-classified
no value
The pages we read do not state how the product is priced.
Programming language
api.github.com · 2026-10-23
Hosting type
registry · 2026-10-23
MCP capability
completions, prompts, resources, tools
our test · 2026-10-23
Transport
standard input/output
registry · 2026-10-23
Required credentials
none declared
registry · no declaration is not a guarantee
Package registry
registry · 2026-10-23
Freshness
0–30 days
registry updatedAt · 2026-10-23
Lifecycle status
registry · 2026-10-23
License class
package registry · 2026-10-23
Integrity hash
declared (sri)
package registry · 2026-10-23
Signature / provenance
package registry · 2026-10-23
Dependency advisories
none known
npm audit · 2026-10-23
Popularity
20 downloads a month
package registry · 2026-10-23
Publisher signals
owner: a personal account · repository age: 91–180 days · stars: 0–9 · build record: signed and attested
api.github.com · 2026-10-23
Maintenance
api.github.com · 2026-10-23
Environment
your machine
where it runs, from the hosting type

“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.

Cite or correct this page

Sources and corrections

Suggested citation

ProtocolProbe. “io.github.aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-10-23. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp

Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.

As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.

Badge for your README

ProtocolProbe: 9 of 9 record checks met

[![ProtocolProbe](https://protocolprobe.com/api/v1/badge/io.github.aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp)](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.aaronmsoto/finops-framework-mcp)

It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.

Something wrong, or is this yours?

If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.

Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology