MCP servers › io.github.helphub369 › model-ruler
MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-10-23 · last tested 2026-10-23
io.github.helphub369/model-ruler
Read-only AI/LLM cost tools with current MCP discovery and attributable Registry transport. — the publisher's description
Summary
io.github.helphub369/model-ruler is a remote MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 1.0.4. On 2026-10-23 ProtocolProbe connected to it in read-only mode and read its inventory: 12 tools, 0 resources and 0 prompts.
Record checks
1 of 2 record checks met · 7 do not apply
- met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
- not met: Source repository link opens
- not applicable: Repository is not archived
- not applicable: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
- not applicable: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
- not applicable: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
- not applicable: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
- not applicable: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
- not applicable: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
- Not ranked by downloads: a remote server publishes no download figure
- Not ranked by stars: no public GitHub repository
From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason
Key facts
- Runs
- remote (hosted by the publisher)
- Transport
- streamable HTTP
- Sign-in
- none needed to open a session
- Tools
- 12
- Described as changing data
- 0 of 12 toolsAI-classified
- Mainly works on
- nothing outside itself: it only answers questionsAI-classified
- Topic
- ai-and-mlAI-classified
- Pricing
- freeAI-classified
- Last tested
- 2026-10-23
How fresh this is
- Live-tested
- yes, a real session (not a text-only review)
- Last tested
- 2026-10-23
- Mode
- read-only (no tool calls)
- Latest version
- 1.0.4, published 2026-10-07 (registry, as of the 2026-10-23 snapshot)
- First listed version
- 2026-10-06 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
- Version history
- 5 versions listed, 2026-10-06 to 2026-10-07; 5 in the 90 days before the 2026-10-23 snapshot.(versions still listed in the registry only)
Most recent 5 versions
1.0.4· 2026-10-071.0.3· 2026-10-071.0.2· 2026-10-071.0.1· 2026-10-061.0.0· 2026-10-06
- Registry data
- snapshot 2026-10-23
- Package and repository
- checked 2026-10-23
- Engine
- mcp-runtime-engine@0.1.0 · sdk@1.32.0
Changes since the last refresh
New in the registry: not in the list of 2026-10-04, listed on 2026-10-23 with version 1.0.4 (published 2026-10-07).
Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-10-04 and on 2026-10-23.
What it is
What does this server offer?
Observed inventoryWhat it mainly works on, as our AI model read its tool descriptions: nothing outside itself: it only answers questions.
None of its 12 tools are described as changing anything.
- token-counter
“Use when a user asks how many tokens a given text will consume, or needs to estimate prompt size before pricing a workload.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · idempotent yes · open-world no
3 inputs, 1 required
textstringrequired“Text content to count tokens for”tokenizerstring“Tokenizer family (default: default)”expected_out_tokensnumber“Expected output token budget (optional)”
- provider-cost-calculator
“Use when a user asks what an LLM workload costs on a specific provider/model, or wants to compare cost across providers.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · idempotent yes · open-world no
6 inputs, 2 required
tokens_innumberrequired“Input tokens per call”tokens_outnumberrequired“Output tokens per call”calls_per_monthnumber“Monthly call volume”providerstring“Target provider (e.g.”modelstring“Target model (e.g.”include_comparisonboolean“Include tier comparison table (default true)”
- self-host-breakeven-calculator
“Use when a user is deciding between API usage and self-hosted GPU inference at a given volume.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · idempotent yes · open-world no
6 inputs, 1 required
monthly_tokensnumberrequired“Monthly output token volume”api_cost_per_1m_outnumber“Current API output cost per 1M tokens”gpu_providerstring“GPU provider (e.g.”gpu_typestring“GPU type (e.g.”utilization_pctnumber“Expected GPU utilization % (default 60)”operational_overhead_pctnumber“Ops overhead % on GPU cost (default 40)”
- context-window-planner
“Use when a user needs to know whether a document plus prompt plus output fits within a model's context window, or wants a strategy recommendation (truncate/summarize/rag/chunk).”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · idempotent yes · open-world no
5 inputs, 2 required
doc_tokensnumberrequired“Primary document/content tokens”overhead_tokensnumber“System prompt + few-shot + history (default 2000)”expected_out_tokensnumber“Reserved output budget (default 1000)”model_context_windownumberrequired“Target model context size”strategy_hintstring“Preferred strategy (optional)”
- quantization-calculator
“Use when a user is planning to quantize an LLM to fit on smaller hardware.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · idempotent yes · open-world no
5 inputs, 1 required
params_billionsnumberrequired“Model parameter count in billions”precision_fromstring“Starting precision (default bf16)”precision_tostring“Target precision (default int4)”kv_cache_tokensnumber“Max KV cache tokens (default 8192)”batch_sizenumber“Serving batch size (default 1)”
- fine-tune-roi-calculator
“Use when a user is considering fine-tuning vs prompt engineering.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · idempotent yes · open-world no
6 inputs, 2 required
train_tokensnumberrequired“Training tokens (dataset × epochs)”train_cost_per_1mnumber“Training cost per 1M tokens”base_inference_cost_1mnumber“Baseline API output cost per 1M”finetuned_inference_cost_1mnumber“Fine-tuned inference cost per 1M”monthly_inference_tokensnumberrequired“Expected monthly inference volume (output tokens)”prompt_reduction_pctnumber“Prompt size reduction % from eliminating few-shot (default 0)”
- eval-cost-calculator
“Use when a user needs to budget an LLM evaluation run.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · idempotent yes · open-world no
10 inputs, 1 required
samplesnumberrequired“Number of eval samples”modelsnumber“Candidate models (default 1)”trials_per_samplenumber“Repeats per sample (default 1)”avg_tokens_innumber“Avg input tokens per sample (default 2000)”avg_tokens_outnumber“Avg output tokens per sample (default 500)”providerstring“Eval provider (default anthropic)”modelstring“Eval model (default claude-sonnet-4-6)”judge_enabledboolean“Enable LLM-as-judge second pass (default false)”judge_tokens_innumber“Judge input tokens (default 1500)”judge_tokens_outnumber“Judge output tokens (default 200)”
- observability-cost-calculator
“Use when a user needs to budget LLM observability tooling.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · idempotent yes · open-world no
4 inputs, 2 required
requests_per_daynumberrequired“Average daily LLM requests”avg_log_bytesnumber“Avg payload bytes per traced request (default 4096)”retention_daysnumber“Retention in days (default 30)”providerstringrequired“Observability provider”
- rag-pipeline-cost-calculator
“Use when a user needs end-to-end RAG cost estimation (embedding + vector store + generation).”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · idempotent yes · open-world no
11 inputs, 2 required
queries_per_daynumberrequired“User query volume per day”corpus_tokensnumberrequired“Indexed corpus size in tokens”chunk_size_tokensnumber“Avg chunk size (default 512)”chunks_retrievednumber“Chunks per query (default 5)”embedding_providerstring“Embedding model”vector_storestring“Vector store”generator_providerstring“Generator LLM provider (default anthropic)”generator_modelstring“Generator model (default claude-sonnet-4-6)”question_tokensnumber“Avg question tokens (default 100)”answer_tokensnumber“Avg answer tokens (default 400)”reindex_fraction_per_monthnumber“Fraction of corpus re-embedded per month (default 0.1)”
- automation-cost-calculator
“Use for generic or non-agent recurring workflow platform billing across Zapier task billing, Make credit billing, and n8n execution billing.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · idempotent yes · open-world no
3 inputs, 1 required
workflow_runs_per_monthnumberrequired“Workflow/scenario runs per month”billable_steps_per_runnumber“Billable actions/modules per run (default 5)”make_modules_per_runnumber“Make module actions per scenario run; defaults to billable_steps_per_run”
- agent-workflow-cost-calculator
“Use for automation-platform/iPaaS cost of an AI agent workflow, including app-action fan-out and MCP tool-call accounting, explicitly excluding LLM token spend.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · idempotent yes · open-world no
4 inputs, 1 required
agent_runs_per_monthnumberrequired“Agent workflow runs per month”app_actions_per_runnumber“Downstream app actions per agent run (default 3)”mcp_tool_calls_per_runnumber“MCP tool calls per agent run (default 1)”make_modules_per_runnumber“Make modules per run; defaults to app actions + MCP calls”
- agent-loop-cost-calculator
“Use for LLM inference/reasoning cost per successful multi-step agent task, including failure overhead and context growth across turns.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · idempotent yes · open-world no
9 inputs, 1 required
tasks_per_monthnumberrequired“Tasks attempted per month”steps_per_tasknumber“Avg reasoning steps per task (default 5)”tool_calls_per_stepnumber“Avg tool invocations per step (default 2)”avg_tokens_in_per_turnnumber“Avg input tokens per turn (default 3000)”avg_tokens_out_per_turnnumber“Avg output tokens per turn (default 400)”success_ratenumber“Task success rate 0-1 (default 0.7)”providerstring“LLM provider (default anthropic)”modelstring“LLM model (default claude-sonnet-4-6)”context_growth_factornumber“Multiplier on input tokens as conversation grows (default 1.4)”
Each quoted sentence is the first sentence of the publisher’s own description. The kind of tool and the “changes data” mark are our AI model’s reading of that description, not something we tested: two differently worded runs had to agree, otherwise no label is shown, and nobody has checked them by hand. A tool without the “changes data” mark is described as only reading, searching or calculating, or the two runs did not agree. No tool was called. Read the publisher’s full description before relying on it. “Publisher declares” lists the hints the server itself sends with the tool (MCP annotations: read-only, destructive, idempotent, open-world); they are the publisher's claims, not checked by us. Inputs are the parameters in the tool's own input schema: name, declared type, whether it is required, and the first sentence of its description. Read 2026-10-23.
How well are its tools described?
Features #4 and #5
How clearly this server's own tool descriptions say what a tool does, and how consistent its tool list is. The first part is an AI model's yes/no reading of each description; the second part is counted. We do not turn it into a grade.
Descriptions
AI reading of each description
- Says what the tool does
- 100% of 12 tools
- Says what it returns
- 100% of 12 tools
- States limits, defaults or errors
- 0% of 12 tools
- Says when to use it
- 100% of 12 tools
- Items covered per tool
- 3.0 of 4 on average
Counted from the listing
- Parameters with a description
- 100% of 72
- Tools with a description
- 100% of 12
- Typical description length
- 215 characters
The tool set
Counted from the listing
- Tools
- 12
- Size of the list
- about 3,679 tokens for an agent to load (characters ÷ 4)
- Naming
- 12 of 12 names use kebab-case
AI reading: easy to mix up
No pair found.
The AI items cover 12 of 12 tools: for a tool where two differently worded runs disagreed, that item is left out. They were not checked by hand, and no tool was called. “Easy to mix up” means two tools whose names or descriptions overlap without saying how they differ; the AI found none. We do not rate whether the tool set is complete or whether side effects are spelled out, because our AI reading of those was not reliable enough.
How do I add it to my client?
Config from the registry entry
From the remote endpoint (Streamable HTTP)
We connected to this URL on 2026-10-23 (a read-only session: no tool was called).
Add to CursorAn install link in the format Cursor documents, holding the Cursor config below.
Claude Desktop or claude.ai
Settings → Connectors → Add custom connector, then paste: https://modelruler.dev/mcp
Cursor · .cursor/mcp.json in a project, or ~/.cursor/mcp.json
{
"mcpServers": {
"model-ruler": {
"url": "https://modelruler.dev/mcp"
}
}
}VS Code · .vscode/mcp.json
{
"servers": {
"model-ruler": {
"type": "http",
"url": "https://modelruler.dev/mcp"
}
}
}VS Code (command line) · Bash or zsh terminal (macOS, Linux)
code --add-mcp '{"name":"model-ruler","type":"http","url":"https://modelruler.dev/mcp"}'Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http model-ruler https://modelruler.dev/mcp
Try it in the MCP Inspector · runs on your machine, opens in your browser · Node 22.19+
npx @modelcontextprotocol/inspector@2.11.0 --server-url https://modelruler.dev/mcp --transport http
- The server runs on the operator's infrastructure; it may ask you to sign in when you first connect.
- The MCP Inspector lists the server's tools, resources and prompts; a tool you call there runs for real.
Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.
Does the registry listing match what we found?
Feature #6The registry verifies a package once, when it is published, and does not re-check it. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.
| Registry says | We found | Result | Source · date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Remote endpoint modelruler.dev/mcp | Session opened | matches | our test · 2026-10-23 |
| No credential declared as required | Opened a session without any credential | matches | our test · 2026-10-23 |
Choosing
Record checks
Public records · not a safety rating1 of 2 record checks met · 7 do not apply
- Not ranked by downloads: a remote server publishes no download figure
- Not ranked by stars: no public GitHub repository
- MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
- Not metSource repository link opensThe registry entry gives no repository link.
- Does not applyRepository is not archivedNo public GitHub repository to read.
- Does not applyCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkNo public GitHub repository to read.
- Does not applyRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)No public GitHub repository to read.
- Does not applyPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierRemote server: it ships no package.
- Does not applyThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnRemote server: it ships no package.
- Does not applynpm package carries build provenance (attestation)Remote server: it ships no package.
- Does not applyNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependenciesRemote server: it ships no package.
Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-10-23. No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating. How each check works · Leaderboards
Common questions about io.github.helphub369/model-ruler
Answered from the data aboveIs io.github.helphub369/model-ruler free to use?
Its website (modelruler.dev/install/) describes a free pricing model. This is an AI-classified reading of the page on 2026-10-23, so check the page itself before relying on it.
Does io.github.helphub369/model-ruler need an API key or sign-in?
It opened a session without any credential on 2026-10-23. The registry entry declares no required credential; no declaration is not a guarantee.
Has io.github.helphub369/model-ruler been security tested?
Partly. 2 of the 14 checks that apply to it were exercised. We connected and read what the server declares, but did not call its tools: ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes. This is our choice, not a block by the server. No security verdict is published before verification.
Can io.github.helphub369/model-ruler change or delete data?
None of its 12 tools is described as changing anything (our AI model's reading of the descriptions; nobody checked it by hand). We did not call any tool.
Found this page useful?
Anonymous · no sign-inA quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.
Similar servers
Same topic · AI-read
- io.github.MervinPraison/praisonaiPraisonAIcompare with this one
- io.github.plastic-labs/honchoHonchocompare with this one
- io.github.pollinations/pollinationsPollinationscompare with this one
- com.omnara/omnaraOmnaracompare with this one
- io.github.moorcheh-ai/memantoMemantocompare with this one
- io.github.mohitagw15856/pm-claude-skillscompare with this one
Active servers whose topic is also “ai-and-ml”, most GitHub stars first. The topic and the tool kinds are an AI model's reading of the publishers' descriptions, not checked by hand. Similar is not a recommendation.
Compare with another server
Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.
Security testing
What did we test, and what did we leave out?
18 checks · features #1, #2
Not probed (we call no server's tools)
We connected and read what the server declares, but did not call its tools: ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes. This is our choice, not a block by the server. No security score is given; a check we did not run is never counted as passed.
- Inventory: exercised
- Hidden instructions: exercised
- Real execution: not run · our policy
- Secret leak: not run · nothing to check it against
- Internal addresses: not run · our policy
- Unconfirmed changes: not run · our policy
- Bad input: not run · our policy
- Model requests: not run · nothing to check it against
- Sensitive questions: not run · nothing to check it against
- Folder boundary: not run · our policy
- Log leaks: not run · nothing to check it against
- Hidden content: not run · nothing to check it against
- Fake assistant turns: not applicable
- Token passthrough: not applicable
- Token audience: not applicable
- Sign-in redirect: not run · our policy
- Consent handling: not testable from outside
- Sign-in metadata: not applicable
2 exercised12 not run (reason given)4 not applicable
Each check ends in exactly one state: exercised, not run (with the reason), or not applicable (with the reason). 2 of the 14 checks that apply to it were exercised. We do not publish security-check outcomes for named servers.
- 1Inventory
tool-listReads the declared tools, resources and prompts.exercised - 2Hidden instructions
description-poisoningLooks for hidden instructions in tool descriptions.exercised
- 3Real execution
real-executionCalls a tool and checks what really happens.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 4Secret leak
canary-leakPlants a fake secret and checks whether it leaks.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 5Internal addresses
ssrfChecks whether a tool can be steered to internal addresses.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 6Unconfirmed changes
write-without-confirmationChecks whether tools that change data act without asking.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 7Bad input
error-handlingSends bad input and watches how the server answers.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 8Model requests
samplingChecks whether the server asks the client's model to act for it.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 9Sensitive questions
elicitation-sensitive-dataChecks whether the server asks users for sensitive data.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 10Folder boundary
root-boundaryChecks whether the server reaches outside the folders it was given.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 11Log leaks
logging-side-channelChecks whether log messages carry data they should not.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 12Hidden content
audience-hidingChecks resources that hide content from the user.This check needs content the server returns, and nothing was read or called.not run · nothing to check it against - 16Sign-in redirect
open-redirectChecks the sign-in redirect for abuse.Testing the sign-in redirect means sending probes to the operator's sign-in service, which we do not do.not run · our policy - 17Consent handling
confused-deputyChecks consent handling when one service acts for another.Depends on the operator's own consent screen, which differs per server and cannot be tested from outside.not testable from outside
- 13Fake assistant turns
fake-assistant-turnChecks prompts that pose as the assistant's own words.The server exposes no prompts.not applicable - 14Token passthrough
token-passthroughChecks whether the server forwards a user's token to other services.The server opened a session without sign-in, so there is no token flow to check.not applicable - 15Token audience
token-audience-validationChecks whether tokens meant for another service are accepted.The server opened a session without sign-in, so there is no token flow to check.not applicable - 18Sign-in metadata
oauth-url-schemeChecks the published sign-in metadata for unsafe URLs.No sign-in (OAuth) metadata is published, so there are no sign-in addresses to check.not applicable
Source: our own test, 2026-10-23, mcp-runtime-engine@0.1.0. Which checks count and why follows our published scoring model.
What happened during the test?
Feature #8
The steps in order, as the test record holds them.
- 0 msStarted a read-only session with the server's remote endpoint
- 2,817 msConnected after 0 redirects. No credential was sent or needed.
- Read the inventory: 12 tools, 0 resources, 0 prompts.
- 7,864 msFinished: 2 checks exercised.
Reference
How is it classified?
18 fields
One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.
“Use free workflow and AI cost calculations inside Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, and VS Code/Copilot.”
“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.
Cite or correct this page
Sources and corrections
Suggested citation
ProtocolProbe. “io.github.helphub369/model-ruler: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-10-23. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.helphub369/model-ruler
Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.
As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.
Badge for your README
[](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.helphub369/model-ruler)
It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.
Something wrong, or is this yours?
If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.
Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology