MCP servers › org.openformatdb › openformatdb
MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-10-23 · last tested 2026-10-23
org.openformatdb/openformatdb
Identify a file, find which open tools read, write and convert its format (14,000+ formats). — the publisher's description
Summary
org.openformatdb/openformatdb is a local MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 0.1.0. On 2026-10-23 ProtocolProbe started its published package in an isolated sandbox in read-only mode and read its inventory: 7 tools, 0 resources and 0 prompts.
Record checks
- met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
- met: Source repository link opens
- met: Repository is not archived
- met: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
- not met: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
- met: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
- met: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
- not met: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
- met: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
- Not ranked by downloads: no download figure available
- Not ranked by stars: 0 stars (ranked from 10)
From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason · Is it safe to install?
Key facts
- Runs
- local package
- Transport
- standard input/output
- Package
- npm · listed version current
- License
- AGPL-3.0-or-later
- Dependencies
- no known high or critical advisories
- Repository
- public
- Tools
- 7
- Described as changing data
- 2 of 7 toolsAI-classified
- Topic
- developer-toolsAI-classified
- Last tested
- 2026-10-23
Worth knowing before you connect it
- 2 tools are described as changing something (claim_format, publish_findings): our AI model's reading of the descriptions, not something we tested. We did not call them.
Each line comes from a section below, with its source and date.
How fresh this is
- Live-tested
- yes, a real session (not a text-only review)
- Last tested
- 2026-10-23
- Mode
- read-only (no tool calls)
- Latest version
- 0.1.0, published 2026-10-21 (registry, as of the 2026-10-23 snapshot)
- First listed version
- 2026-10-21 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
- Registry data
- snapshot 2026-10-23
- Package and repository
- checked 2026-10-23
- Engine
- mcp-runtime-engine@0.1.0 · sdk@1.32.0
Changes since the last refresh
New in the registry: not in the list of 2026-10-04, listed on 2026-10-23 with version 0.1.0 (published 2026-10-21).
Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-10-04 and on 2026-10-23.
What it is
What does this server offer?
Observed inventory2 of 7 tools are described as changing something (creating, editing, deleting, sending or running).
- identify_filereads or searches
“Candidate formats for a file, ranked: a signature match beats a MIME type, which beats an extension.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world no
4 inputs
magic_hexstring“First bytes of the file as hex, spaces allowed (64 bytes is usually enough)”extensionstring“File name or extension, e.g.”mimestring“MIME type if known, e.g.”limitinteger
- lookup_formatreads or searches
“Full record of a format: identifiers, which software reads or writes it (open source first), grammars, specification, family and versions, live claims, and advice on what to do next.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world no
4 inputs
idstring“OpenFormatDB id, from identify_file or search_formats”puidstring“PRONOM id, e.g.”wikidatastring“Wikidata QID, e.g.”mimestring
“Ranked formats matching a name, alias, extension, MIME type, PUID or QID, optionally by category or status.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world no
4 inputs, 1 required
querystringrequiredcategorystringstatusstring“unknown, in-progress, partial, readable (open code reads it), writable (open code writes it)”limitinteger
- find_conversionreads or searches
“How to convert a file from one format to another with open tools: the cheapest chains (lossless first), each step with its tool, command and what is lost.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world no
3 inputs, 1 required
fromstringrequired“Source format id, extension or file name”tostring“Target format id, extension or file name”max_stepsinteger“Longest chain (default 3)”
“Sources aggregated in OpenFormatDB, with record counts, licences and snapshot dates.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world no
Takes no inputs.
- claim_formatcreates or changes datadescribed as changing data
“Say you are reverse engineering or documenting a format, so nobody duplicates the work: adds a claim (who, contact, scope, up to 90 days) to data/formats/<id>.yaml, creating the record if the format …”
Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no
11 inputs, 3 required
idstring“Format id if it exists (from identify_file, lookup_format or search_formats).”namestring“Format name, for a format not in OpenFormatDB yet”versionstringcategorystring“Required only for a new format”extensionsarray“Extensions of a new format, without the dot”whostringrequired“Who is working on it: your human's name or handle”contactstringrequired“How others reach the claimant: email, GitHub handle, issue URL”scopestringrequired“What you will document, e.g.”daysinteger“Claim duration (default 30, max 90)”agentstring“Agent/tooling used”force_newboolean“Create a new record even though a similar format exists”
“Merge what you found into data/formats/<id>.yaml: structure, grammars, tools, conversions, specification, identifiers, verification.”
Publisher declares: read-only no · destructive no · open-world no
4 inputs, 2 required
idstringrequired“Format id”patchobjectrequiredallow_downgradeboolean“Allow lowering the status (explain why in the summary or a verification note)”release_claim_ofstring“Remove the live claims of this claimant now that the work is published”
Each quoted sentence is the first sentence of the publisher’s own description. The kind of tool and the “changes data” mark are our AI model’s reading of that description, not something we tested: two differently worded runs had to agree, otherwise no label is shown, and nobody has checked them by hand. A tool without the “changes data” mark is described as only reading, searching or calculating, or the two runs did not agree. No tool was called. Read the publisher’s full description before relying on it. “Publisher declares” lists the hints the server itself sends with the tool (MCP annotations: read-only, destructive, idempotent, open-world); they are the publisher's claims, not checked by us. Inputs are the parameters in the tool's own input schema: name, declared type, whether it is required, and the first sentence of its description. Read 2026-10-23.
How well are its tools described?
Features #4 and #5
How clearly this server's own tool descriptions say what a tool does, and how consistent its tool list is. The first part is an AI model's yes/no reading of each description; the second part is counted. We do not turn it into a grade.
Descriptions
AI reading of each description
- Says what the tool does
- 100% of 7 tools
- Says what it returns
- 71% of 7 tools
- States limits, defaults or errors
- 50% of 6 tools
- Says when to use it
- 29% of 7 tools
- Items covered per tool
- 2.6 of 4 on average
Counted from the listing
- Parameters with a description
- 77% of 30
- Tools with a description
- 100% of 7
- Typical description length
- 199 characters
The tool set
Counted from the listing
- Tools
- 7
- Size of the list
- about 2,923 tokens for an agent to load (characters ÷ 4)
- Naming
- 7 of 7 names use snake_case
AI reading: easy to mix up
No pair found.
The AI items cover 7 of 7 tools: for a tool where two differently worded runs disagreed, that item is left out. They were not checked by hand, and no tool was called. “Easy to mix up” means two tools whose names or descriptions overlap without saying how they differ; the AI found none. We do not rate whether the tool set is complete or whether side effects are spelled out, because our AI reading of those was not reliable enough.
How do I add it to my client?
Config from the registry entry
From the npm package @openformatdb/mcp
Our sandbox started this package on 2026-10-23 (a read-only session: no tool was called).
Add to CursorAn install link in the format Cursor documents, holding the Cursor config below. The command runs the publisher’s code on your machine.
Claude Desktop · claude_desktop_config.json (Settings → Developer → Edit Config)
{
"mcpServers": {
"openformatdb": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"@openformatdb/mcp@0.1.0"
]
}
}
}Cursor · .cursor/mcp.json in a project, or ~/.cursor/mcp.json
{
"mcpServers": {
"openformatdb": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"@openformatdb/mcp@0.1.0"
]
}
}
}VS Code · .vscode/mcp.json
{
"servers": {
"openformatdb": {
"type": "stdio",
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"@openformatdb/mcp@0.1.0"
]
}
}
}VS Code (command line) · Bash or zsh terminal (macOS, Linux)
code --add-mcp '{"name":"openformatdb","type":"stdio","command":"npx","args":["-y","@openformatdb/mcp@0.1.0"]}'Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio openformatdb -- npx -y @openformatdb/mcp@0.1.0
Try it in the MCP Inspector · runs on your machine, opens in your browser · Node 22.19+
npx @modelcontextprotocol/inspector@2.11.0 -- npx -y @openformatdb/mcp@0.1.0
- This runs the publisher's code on your machine (npx). Read its README first.
- The MCP Inspector lists the server's tools, resources and prompts; a tool you call there runs for real.
Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.
Can it be installed, and is it up to date?
Version pin · advisories
Listed version
- Registry lists
- 0.1.0
- Latest stable
- 0.1.0
- Status
- current
- Withdrawn
- no
Source: registry.npmjs.org · 2026-10-23. About the version the registry lists; a manual install may resolve to a different one.
Dependency advisories
Counted in the full dependency tree as resolved on 2026-10-23 (npm audit). Bars share one scale. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev).
Integrity, provenance, license
- Integrity
- sha512-qT7dyVWrXAxMpxoYf…
- Signature
- signed
- License
- AGPL-3.0-or-later
Source: the package registry · 2026-10-23.
Does the registry listing match what we found?
Feature #6The registry verifies a package once, when it is published, and does not re-check it. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.
| Registry says | We found | Result | Source · date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published package can be started | Started and answered | matches | our test · 2026-10-23 |
| Version 0.1.0 on npm | Exists and can be installed | matches | npm · 2026-10-23 |
| Repository github.com/openformatdb/openformatdb | Opens publicly | matches | api.github.com · 2026-10-23 |
Who made it?
Feature #7 · lineage
Facts about the publisher. We do not turn them into a trust score.
- Namespace
- org.openformatdb
- GitHub owner
- an organization (Openformatdb)
- Build record
- signed
- Repository
- github.com/openformatdb/openformatdb
- Stars
- 0
- Repository age
- 0–30 days
- Last push
- 0–30 days ago
- Archived
- no
- Security policy
- none found (we looked for SECURITY.md in the repository and in its owner’s .github repository)
Source: the registry entry and api.github.com · 2026-10-23; security policy read from GitHub · 2026-10-23.
Publish this server? Run these checks against it yourself before release, from your own machine: a server the command starts, or your own server at its URL after a one-time proof that you control it: npx protocolprobe-selftest.
Choosing
Record checks
Public records · not a safety rating7 of 9 record checks met
- Not ranked by downloads: no download figure available
- Not ranked by stars: 0 stars (ranked from 10)
- MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
- MetSource repository link opensThe linked GitHub repository is public.
- MetRepository is not archivedNot archived.
- MetCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkLast push 0-30 days before our check.
- Not metRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)No SECURITY.md in the places GitHub reads it from.
- MetPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierAGPL-3.0-or-later
- MetThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnThe listed version exists and is current.
- Not metnpm package carries build provenance (attestation)Signed by npm, but no build attestation.
- MetNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependenciesNone known in the package or its dependency tree.
Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-10-23. No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating. How each check works · Leaderboards
Common questions about org.openformatdb/openformatdb
Answered from the data aboveIs org.openformatdb/openformatdb safe to install?
We do not rate servers as safe or unsafe. 7 of its 9 applicable record checks are met (facts from public records, each listed on this page). What the records show: Its source repository opens publicly. Its repository had a push in the last 90 days. The listed version is the latest stable release. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev). Its full dependency tree has no known advisory. 2 of its tools describe changing data (our AI model's reading of the descriptions). These are facts with their sources on this page, not a safety guarantee, and we did not run its tools.
Has org.openformatdb/openformatdb been security tested?
Partly. 2 of the 12 checks that apply to it were exercised. We started the package in an isolated sandbox and read what it declares, but this test round was read-only, so its tools were not called. No security verdict is published before verification.
What can org.openformatdb/openformatdb do?
It lists 7 tools. In our AI model's reading of their descriptions (two runs had to agree, nobody checked it by hand), they include tools that read or search and create or change data. We did not call any tool, so this describes the text, not the behaviour.
Can org.openformatdb/openformatdb change or delete data?
2 of its tools say in their description that they create, edit, delete, send or run something (our AI model's reading). We did not call any tool, so we cannot say what actually happens.
Does org.openformatdb/openformatdb publish a security policy?
We found no SECURITY.md in its repository (root, .github/ or docs/) or in its owner's .github repository.
Is the listed version current?
Yes. The registry lists 0.1.0, the latest stable release on npm.
Where is the source code of org.openformatdb/openformatdb?
In github.com/openformatdb/openformatdb, which opens publicly.
Found this page useful?
Anonymous · no sign-inA quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.
Similar servers
Same topic · AI-read
- io.github.DeusData/codebase-memory-mcpCodebase Memoryalso has tools that creates or changes data, reads or searchescompare with this one
- io.github.mobile-next/mobile-mcpalso has tools that creates or changes data, reads or searchescompare with this one
- io.github.cameroncooke/XcodeBuildMCPalso has tools that creates or changes data, reads or searchescompare with this one
- io.github.FlorianBruniaux/claude-code-guideClaude Code Ultimate Guidealso has tools that creates or changes data, reads or searchescompare with this one
- io.github.callstack/agent-deviceagent-devicealso has tools that creates or changes data, reads or searchescompare with this one
- io.github.A9T9/uivision-mcpUi.Vision MCPalso has tools that creates or changes data, reads or searchescompare with this one
Active servers whose topic is also “developer-tools” and that have at least one tool of the same kind; most kinds in common first, then most GitHub stars. The topic and the tool kinds are an AI model's reading of the publishers' descriptions, not checked by hand. Similar is not a recommendation.
Compare with another server
Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.
Security testing
What did we test, and what did we leave out?
18 checks · features #1, #2
Not probed (read-only run)
We started the package in an isolated sandbox and read what it declares, but this test round was read-only, so its tools were not called. No security score is given; a check we did not run is never counted as passed.
- Inventory: exercised
- Hidden instructions: exercised
- Real execution: not run · our policy
- Secret leak: not run · nothing to check it against
- Internal addresses: not run · our policy
- Unconfirmed changes: not run · our policy
- Bad input: not run · our policy
- Model requests: not run · nothing to check it against
- Sensitive questions: not run · nothing to check it against
- Folder boundary: not run · our policy
- Log leaks: not run · nothing to check it against
- Hidden content: not run · nothing to check it against
- Fake assistant turns: not applicable
- Token passthrough: not applicable
- Token audience: not applicable
- Sign-in redirect: not applicable
- Consent handling: not applicable
- Sign-in metadata: not applicable
2 exercised10 not run (reason given)6 not applicable
Each check ends in exactly one state: exercised, not run (with the reason), or not applicable (with the reason). 2 of the 12 checks that apply to it were exercised. We do not publish security-check outcomes for named servers.
- 1Inventory
tool-listReads the declared tools, resources and prompts.exercised - 2Hidden instructions
description-poisoningLooks for hidden instructions in tool descriptions.exercised
- 3Real execution
real-executionCalls a tool and checks what really happens.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy - 4Secret leak
canary-leakPlants a fake secret and checks whether it leaks.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 5Internal addresses
ssrfChecks whether a tool can be steered to internal addresses.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy - 6Unconfirmed changes
write-without-confirmationChecks whether tools that change data act without asking.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy - 7Bad input
error-handlingSends bad input and watches how the server answers.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy - 8Model requests
samplingChecks whether the server asks the client's model to act for it.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 9Sensitive questions
elicitation-sensitive-dataChecks whether the server asks users for sensitive data.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 10Folder boundary
root-boundaryChecks whether the server reaches outside the folders it was given.This check calls the package's tools. This test round was read-only, so no tool was called; tools can act on outside services with the publisher's or a user's account.not run · our policy - 11Log leaks
logging-side-channelChecks whether log messages carry data they should not.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 12Hidden content
audience-hidingChecks resources that hide content from the user.This check needs content the server returns, and nothing was read or called.not run · nothing to check it against
- 13Fake assistant turns
fake-assistant-turnChecks prompts that pose as the assistant's own words.The server exposes no prompts.not applicable - 14Token passthrough
token-passthroughChecks whether the server forwards a user's token to other services.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable - 15Token audience
token-audience-validationChecks whether tokens meant for another service are accepted.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable - 16Sign-in redirect
open-redirectChecks the sign-in redirect for abuse.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable - 17Consent handling
confused-deputyChecks consent handling when one service acts for another.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable - 18Sign-in metadata
oauth-url-schemeChecks the published sign-in metadata for unsafe URLs.The server runs locally over standard input/output, so there is no sign-in flow to check.not applicable
Source: our own test in an isolated sandbox, 2026-10-23, mcp-runtime-engine@0.1.0. Which checks count and why follows our published scoring model.
What happened during the test?
Feature #8
The steps in order, as the test record holds them.
- 0 msStarted the published package in an isolated sandbox (read-only mode)
- 4,626 msConnected after 0 redirects.
- Read the inventory: 7 tools, 0 resources, 0 prompts.
- 6,133 msFinished: 2 checks exercised.
Reference
How is it classified?
18 fields
One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.
“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.
Cite or correct this page
Sources and corrections
Suggested citation
ProtocolProbe. “org.openformatdb/openformatdb: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-10-23. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/org.openformatdb/openformatdb
Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.
As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.
Badge for your README
[](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/org.openformatdb/openformatdb)
It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.
Something wrong, or is this yours?
If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.
Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology