MCP servers › io.usefulapi › adafruit-io
MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-10-23 · last tested 2026-10-23
io.usefulapi/adafruit-io
Read Adafruit IO feeds, data, groups and dashboards; publish a data point or create a feed. — the publisher's description
Summary
io.usefulapi/adafruit-io is a remote MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 1.3.4. On 2026-10-23 ProtocolProbe connected to it in read-only mode and read its inventory: 17 tools, 0 resources and 1 prompt.
Record checks
4 of 5 record checks met · 4 do not apply
- met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
- met: Source repository link opens
- met: Repository is not archived
- met: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
- not met: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
- not applicable: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
- not applicable: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
- not applicable: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
- not applicable: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
- Not ranked by downloads: a remote server publishes no download figure
- Not ranked by stars: 0 stars (ranked from 10)
From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason · Is it safe to install?
Key facts
- Runs
- remote (hosted by the publisher)
- Transport
- streamable HTTP
- Sign-in
- none needed to open a session
- Repository
- public
- Tools
- 17
- Described as changing data
- 2 of 17 toolsAI-classified
- Mainly works on
- accounts and data in outside web servicesAI-classified
- Topic
- iot-and-hardwareAI-classified
- Pricing
- freemiumAI-classified
- Last tested
- 2026-10-23
Observed fact
This server accepted a session without any credential and lists 2 tools whose name or declaration suggests they change data (adafruitio_publish_data_point, adafruitio_create_feed). That is our reading of the names; we did not call them. Source: our connection, 2026-10-23.
Worth knowing before you connect it
- 2 tools are described as changing something (adafruitio_publish_data_point, adafruitio_create_feed): our AI model's reading of the descriptions, not something we tested, and the server opened a session without any credential. We did not call them.
Each line comes from a section below, with its source and date.
How fresh this is
- Live-tested
- yes, a real session (not a text-only review)
- Last tested
- 2026-10-23
- Mode
- read-only (no tool calls)
- Latest version
- 1.3.4, published 2026-10-22 (registry, as of the 2026-10-23 snapshot)
- First listed version
- 2026-10-12 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
- Version history
- 3 versions listed, 2026-10-12 to 2026-10-22; 3 in the 90 days before the 2026-10-23 snapshot.(versions still listed in the registry only)
Most recent 3 versions
1.3.4· 2026-10-221.3.3· 2026-10-211.0.0· 2026-10-12
- Registry data
- snapshot 2026-10-23
- Package and repository
- checked 2026-10-23
- Engine
- mcp-runtime-engine@0.1.0 · sdk@1.32.0
Changes since the last refresh
New in the registry: not in the list of 2026-10-04, listed on 2026-10-23 with version 1.3.4 (published 2026-10-22).
Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-10-04 and on 2026-10-23.
What it is
What does this server offer?
Observed inventoryWhat it mainly works on, as our AI model read its tool descriptions: accounts and data in outside web services.
2 of 17 tools are described as changing something (creating, editing, deleting, sending or running).
- adafruitio_get_userreads or searches
“The Adafruit IO account this key belongs to: id, name, username, time zone, created/updated times, plus the data rate limit when reported.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
Takes no inputs.
- adafruitio_get_throttlereads or searches
“The account's data rate limit (data-record modifications per minute: 30 on free accounts, 60 on Plus) and the current active data rate.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
Takes no inputs.
- adafruitio_list_feedsreads or searches
“List all of the account's feeds with key, name, description, unit, visibility, enabled flag, last value and last update.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
Takes no inputs.
- adafruitio_get_feedreads or searches
“One feed by key: name, description, unit, visibility, last value, status settings and the groups it belongs to.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
1 input, 1 required
feed_keystringrequired“Feed key (the URL-safe key shown in Adafruit IO, for example 'temperature'; 'group-key.feed-key' also works).”
- adafruitio_get_feed_detailsreads or searches
“A feed with its details block: first and last data point and the number of stored points.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
1 input, 1 required
feed_keystringrequired“Feed key (the URL-safe key shown in Adafruit IO, for example 'temperature'; 'group-key.feed-key' also works).”
- adafruitio_list_feed_datareads or searches
“Data points of a feed (max 1000 per call).”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
6 inputs, 1 required
feed_keystringrequired“Feed key (the URL-safe key shown in Adafruit IO, for example 'temperature'; 'group-key.feed-key' also works).”start_timestring“ISO 8601 date or date-time, e.g.”end_timestring“ISO 8601 date or date-time, e.g.”limitinteger“Maximum records to return, 1-1000 (default 100).”includestring“Comma-separated fields to return: value, lat, lon, ele, id, created_at.”beforestring“Pagination token: next_before from the previous reply (keep the same other arguments).”
- adafruitio_get_last_datareads or searches
“The most recent data point of a feed (value, location, created_at).”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
2 inputs, 1 required
feed_keystringrequired“Feed key (the URL-safe key shown in Adafruit IO, for example 'temperature'; 'group-key.feed-key' also works).”includestring“Comma-separated fields to return: value, lat, lon, ele, id, created_at.”
- adafruitio_get_data_pointreads or searches
“One stored data point of a feed by its id.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
2 inputs, 2 required
feed_keystringrequired“Feed key (the URL-safe key shown in Adafruit IO, for example 'temperature'; 'group-key.feed-key' also works).”data_idstringrequired“Data point id (the `id` field of a data point).”
- adafruitio_get_feed_chartreads or searches
“Aggregated chart data for a feed: values sliced by `resolution` minutes over the last `hours` (or a start/end range), using avg, sum, min, max, val or val_count.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
6 inputs, 1 required
feed_keystringrequired“Feed key (the URL-safe key shown in Adafruit IO, for example 'temperature'; 'group-key.feed-key' also works).”hoursinteger“Hours of history (ignored when start_time and end_time are given).”resolutionnumber“Slice size in minutes.”fieldstring“Aggregation (default avg).”start_timestring“ISO 8601 date or date-time, e.g.”end_timestring“ISO 8601 date or date-time, e.g.”
- adafruitio_list_groupsreads or searches
“List the account's groups (named sets of feeds) with their feeds.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
Takes no inputs.
- adafruitio_get_groupreads or searches
“One group by key with its feeds.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
1 input, 1 required
group_keystringrequired“Group key.”
- adafruitio_list_dashboardsreads or searches
“List the account's dashboards with key, name, description and visibility.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
Takes no inputs.
Show 5 more tools
- adafruitio_get_dashboardreads or searches
“One dashboard by key.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
1 input, 1 required
dashboard_keystringrequired“Dashboard key.”
- adafruitio_list_blocksreads or searches
“The blocks (widgets: gauges, toggles, charts, sliders...) of a dashboard with their feeds, position and properties.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
1 input, 1 required
dashboard_keystringrequired“Dashboard key.”
- adafruitio_list_activitiesreads or searches
“The account's activity log (feed/data/dashboard changes), optionally within a time range.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
3 inputs
start_timestring“ISO 8601 date or date-time, e.g.”end_timestring“ISO 8601 date or date-time, e.g.”limitinteger“Maximum entries, 1-1000.”
- adafruitio_publish_data_pointcreates or changes datadescribed as changing data
“WRITE: publish one data point (a value) to a feed.”
Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive yes · idempotent no · open-world yes
5 inputs, 2 required
feed_keystringrequired“Feed key (the URL-safe key shown in Adafruit IO, for example 'temperature'; 'group-key.feed-key' also works).”valuestring or numberrequired“The value to publish (text or number, up to 1000 characters).”latnumber“Latitude of the reading.”lonnumber“Longitude of the reading.”elenumber“Elevation of the reading in meters.”
- adafruitio_create_feedcreates or changes datadescribed as changing data
“WRITE: create a new, empty feed (private by default), optionally inside an existing group.”
Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · idempotent no · open-world yes
3 inputs, 1 required
namestringrequired“Feed name (the key is derived from it).”descriptionstring“Optional description.”group_keystring“Optional existing group key to create the feed in.”
Each quoted sentence is the first sentence of the publisher’s own description. The kind of tool and the “changes data” mark are our AI model’s reading of that description, not something we tested: two differently worded runs had to agree, otherwise no label is shown, and nobody has checked them by hand. A tool without the “changes data” mark is described as only reading, searching or calculating, or the two runs did not agree. No tool was called. Read the publisher’s full description before relying on it. “Publisher declares” lists the hints the server itself sends with the tool (MCP annotations: read-only, destructive, idempotent, open-world); they are the publisher's claims, not checked by us. Inputs are the parameters in the tool's own input schema: name, declared type, whether it is required, and the first sentence of its description. Read 2026-10-23.
How well are its tools described?
Features #4 and #5
How clearly this server's own tool descriptions say what a tool does, and how consistent its tool list is. The first part is an AI model's yes/no reading of each description; the second part is counted. We do not turn it into a grade.
Descriptions
AI reading of each description
- Says what the tool does
- 100% of 17 tools
- Says what it returns
- 88% of 17 tools
- States limits, defaults or errors
- 29% of 17 tools
- Says when to use it
- 18% of 17 tools
- Items covered per tool
- 2.4 of 4 on average
Counted from the listing
- Parameters with a description
- 100% of 32
- Tools with a description
- 100% of 17
- Typical description length
- 156 characters
The tool set
Counted from the listing
- Tools
- 17
- Size of the list
- about 3,083 tokens for an agent to load (characters ÷ 4)
- Naming
- 17 of 17 names use snake_case
AI reading: easy to mix up
No pair found.
The AI items cover 17 of 17 tools: for a tool where two differently worded runs disagreed, that item is left out. They were not checked by hand, and no tool was called. “Easy to mix up” means two tools whose names or descriptions overlap without saying how they differ; the AI found none. We do not rate whether the tool set is complete or whether side effects are spelled out, because our AI reading of those was not reliable enough.
How do I add it to my client?
Config from the registry entry
From the remote endpoint (Streamable HTTP)
We connected to this URL on 2026-10-23 (a read-only session: no tool was called).
Add to CursorAn install link in the format Cursor documents, holding the Cursor config below.
Claude Desktop or claude.ai
Settings → Connectors → Add custom connector, then paste: https://adafruit-io.usefulapi.io/mcp
Cursor · .cursor/mcp.json in a project, or ~/.cursor/mcp.json
{
"mcpServers": {
"adafruit-io": {
"url": "https://adafruit-io.usefulapi.io/mcp"
}
}
}VS Code · .vscode/mcp.json
{
"servers": {
"adafruit-io": {
"type": "http",
"url": "https://adafruit-io.usefulapi.io/mcp"
}
}
}VS Code (command line) · Bash or zsh terminal (macOS, Linux)
code --add-mcp '{"name":"adafruit-io","type":"http","url":"https://adafruit-io.usefulapi.io/mcp"}'Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http adafruit-io https://adafruit-io.usefulapi.io/mcp
Try it in the MCP Inspector · runs on your machine, opens in your browser · Node 22.19+
npx @modelcontextprotocol/inspector@2.11.0 --server-url https://adafruit-io.usefulapi.io/mcp --transport http
- The server runs on the operator's infrastructure; it may ask you to sign in when you first connect.
- The MCP Inspector lists the server's tools, resources and prompts; a tool you call there runs for real.
Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.
Does the registry listing match what we found?
Feature #6The registry verifies a package once, when it is published, and does not re-check it. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.
| Registry says | We found | Result | Source · date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Remote endpoint adafruit-io.usefulapi.io/mcp | Session opened | matches | our test · 2026-10-23 |
| No credential declared as required | Opened a session without any credential | matches | our test · 2026-10-23 |
| Repository github.com/m190/usefulapi-mcp | Opens publicly | matches | api.github.com · 2026-10-23 |
Who made it?
Feature #7 · lineage
Facts about the publisher. We do not turn them into a trust score.
- Namespace
- io.usefulapi · 341 servers
- GitHub owner
- a personal account (m190)
- Repository
- github.com/m190/usefulapi-mcp
- Stars
- 0
- Repository age
- 91–180 days
- Last push
- 0–30 days ago
- Archived
- no
- Security policy
- none found (we looked for SECURITY.md in the repository and in its owner’s .github repository)
Source: the registry entry and api.github.com · 2026-10-23; security policy read from GitHub · 2026-10-23.
Publish this server? Run these checks against it yourself before release, from your own machine: a server the command starts, or your own server at its URL after a one-time proof that you control it: npx protocolprobe-selftest.
Choosing
Record checks
Public records · not a safety rating4 of 5 record checks met · 4 do not apply
- Not ranked by downloads: a remote server publishes no download figure
- Not ranked by stars: 0 stars (ranked from 10)
- MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
- MetSource repository link opensThe linked GitHub repository is public.
- MetRepository is not archivedNot archived.
- MetCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkLast push 0-30 days before our check.
- Not metRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)No SECURITY.md in the places GitHub reads it from.
- Does not applyPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierRemote server: it ships no package.
- Does not applyThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnRemote server: it ships no package.
- Does not applynpm package carries build provenance (attestation)Remote server: it ships no package.
- Does not applyNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependenciesRemote server: it ships no package.
Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-10-23. No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating. How each check works · Leaderboards
Common questions about io.usefulapi/adafruit-io
Answered from the data aboveIs io.usefulapi/adafruit-io safe to install?
We do not rate servers as safe or unsafe. 4 of its 5 applicable record checks are met (facts from public records, each listed on this page). What the records show: Its source repository opens publicly. Its repository had a push in the last 90 days. 2 of its tools describe changing data (our AI model's reading of the descriptions). These are facts with their sources on this page, not a safety guarantee, and we did not run its tools.
Is io.usefulapi/adafruit-io free to use?
Its website (usefulapi.io/adafruit-io/) describes a freemium pricing model. This is an AI-classified reading of the page on 2026-10-23, so check the page itself before relying on it.
Does io.usefulapi/adafruit-io need an API key or sign-in?
It opened a session without any credential on 2026-10-23. The registry entry declares no required credential; no declaration is not a guarantee.
Has io.usefulapi/adafruit-io been security tested?
Partly. 3 of the 16 checks that apply to it were exercised. It accepted a session without any credential and lists tools whose names suggest they change data. We did not call them. No security verdict is published before verification.
What can io.usefulapi/adafruit-io do?
It lists 17 tools. In our AI model's reading of their descriptions (two runs had to agree, nobody checked it by hand), they include tools that read or search and create or change data. We did not call any tool, so this describes the text, not the behaviour.
Can io.usefulapi/adafruit-io change or delete data?
2 of its tools say in their description that they create, edit, delete, send or run something (our AI model's reading). We did not call any tool, so we cannot say what actually happens.
Does io.usefulapi/adafruit-io publish a security policy?
We found no SECURITY.md in its repository (root, .github/ or docs/) or in its owner's .github repository.
Where is the source code of io.usefulapi/adafruit-io?
In github.com/m190/usefulapi-mcp, which opens publicly.
Found this page useful?
Anonymous · no sign-inA quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.
Similar servers
Same topic · AI-read
- io.github.partcad/partcadPartCADalso has tools that creates or changes data, reads or searchescompare with this one
- io.github.KnifeLemon/droidlineDroidlinealso has tools that creates or changes data, reads or searchescompare with this one
- io.github.codeofaxel/kilnKilnalso has tools that creates or changes data, reads or searchescompare with this one
- io.github.JuanCF/scrcpy-mcpalso has tools that creates or changes data, reads or searchescompare with this one
- io.github.LofiFren/picocalc-mcpalso has tools that creates or changes data, reads or searchescompare with this one
- io.github.Vortx-AI/emememem, the verifiable memory protocol for the physical worldalso has tools that creates or changes data, reads or searchescompare with this one
Active servers whose topic is also “iot-and-hardware” and that have at least one tool of the same kind; most kinds in common first, then most GitHub stars. The topic and the tool kinds are an AI model's reading of the publishers' descriptions, not checked by hand. Similar is not a recommendation.
Compare with another server
Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.
Security testing
What did we test, and what did we leave out?
18 checks · features #1, #2
Open without sign-in
It accepted a session without any credential and lists tools whose names suggest they change data. We did not call them. No security score is given; a check we did not run is never counted as passed.
- Inventory: exercised
- Hidden instructions: exercised
- Real execution: not run · our policy
- Secret leak: not run · nothing to check it against
- Internal addresses: not run · our policy
- Unconfirmed changes: not run · our policy
- Bad input: not run · our policy
- Model requests: not run · nothing to check it against
- Sensitive questions: not run · nothing to check it against
- Folder boundary: not run · our policy
- Log leaks: not run · nothing to check it against
- Hidden content: not run · nothing to check it against
- Fake assistant turns: not run · an error was returned
- Token passthrough: not applicable
- Token audience: not applicable
- Sign-in redirect: not run · our policy
- Consent handling: not testable from outside
- Sign-in metadata: exercised
3 exercised13 not run (reason given)2 not applicable
Each check ends in exactly one state: exercised, not run (with the reason), or not applicable (with the reason). 3 of the 16 checks that apply to it were exercised. We do not publish security-check outcomes for named servers.
- 1Inventory
tool-listReads the declared tools, resources and prompts.exercised - 2Hidden instructions
description-poisoningLooks for hidden instructions in tool descriptions.exercised - 18Sign-in metadata
oauth-url-schemeChecks the published sign-in metadata for unsafe URLs.exercised
- 3Real execution
real-executionCalls a tool and checks what really happens.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 4Secret leak
canary-leakPlants a fake secret and checks whether it leaks.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 5Internal addresses
ssrfChecks whether a tool can be steered to internal addresses.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 6Unconfirmed changes
write-without-confirmationChecks whether tools that change data act without asking.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 7Bad input
error-handlingSends bad input and watches how the server answers.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 8Model requests
samplingChecks whether the server asks the client's model to act for it.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 9Sensitive questions
elicitation-sensitive-dataChecks whether the server asks users for sensitive data.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 10Folder boundary
root-boundaryChecks whether the server reaches outside the folders it was given.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 11Log leaks
logging-side-channelChecks whether log messages carry data they should not.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 12Hidden content
audience-hidingChecks resources that hide content from the user.This check needs content the server returns, and nothing was read or called.not run · nothing to check it against - 13Fake assistant turns
fake-assistant-turnChecks prompts that pose as the assistant's own words.The server returned an error when its prompts were read.not run · an error was returned - 16Sign-in redirect
open-redirectChecks the sign-in redirect for abuse.Testing the sign-in redirect means sending probes to the operator's sign-in service, which we do not do.not run · our policy - 17Consent handling
confused-deputyChecks consent handling when one service acts for another.Depends on the operator's own consent screen, which differs per server and cannot be tested from outside.not testable from outside
- 14Token passthrough
token-passthroughChecks whether the server forwards a user's token to other services.The server opened a session without sign-in, so there is no token flow to check.not applicable - 15Token audience
token-audience-validationChecks whether tokens meant for another service are accepted.The server opened a session without sign-in, so there is no token flow to check.not applicable
Source: our own test, 2026-10-23, mcp-runtime-engine@0.1.0. Which checks count and why follows our published scoring model.
What happened during the test?
Feature #8
The steps in order, as the test record holds them.
- 0 msStarted a read-only session with the server's remote endpoint
- 412 msConnected after 0 redirects. No credential was sent or needed.
- Read the inventory: 17 tools, 0 resources, 1 prompt.
- 1,127 msFinished: 3 checks exercised.
Reference
How is it classified?
18 fields
One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.
“Free $0 50 tool calls / month”
“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.
Cite or correct this page
Sources and corrections
Suggested citation
ProtocolProbe. “io.usefulapi/adafruit-io: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-10-23. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.usefulapi/adafruit-io
Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.
As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.
Badge for your README
[](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.usefulapi/adafruit-io)
It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.
Something wrong, or is this yours?
If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.
Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology