Skip to content

MCP servers › io.github.tomtom87 › portage-ucp

MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-10-23

io.github.tomtom87/portage-ucp

Shopify catalog search and product lookup via MCP; the Portage CLI adds full agentic buying. — the publisher's description

5 of 5 record checks metTopic: commerce-and-marketing · AI-classifiedPricing: open-source · AI-classifiedversion 0.17.0Rubystandard input/output

Summary

io.github.tomtom87/portage-ucp is a local MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 0.17.0.

Record checks

5 of 5 record checks met · 4 do not apply

  • met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
  • met: Source repository link opens
  • met: Repository is not archived
  • met: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
  • met: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
  • not applicable: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
  • not applicable: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
  • not applicable: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
  • not applicable: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
  • Not ranked by downloads: not an npm or PyPI package
  • Not ranked by stars: 2 stars (ranked from 10)

From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason · Is it safe to install?

Key facts

Runs
local package
Transport
standard input/output
Package
Docker (OCI)
Repository
public
Topic
commerce-and-marketingAI-classified
Pricing
open-sourceAI-classified
Last tested
not tested

Add to your client

How fresh this is

Live-tested
no
Last tested
not tested
Latest version
0.17.0, published 2026-10-22 (registry, as of the 2026-10-23 snapshot)
First listed version
2026-10-21 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
Version history
2 versions listed, 2026-10-21 to 2026-10-22; 2 in the 90 days before the 2026-10-23 snapshot.
Most recent 2 versions
  • 0.17.0 · 2026-10-22
  • 0.16.0 · 2026-10-21
(versions still listed in the registry only)
Registry data
snapshot 2026-10-23
Package and repository
checked 2026-10-23

Changes since the last refresh

New in the registry: not in the list of 2026-10-04, listed on 2026-10-23 with version 0.17.0 (published 2026-10-22).

Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-10-04 and on 2026-10-23.

What it is

How do I add it to my client?

Config from the registry entry

From the Docker image ghcr.io/tomtom87/portage-ucp:0.17.0

This entry needs values of your own (marked < > or { } in the config below), so there is no one-click link: paste the config and fill them in.

Claude Desktop · claude_desktop_config.json (Settings → Developer → Edit Config)
{
  "mcpServers": {
    "portage-ucp": {
      "command": "docker",
      "args": [
        "run",
        "-i",
        "--rm",
        "-e",
        "SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN",
        "-e",
        "SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN",
        "ghcr.io/tomtom87/portage-ucp:0.17.0"
      ],
      "env": {
        "SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN": "<SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN>",
        "SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN": "<SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN>"
      }
    }
  }
}
Cursor · .cursor/mcp.json in a project, or ~/.cursor/mcp.json
{
  "mcpServers": {
    "portage-ucp": {
      "command": "docker",
      "args": [
        "run",
        "-i",
        "--rm",
        "-e",
        "SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN",
        "-e",
        "SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN",
        "ghcr.io/tomtom87/portage-ucp:0.17.0"
      ],
      "env": {
        "SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN": "<SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN>",
        "SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN": "<SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN>"
      }
    }
  }
}
VS Code · .vscode/mcp.json
{
  "servers": {
    "portage-ucp": {
      "type": "stdio",
      "command": "docker",
      "args": [
        "run",
        "-i",
        "--rm",
        "-e",
        "SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN",
        "-e",
        "SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN",
        "ghcr.io/tomtom87/portage-ucp:0.17.0"
      ],
      "env": {
        "SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN": "${input:shopify-shop-domain}",
        "SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN": "${input:shopify-storefront-access-token}"
      }
    }
  },
  "inputs": [
    {
      "type": "promptString",
      "id": "shopify-shop-domain",
      "description": "SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN",
      "password": false
    },
    {
      "type": "promptString",
      "id": "shopify-storefront-access-token",
      "description": "SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN",
      "password": true
    }
  ]
}
Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN=<SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN>" "SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN=<SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN>" --transport stdio portage-ucp -- docker run -i --rm -e SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN -e SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN ghcr.io/tomtom87/portage-ucp:0.17.0
Try it in the MCP Inspector · runs on your machine, opens in your browser · Node 22.19+
npx @modelcontextprotocol/inspector@2.11.0 -e "SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN=<SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN>" -e "SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN=<SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN>" -- docker run -i --rm -e SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN -e SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN ghcr.io/tomtom87/portage-ucp:0.17.0
  • Replace <SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN>, <SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN> with your own values; the entry marks SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN as secret, so keep the file out of version control.
  • Optional settings the entry also lists (left out above): SHOPIFY_ADMIN_ACCESS_TOKEN.
  • This runs the publisher's code on your machine (docker). Read its README first.
  • The MCP Inspector lists the server's tools, resources and prompts; a tool you call there runs for real.

Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.

Does the registry listing match what we found?

Feature #6

The registry verifies a package once, when it is published, and does not re-check it. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.

Registry saysWe foundResultSource · date
Repository github.com/tomtom87/PortageOpens publiclymatchesapi.github.com · 2026-10-23

Who made it?

Feature #7 · lineage

Facts about the publisher. We do not turn them into a trust score.

Namespace
io.github.tomtom87 · 2 servers
GitHub owner
a personal account (tomtom87)
Repository
github.com/tomtom87/Portage
Stars
2
Repository age
31–90 days
Last push
0–30 days ago
Archived
no
Security policy
SECURITY.md

Source: the registry entry and api.github.com · 2026-10-23; security policy read from GitHub · 2026-10-23.

Publish this server? Run these checks against it yourself before release, from your own machine: a server the command starts, or your own server at its URL after a one-time proof that you control it: npx protocolprobe-selftest.

Choosing

Record checks

Public records · not a safety rating

5 of 5 record checks met · 4 do not apply

  • Not ranked by downloads: not an npm or PyPI package
  • Not ranked by stars: 2 stars (ranked from 10)
  • MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
  • MetSource repository link opensThe linked GitHub repository is public.
  • MetRepository is not archivedNot archived.
  • MetCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkLast push 0-30 days before our check.
  • MetRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)SECURITY.md found.
  • Does not applyPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierNot an npm or PyPI package.
  • Does not applyThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnNot an npm or PyPI package.
  • Does not applynpm package carries build provenance (attestation)PyPI packages have no npm-style attestation.
  • Does not applyNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependenciesNot an npm or PyPI package.

Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-10-23. No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating. How each check works · Leaderboards

Common questions about io.github.tomtom87/portage-ucp

Answered from the data above

Is io.github.tomtom87/portage-ucp safe to install?

We do not rate servers as safe or unsafe. 5 of its 5 applicable record checks are met (facts from public records, each listed on this page). What the records show: Its source repository opens publicly. Its repository had a push in the last 90 days. These are facts with their sources on this page, not a safety guarantee, and we did not run its tools.

Is io.github.tomtom87/portage-ucp free to use?

Its website (portage.readthedocs.io/) describes a open-source pricing model. This is an AI-classified reading of the page on 2026-10-23, so check the page itself before relying on it.

Has io.github.tomtom87/portage-ucp been security tested?

Not yet. It requires a credential (a key or token) that the publisher marks as required. We never fill in credentials, so we did not start it.

Does io.github.tomtom87/portage-ucp publish a security policy?

Yes: its repository has a public security policy (github.com/tomtom87/portage/blob/HEAD/SECURITY.md). That is the publisher's statement, not permission for us to test the server, and we call none of its tools.

Where is the source code of io.github.tomtom87/portage-ucp?

In github.com/tomtom87/Portage, which opens publicly.

Found this page useful?

Anonymous · no sign-in

A quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.

Similar servers

Same topic · AI-read

Active servers whose topic is also “commerce-and-marketing”, most GitHub stars first. The topic and the tool kinds are an AI model's reading of the publishers' descriptions, not checked by hand. Similar is not a recommendation.

Compare with another server

Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.

Security testing

Has it been tested?

Feature #1

It requires a credential (a key or token) that the publisher marks as required. We never fill in credentials, so we did not start it. — the server's own choice

Required inputs the publisher declares: SHOPIFY_SHOP_DOMAIN, SHOPIFY_STOREFRONT_ACCESS_TOKEN (secret).

Reference

How is it classified?

18 fields

One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.

TopicAI-classified
AI-classified · 2026-10-23
Pricing modelAI-classified
open-source
read from portage.readthedocs.io/ · 2026-10-23

“Portage is open-source software provided as-is, without warranty of any kind (MIT).”

Programming language
api.github.com · 2026-10-23
Hosting type
registry · 2026-10-23
MCP capability
not checked
not read (no session)
Transport
standard input/output
registry · 2026-10-23
Required credentials
requires a secret
registry · no declaration is not a guarantee
Package registry
registry · 2026-10-23
Freshness
0–30 days
registry updatedAt · 2026-10-23
Lifecycle status
registry · 2026-10-23
License class
does not apply
package ecosystem not queried by this layer (oci); only npm and PyPI are supported here
Integrity hash
does not apply
package ecosystem not queried by this layer (oci); only npm and PyPI are supported here
Signature / provenance
does not apply
package ecosystem not queried by this layer (oci); only npm and PyPI are supported here
Dependency advisories
not checked
only npm and PyPI packages are audited
Popularity
does not apply
package ecosystem not queried by this layer (oci); only npm and PyPI are supported here
Publisher signals
owner: a personal account · repository age: 31–90 days · stars: 0–9
api.github.com · 2026-10-23
Maintenance
api.github.com · 2026-10-23
Environment
your machine
where it runs, from the hosting type

“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.

Cite or correct this page

Sources and corrections

Suggested citation

ProtocolProbe. “io.github.tomtom87/portage-ucp: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-10-23. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.tomtom87/portage-ucp

Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.

As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.

Badge for your README

ProtocolProbe: 5 of 5 record checks met

[![ProtocolProbe](https://protocolprobe.com/api/v1/badge/io.github.tomtom87/portage-ucp)](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.tomtom87/portage-ucp)

It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.

Something wrong, or is this yours?

If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.

Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology