Skip to content

MCP servers › io.github.sapience-design › freethetools

MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-10-23 · last tested 2026-10-23

io.github.sapience-design/freethetools

Local PDF, image, data and text tools for AI assistants. Files stay on your computer. — the publisher's description

8 of 9 record checks metRead-only · tools listed 2026-10-23version 0.1.2JavaScriptAGPL-3.0-onlystandard input/output29 tools

Summary

io.github.sapience-design/freethetools is a local MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 0.1.2. On 2026-10-23 ProtocolProbe started its published package in an isolated sandbox in read-only mode and read its inventory: 29 tools, 0 resources and 0 prompts.

Record checks

8 of 9 record checks met

  • met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
  • met: Source repository link opens
  • met: Repository is not archived
  • met: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
  • met: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
  • met: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
  • met: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
  • not met: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
  • met: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
  • #3,311 of 15,112 packages by monthly downloads, tied with 2 others
  • Not ranked by stars: 1 star (ranked from 10)

From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason · Is it safe to install?

Key facts

Runs
local package
Transport
standard input/output
Package
npm · listed version current
License
AGPL-3.0-only
Dependencies
no known high or critical advisories
Repository
public
Tools
29
Described as changing data
8 of 29 toolsAI-classified
Mainly works on
files and code on the machine it runs onAI-classified
Last tested
2026-10-23

Add to your client

Worth knowing before you connect it

  • 8 tools are described as changing something (remove_photo_metadata, compress_pdf, fill_pdf_form, …): our AI model's reading of the descriptions, not something we tested. We did not call them.

Each line comes from a section below, with its source and date.

How fresh this is

Live-tested
yes, a real session (not a text-only review)
Last tested
2026-10-23
Mode
read-only (no tool calls)
Latest version
0.1.2, published 2026-10-11 (registry, as of the 2026-10-23 snapshot)
First listed version
2026-10-10 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
Version history
3 versions listed, 2026-10-10 to 2026-10-11; 3 in the 90 days before the 2026-10-23 snapshot.
Most recent 3 versions
  • 0.1.2 · 2026-10-11
  • 0.1.1 · 2026-10-11
  • 0.1.0 · 2026-10-10
(versions still listed in the registry only)
Registry data
snapshot 2026-10-23
Package and repository
checked 2026-10-23
Engine
mcp-runtime-engine@0.1.0 · sdk@1.32.0

Changes since the last refresh

New in the registry: not in the list of 2026-10-04, listed on 2026-10-23 with version 0.1.2 (published 2026-10-11).

Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-10-04 and on 2026-10-23.

What it is

What does this server offer?

Observed inventory
29tools
0resources
0prompts

What it mainly works on, as our AI model read its tool descriptions: files and code on the machine it runs on.

8 of 29 tools are described as changing something (creating, editing, deleting, sending or running).

  • csv_to_jsonon 17 other serverscalculates or converts

    “Turn CSV into JSON: an array of objects keyed by the header row, or an array of arrays.”

    Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no

    5 inputs
    • textstring“CSV text.”
    • filestring“A .csv file.”
    • headerboolean“The first row holds column names (default true).”
    • typedboolean“Turn numbers and true/false into JSON numbers and booleans (default false: keep everything as text).”
    • saveTostring“Optional.”
  • json_to_csvon 14 other serverscalculates or converts

    “Turn a JSON array (of objects, or of arrays) into CSV.”

    Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no

    4 inputs
    • textstring“JSON text.”
    • filestring“A .json file.”
    • delimiterstring“Column separator (default comma).”
    • saveTostring“Optional.”
  • format_jsonon 13 other serverscalculates or converts

    “Check JSON and pretty-print it, minify it, or sort its keys.”

    Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no

    5 inputs
    • textstring“JSON text.”
    • filestring“A .json file.”
    • indentinteger or string“Spaces to indent, "tab", or 0 to minify (default 2).”
    • sortboolean“Sort object keys alphabetically (default false).”
    • saveTostring“Optional.”
  • base64_encodeon 17 other serverscalculates or converts

    “Encode text (as UTF-8) or a file as Base64, in standard or URL-safe form.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    3 inputs
    • textstring“Text to encode.”
    • filestring“A file to encode.”
    • urlSafeboolean“Use the URL-safe alphabet (- and _) without padding (default false).”
  • base64_decodeon 16 other serverscalculates or converts

    “Decode Base64 (standard or URL-safe, padding optional) to text, or to a file when the result is binary.”

    Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no

    4 inputs, 1 required
    • base64stringrequired“The Base64 to decode.”
    • outputstring“Decode to UTF-8 text (default) or save as a file.”
    • fileNamestring“Name for the file when output is "file" (default decoded.bin).”
    • saveTostring“Optional.”
  • generate_hashon 3 other serverscalculates or converts

    “Hash text (as UTF-8) or a file with SHA-256, SHA-512, SHA-384, SHA-1 or MD5, as lowercase hex.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    3 inputs
    • textstring“Text to hash.”
    • filestring“A file to hash.”
    • algorithmsarray“Which hashes to make (default ["SHA-256"]).”
  • “Decode a JSON Web Token: header, payload, the standard claims in plain words (including whether it has expired), and, given the shared secret, whether an HS256/384/512 signature is valid.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    2 inputs, 1 required
    • tokenstringrequired“The token: header.payload.signature”
    • secretstring“Optional shared secret, to check an HMAC signature.”
  • generate_passwordon 13 other serversgenerates content

    “Make random passwords or passphrases from a secure random source, with an honest strength estimate in bits.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    12 inputs
    • kindstring“Random characters (default) or random words.”
    • countinteger“How many to make (default 1).”
    • lengthinteger“Password length (default 20).”
    • lowerboolean“Password: use a-z (default true).”
    • upperboolean“Password: use A-Z (default true).”
    • digitsboolean“Password: use 2-9 (default true).”
    • symbolsboolean“Password: use symbols such as !#$% (default true).”
    • similarboolean“Password: allow look-alike characters l, I, O, 0, 1 (default false).”
    • wordsinteger“Passphrase: number of words (default 6).”
    • separatorstring“Passphrase: between words (default -).”
    • capitalizeboolean“Passphrase: capitalise each word (default false).”
    • numberboolean“Passphrase: add a number at the end (default false).”
  • make_qr_codeon 5 other serversgenerates content

    “Make a QR code as an SVG file, for a link, any text, or a Wi-Fi network (phones join it by scanning).”

    Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no

    5 inputs
    • textstring“A link or text to encode.”
    • wifiobject“A Wi-Fi network to encode.”
    • levelstring“Error correction: L 7%, M 15% (default), Q 25%, H 30%.”
    • fileNamestring“Name of the SVG file (default qr-code.svg).”
    • saveTostring“Optional.”
  • “Run a JavaScript regular expression over text and list every match with its position, numbered groups and named groups.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    4 inputs, 2 required
    • patternstringrequired“The pattern, without slashes, e.g.”
    • flagsstring“Flags such as i, m, s, u (g is always on).”
    • textstringrequired“The text to search.”
    • limitinteger“Most matches to return (default 100).”
  • url_encodeon 13 other serverscalculates or converts

    “Percent-encode text for use in a web address (encodeURIComponent or encodeURI).”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    2 inputs, 1 required
    • textstringrequired“The text to encode.”
    • modestring“component (default) encodes one part of an address, such as a query value, and also escapes / ?”
  • url_decodeon 12 other serverscalculates or converts

    “Decode percent-encoded text (decodeURIComponent or decodeURI).”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    3 inputs, 1 required
    • textstringrequired“The percent-encoded text to decode.”
    • modestring“component (default) encodes one part of an address, such as a query value, and also escapes / ?”
    • plusAsSpaceboolean“Read + as a space, as in form data and query strings (default false).”
Show 17 more tools
  • generate_uuidsgenerates content

    “Make UUIDs (RFC 9562) from a secure random source: random v4, or time-ordered v7, which sorts by creation time and suits database keys.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    5 inputs
    • versionstring“v4 random (default) or v7 time-ordered.”
    • countinteger“How many (default 1).”
    • upperboolean“Upper-case letters (default false).”
    • bracesboolean“Wrap in {braces} (default false).”
    • hyphensboolean“Keep the hyphens (default true).”
  • convert_colourcalculates or converts

    “Read a colour written as HEX (#f80, #ff8800, #ff880080), rgb()/rgba(), hsl()/hsla() or a CSS colour name, and return it as HEX, RGB and HSL with the nearest CSS colour name and the WCAG contrast rati…”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    1 input, 1 required
    • colourstringrequired“The colour, for example #336699, rgb(255 0 0 / 50%), hsl(210 50% 40%) or rebeccapurple.”
  • convert_time_zoneon 3 other serverscalculates or converts

    “Convert a local date and time in one time zone to other time zones, with daylight saving applied exactly from the time zone database, and flag times outside working hours (08-18).”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    3 inputs, 3 required
    • timestringrequired“Local date and time in the source zone, as YYYY-MM-DDTHH:mm, e.g.”
    • fromstringrequired“Source time zone, IANA name, e.g.”
    • toarrayrequired“Target time zones, IANA names.”
  • convert_unitson 28 other serverscalculates or converts

    “Convert a value between units in one category, using exact definitions where they exist.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    4 inputs, 4 required
    • valuenumberrequired“The amount to convert.”
    • categorystringrequired“The kind of quantity.”
    • fromstringrequired“Unit key to convert from, e.g.”
    • tostringrequired“Unit key to convert to, e.g.”
  • convert_unix_timestampon 1 other servercalculates or converts

    “Convert a Unix timestamp to a date, or a date to a Unix timestamp.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    3 inputs, 1 required
    • inputstringrequired“A Unix timestamp such as 1700000000 or 1700000000000, or a date such as 2023-11-14T22:13:20Z or 2023-11-14 22:13:20.”
    • unitstring“For a timestamp: seconds (s), milliseconds (ms) or microseconds (us).”
    • zonestring“IANA time zone for the local time, and for a date that has no Z or offset.”
  • remove_photo_metadatadescribed as changing data

    “Strip location (GPS), camera details, time, XMP and IPTC metadata from JPEG, PNG and WebP photos before sharing them.”

    Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no

    2 inputs, 1 required
    • filesarrayrequired“Photos to clean: JPEG, PNG or WebP.”
    • saveTostring“Optional.”
  • compress_pdfon 14 other serversdescribed as changing data

    “Make a PDF smaller with Ghostscript, at a chosen quality: smallest (screen reading), balanced (email and sharing, default), print, or prepress (keeps colour profiles).”

    Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no

    4 inputs, 1 required
    • filestringrequired“The PDF to compress.”
    • qualitystring“Default balanced.”
    • firstPageOnlyboolean“Keep only page 1 (default false).”
    • saveTostring“Optional.”
  • list_pdf_form_fieldsreads or searches

    “List the fillable fields in a PDF form: name, type (text, checkbox, dropdown, radio, list), current value, choices and whether it is read-only.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    1 input, 1 required
    • filestringrequired“The PDF form.”
  • fill_pdf_formon 3 other serverscreates or changes datadescribed as changing data

    “Fill a PDF form's fields by name and save a new PDF.”

    Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no

    4 inputs, 2 required
    • filestringrequired“The PDF form.”
    • valuesobjectrequired“Values by field name.”
    • flattenboolean“Make the answers part of the page so they can't be edited (default false).”
    • saveTostring“Optional.”
  • images_to_pdfon 11 other serverscreates or changes datadescribed as changing data

    “Put JPEG and PNG images into one PDF, one page per image, in the order given.”

    Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no

    5 inputs, 1 required
    • filesarrayrequired“Images in page order: JPEG or PNG.”
    • pagestring“fit: page matches the image (default); a4: A4 pages.”
    • marginstring“White space around each image (default none).”
    • fileNamestring“Name of the PDF (default images.pdf).”
    • saveTostring“Optional.”
  • merge_pdfson 11 other serverscreates or changes datadescribed as changing data

    “Combine PDFs into one, keeping every page, in the order given.”

    Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no

    3 inputs, 1 required
    • filesarrayrequired“PDFs in the order they should appear.”
    • fileNamestring“Name of the merged PDF (default merged.pdf).”
    • saveTostring“Optional.”
  • rotate_pdfon 5 other serverscreates or changes datadescribed as changing data

    “Turn pages of a PDF clockwise by 90, 180 or 270 degrees: every page, or chosen pages such as "1-3, 5".”

    Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no

    4 inputs, 2 required
    • filestringrequired“The PDF.”
    • degreesintegerrequired“Clockwise turn.”
    • pagesstring“Pages to turn, e.g.”
    • saveTostring“Optional.”
  • split_pdfon 14 other serverscreates or changes datadescribed as changing data

    “Split a PDF into separate files: one per page, or one per range such as "1-3, 5, 8-" (8- means page 8 to the end).”

    Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no

    3 inputs, 1 required
    • filestringrequired“The PDF to split.”
    • rangesstring“Ranges, one file each, e.g.”
    • saveTostring“Optional.”
  • unlock_pdfon 3 other serverscreates or changes datadescribed as changing data

    “Remove the lock from a PDF with qpdf, without changing the pages, forms or bookmarks.”

    Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no

    3 inputs, 1 required
    • filestringrequired“The locked PDF.”
    • passwordstring“The password that opens the PDF.”
    • saveTostring“Optional.”
  • convert_caseon 4 other serverscalculates or converts

    “Change the case of text: upper, lower, sentence, title, camel (camelCase), pascal (PascalCase), snake (snake_case), kebab (kebab-case) or constant (CONSTANT_CASE).”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    2 inputs, 2 required
    • textstringrequired“The text to change.”
    • casestringrequired“The case to change it to.”
  • compare_textson 2 other serverscalculates or converts

    “Compare two texts and show what changed, line by line or word by word, with counts of added and removed lines or words.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    3 inputs, 2 required
    • originalstringrequired“The original text.”
    • changedstringrequired“The changed text.”
    • modestring“Compare by lines (default) or by words.”
  • count_wordson 2 other serverscalculates or converts

    “Count words, characters (as people see them, emoji included), sentences and paragraphs, with reading and speaking time.”

    Publisher declares: read-only yes · open-world no

    1 input, 1 required
    • textstringrequired“The text to count.”

Each quoted sentence is the first sentence of the publisher’s own description. The kind of tool and the “changes data” mark are our AI model’s reading of that description, not something we tested: two differently worded runs had to agree, otherwise no label is shown, and nobody has checked them by hand. A tool without the “changes data” mark is described as only reading, searching or calculating, or the two runs did not agree. No tool was called. Read the publisher’s full description before relying on it. “Publisher declares” lists the hints the server itself sends with the tool (MCP annotations: read-only, destructive, idempotent, open-world); they are the publisher's claims, not checked by us. Inputs are the parameters in the tool's own input schema: name, declared type, whether it is required, and the first sentence of its description. Read 2026-10-23.

How well are its tools described?

Features #4 and #5

How clearly this server's own tool descriptions say what a tool does, and how consistent its tool list is. The first part is an AI model's yes/no reading of each description; the second part is counted. We do not turn it into a grade.

Descriptions

AI reading of each description

Says what the tool does
100% of 29 tools
Says what it returns
100% of 29 tools
States limits, defaults or errors
3% of 29 tools
Says when to use it
100% of 29 tools
Items covered per tool
3.0 of 4 on average

Counted from the listing

Parameters with a description
100% of 103
Tools with a description
100% of 29
Typical description length
376 characters

The tool set

Counted from the listing

Tools
29
Size of the list
about 8,666 tokens for an agent to load (characters ÷ 4)
Naming
29 of 29 names use snake_case

AI reading: easy to mix up

No pair found.

The AI items cover 29 of 29 tools: for a tool where two differently worded runs disagreed, that item is left out. They were not checked by hand, and no tool was called. “Easy to mix up” means two tools whose names or descriptions overlap without saying how they differ; the AI found none. We do not rate whether the tool set is complete or whether side effects are spelled out, because our AI reading of those was not reliable enough.

How do I add it to my client?

Config from the registry entry

From the npm package freethetools

Our sandbox started this package on 2026-10-23 (a read-only session: no tool was called).

Add to CursorAn install link in the format Cursor documents, holding the Cursor config below. The command runs the publisher’s code on your machine.

Claude Desktop · claude_desktop_config.json (Settings → Developer → Edit Config)
{
  "mcpServers": {
    "freethetools": {
      "command": "npx",
      "args": [
        "-y",
        "freethetools@0.1.2",
        "mcp"
      ]
    }
  }
}
Cursor · .cursor/mcp.json in a project, or ~/.cursor/mcp.json
{
  "mcpServers": {
    "freethetools": {
      "command": "npx",
      "args": [
        "-y",
        "freethetools@0.1.2",
        "mcp"
      ]
    }
  }
}
VS Code · .vscode/mcp.json
{
  "servers": {
    "freethetools": {
      "type": "stdio",
      "command": "npx",
      "args": [
        "-y",
        "freethetools@0.1.2",
        "mcp"
      ]
    }
  }
}
VS Code (command line) · Bash or zsh terminal (macOS, Linux)
code --add-mcp '{"name":"freethetools","type":"stdio","command":"npx","args":["-y","freethetools@0.1.2","mcp"]}'
Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio freethetools -- npx -y freethetools@0.1.2 mcp
Try it in the MCP Inspector · runs on your machine, opens in your browser · Node 22.19+
npx @modelcontextprotocol/inspector@2.11.0 -- npx -y freethetools@0.1.2 mcp
  • Arguments are written as the registry entry gives them; a named one as “--name value”, the form the registry documentation shows.
  • Optional settings the entry also lists (left out above): FREETHETOOLS_LIBRARY.
  • This runs the publisher's code on your machine (npx). Read its README first.
  • The MCP Inspector lists the server's tools, resources and prompts; a tool you call there runs for real.

Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.

Can it be installed, and is it up to date?

Version pin · advisories

Listed version

Registry lists
0.1.2
Latest stable
0.1.2
Status
current
Withdrawn
no

Source: registry.npmjs.org · 2026-10-23. About the version the registry lists; a manual install may resolve to a different one.

Dependency advisories

critical0high0moderate0low0

Counted in the full dependency tree as resolved on 2026-10-23 (npm audit). Bars share one scale. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev).

Integrity, provenance, license

Integrity
sha512-Cy0n5MiiUNbFRI4wW…
Signature
signed
License
AGPL-3.0-only

Source: the package registry · 2026-10-23.

Usage

Downloads
808 in the last month

Source: api.npmjs.org · 2026-10-23.

Does the registry listing match what we found?

Feature #6

The registry verifies a package once, when it is published, and does not re-check it. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.

Registry saysWe foundResultSource · date
Published package can be startedStarted and answeredmatchesour test · 2026-10-23
Version 0.1.2 on npmExists and can be installedmatchesnpm · 2026-10-23
Repository github.com/sapience-design/freethetoolsOpens publiclymatchesapi.github.com · 2026-10-23

Who made it?

Feature #7 · lineage

Facts about the publisher. We do not turn them into a trust score.

Namespace
io.github.sapience-design
GitHub owner
a personal account (sapience-design)
Build record
signed
Repository
github.com/sapience-design/freethetools
Stars
1
Repository age
0–30 days
Last push
0–30 days ago
Archived
no
Security policy
SECURITY.md

What its security policy says about security research

“We won't pursue legal action against research done in good faith that follows this policy: stay in scope, don't access other people's data, don't degrade the service, and give us reasonable time to fix before disclosing.”

The publisher’s own words from its security policy (formatting removed; a long passage is cut and marked “…”). Read the full policy for its conditions. This is the publisher’s statement, not our assessment. We still do not call this server’s tools: our checks only read what it lists.

Source: the registry entry and api.github.com · 2026-10-23; security policy read from GitHub · 2026-10-23.

Publish this server? Run these checks against it yourself before release, from your own machine: a server the command starts, or your own server at its URL after a one-time proof that you control it: npx protocolprobe-selftest.

Choosing

Record checks

Public records · not a safety rating

8 of 9 record checks met

  • #3,311 of 15,112 packages by monthly downloads, tied with 2 others
  • Not ranked by stars: 1 star (ranked from 10)
  • MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
  • MetSource repository link opensThe linked GitHub repository is public.
  • MetRepository is not archivedNot archived.
  • MetCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkLast push 0-30 days before our check.
  • MetRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)SECURITY.md found.
  • MetPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierAGPL-3.0-only
  • MetThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnThe listed version exists and is current.
  • Not metnpm package carries build provenance (attestation)Signed by npm, but no build attestation.
  • MetNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependenciesNone known in the package or its dependency tree.

Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-10-23. No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating. How each check works · Leaderboards

Common questions about io.github.sapience-design/freethetools

Answered from the data above

Is io.github.sapience-design/freethetools safe to install?

We do not rate servers as safe or unsafe. 8 of its 9 applicable record checks are met (facts from public records, each listed on this page). What the records show: Its source repository opens publicly. Its repository had a push in the last 90 days. The listed version is the latest stable release. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev). Its full dependency tree has no known advisory. 8 of its tools describe changing data (our AI model's reading of the descriptions). These are facts with their sources on this page, not a safety guarantee, and we did not run its tools.

Has io.github.sapience-design/freethetools been security tested?

Partly. 2 of the 12 checks that apply to it were exercised. We started the package in an isolated sandbox and read what it declares, but this test round was read-only, so its tools were not called. No security verdict is published before verification.

What can io.github.sapience-design/freethetools do?

It lists 29 tools. In our AI model's reading of their descriptions (two runs had to agree, nobody checked it by hand), they include tools that read or search, create or change data, generate content and calculate or convert. We did not call any tool, so this describes the text, not the behaviour.

Can io.github.sapience-design/freethetools change or delete data?

8 of its tools say in their description that they create, edit, delete, send or run something (our AI model's reading). We did not call any tool, so we cannot say what actually happens.

Does io.github.sapience-design/freethetools publish a security policy?

Yes: its repository has a public security policy (github.com/sapience-design/freethetools/blob/HEAD/SECURITY.md). It includes a statement about security research, quoted in the publisher's own words on this page. That is the publisher's statement, not permission for us to test the server, and we call none of its tools.

Is the listed version current?

Yes. The registry lists 0.1.2, the latest stable release on npm.

Where is the source code of io.github.sapience-design/freethetools?

In github.com/sapience-design/freethetools, which opens publicly.

Found this page useful?

Anonymous · no sign-in

A quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.

Compare with another server

Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.

Security testing

What did we test, and what did we leave out?

18 checks · features #1, #2

Not probed (read-only run)

We started the package in an isolated sandbox and read what it declares, but this test round was read-only, so its tools were not called. No security score is given; a check we did not run is never counted as passed.

The 18 checks at a glanceour test · 2026-10-23
  1. Inventory: exercised
  2. Hidden instructions: exercised
  3. Real execution: not run · our policy
  4. Secret leak: not run · nothing to check it against
  5. Internal addresses: not run · our policy
  6. Unconfirmed changes: not run · our policy
  7. Bad input: not run · our policy
  8. Model requests: not run · nothing to check it against
  9. Sensitive questions: not run · nothing to check it against
  10. Folder boundary: not run · our policy
  11. Log leaks: not run · nothing to check it against
  12. Hidden content: not run · nothing to check it against
  13. Fake assistant turns: not applicable
  14. Token passthrough: not applicable
  15. Token audience: not applicable
  16. Sign-in redirect: not applicable
  17. Consent handling: not applicable
  18. Sign-in metadata: not applicable

2 exercised10 not run (reason given)6 not applicable

Each check ends in exactly one state: exercised, not run (with the reason), or not applicable (with the reason). 2 of the 12 checks that apply to it were exercised. We do not publish security-check outcomes for named servers.

Exercised · 2
  • 1Inventory
    tool-list
    Reads the declared tools, resources and prompts.exercised
  • 2Hidden instructions
    description-poisoning
    Looks for hidden instructions in tool descriptions.exercised
Not run, with the reason · 10
  • 3Real execution
    real-execution
    Calls a tool and checks what really happens.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy
  • 4Secret leak
    canary-leak
    Plants a fake secret and checks whether it leaks.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against
  • 5Internal addresses
    ssrf
    Checks whether a tool can be steered to internal addresses.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy
  • 6Unconfirmed changes
    write-without-confirmation
    Checks whether tools that change data act without asking.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy
  • 7Bad input
    error-handling
    Sends bad input and watches how the server answers.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy
  • 8Model requests
    sampling
    Checks whether the server asks the client's model to act for it.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against
  • 9Sensitive questions
    elicitation-sensitive-data
    Checks whether the server asks users for sensitive data.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against
  • 10Folder boundary
    root-boundary
    Checks whether the server reaches outside the folders it was given.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy
  • 11Log leaks
    logging-side-channel
    Checks whether log messages carry data they should not.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against
  • 12Hidden content
    audience-hiding
    Checks resources that hide content from the user.This check needs content the server returns, and nothing was read or called.not run · nothing to check it against
Does not apply to this server · 6
  • 13Fake assistant turns
    fake-assistant-turn
    Checks prompts that pose as the assistant's own words.The server exposes no prompts.not applicable
  • 14Token passthrough
    token-passthrough
    Checks whether the server forwards a user's token to other services.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable
  • 15Token audience
    token-audience-validation
    Checks whether tokens meant for another service are accepted.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable
  • 16Sign-in redirect
    open-redirect
    Checks the sign-in redirect for abuse.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable
  • 17Consent handling
    confused-deputy
    Checks consent handling when one service acts for another.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable
  • 18Sign-in metadata
    oauth-url-scheme
    Checks the published sign-in metadata for unsafe URLs.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable

Source: our own test in an isolated sandbox, 2026-10-23, mcp-runtime-engine@0.1.0. Which checks count and why follows our published scoring model.

What happened during the test?

Feature #8

The steps in order, as the test record holds them.

  1. 0 msStarted the published package in an isolated sandbox (read-only mode)
  2. 3,491 msConnected after 0 redirects.
  3. Read the inventory: 29 tools, 0 resources, 0 prompts.
  4. 8,393 msFinished: 2 checks exercised.

Reference

How is it classified?

18 fields

One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.

TopicAI-classified
no value
No value: the two AI models (Gemini and Claude) disagreed, so neither answer is shown.
Pricing modelAI-classified
no value
No value: the AI answer was held back because the quoted text did not clearly support it.
Programming language
api.github.com · 2026-10-23
Hosting type
registry · 2026-10-23
MCP capability
tools
our test · 2026-10-23
Transport
standard input/output
registry · 2026-10-23
Required credentials
none declared
registry · no declaration is not a guarantee
Package registry
registry · 2026-10-23
Freshness
0–30 days
registry updatedAt · 2026-10-23
Lifecycle status
registry · 2026-10-23
License class
package registry · 2026-10-23
Integrity hash
declared (sri)
package registry · 2026-10-23
Signature / provenance
signed
package registry · 2026-10-23
Dependency advisories
none known
npm audit · 2026-10-23
Popularity
808 downloads a month
package registry · 2026-10-23
Publisher signals
owner: a personal account · repository age: 0–30 days · stars: 0–9 · build record: signed
api.github.com · 2026-10-23
Maintenance
api.github.com · 2026-10-23
Environment
your machine
where it runs, from the hosting type

“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.

Cite or correct this page

Sources and corrections

Suggested citation

ProtocolProbe. “io.github.sapience-design/freethetools: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-10-23. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.sapience-design/freethetools

Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.

As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.

Badge for your README

ProtocolProbe: 8 of 9 record checks met

[![ProtocolProbe](https://protocolprobe.com/api/v1/badge/io.github.sapience-design/freethetools)](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.sapience-design/freethetools)

It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.

Something wrong, or is this yours?

If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.

Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology