MCP servers › io.github.AlbertBalestrini › power-strip-security
MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-10-31 · last tested 2026-10-31
io.github.AlbertBalestrini/power-strip-security
by AlbertBalestrini · GitHub account (the registry's namespace rule)npm ↗Website ↗
Prompt-injection shield for agents: read pages, scan content, audit MCP servers and skills. x402. — the publisher's description
Summary
io.github.AlbertBalestrini/power-strip-security is a remote and local MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 0.2.0, under the namespace of the GitHub account AlbertBalestrini. On 2026-10-31 ProtocolProbe connected to it in read-only mode and read its inventory: 4 tools, 0 resources and 0 prompts.
Record checks
3 of 6 record checks met · 3 do not apply
- met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
- not met: Source repository link opens
- not applicable: Repository is not archived
- not applicable: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
- not applicable: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
- met: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
- met: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
- not met: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
- not met: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
- #8,732 of 18,055 packages by monthly downloads, tied with 11 others
- Not ranked by stars: no public GitHub repository
From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason · Is it safe to install?
Operate this server? Correct a fact · README badge · Run the checks yourself
Key facts
- Runs
- remote and local package
- Transport
- standard input/output, streamable HTTP
- Your own values
- for the package, a secret: PSS_PRIVATE_KEY
- Sign-in
- none needed to open a session
- Package
- npm · listed version current
- License
- MIT
- Dependencies
- 5 packages with a critical or high advisory (0 critical, 5 high)
- Tools
- 4
- Last tested
- 2026-10-31
Tool list size
1,469 tokens on Claude Opus 5.5
Added to every request that loads this server's tools (4 tools). Counted with Anthropic's token counter on 2026-10-31, from the tool list we read on 2026-10-31. Median across 25,471 counted servers: 2,877 tokens. How it is counted
How a client gets in
Connects without signing in
Read from the server's public metadata on 2026-10-31 (api.powerstripsecurity.workers.dev), in our read-only connection; no tool was called. It may have changed since. How it is read
Tool list at the three APIs
Not sent yet for this version (0.2.0).
Worth knowing before you connect it
- 5 packages with a critical or high advisory (0 critical, 5 high) in its dependencies (as resolved on 2026-10-31).
Each line comes from a section below, with its source and date.
How fresh this is
- Live-tested
- yes, a real session (not a text-only review)
- Last tested
- 2026-10-31
- Mode
- read-only (no tool calls)
- Latest version
- 0.2.0, published 2026-10-30 (registry, as of the 2026-10-31 snapshot)
- First listed version
- 2026-10-28 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
- Version history
- 4 versions listed, 2026-10-28 to 2026-10-30; 4 in the 90 days before the 2026-10-31 snapshot.(versions still listed in the registry only)
Most recent 4 versions
0.2.0· 2026-10-300.1.2· 2026-10-300.1.1· 2026-10-300.1.0· 2026-10-28
- Registry data
- snapshot 2026-10-31
- Package and repository
- checked 2026-10-31
- Engine
- mcp-runtime-engine@0.1.0 · sdk@1.32.0
Dead or stale signals
None found in the records we hold
Looked for and not found: deprecated in the registry; listed version cannot be installed or is withdrawn. Does not apply: repository link does not open; repository archived; no push in over 365 days. Each line is a dated fact from a public record. It does not say whether the server still works, and a record can change after the date shown.
Changes since the last refresh
Version 0.1.0 (published 2026-10-28) → 0.2.0 (published 2026-10-30), between the registry lists of 2026-10-30 and 2026-10-31.
No release note: the registry entry links no GitHub repository.
Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-10-30 and on 2026-10-31; release notes from the GitHub Releases API, checked 2026-10-31.
What it is
What does this server offer?
Observed inventoryNone of its 4 tools are described as changing anything. For 4 the reading was uncertain, so no mark is shown.
- read_urlon 29 other servers
“Fetch a public web page or PDF and return it as clean markdown with hidden text, invisible characters and data-exfiltration links removed, plus a prompt-injection risk report.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
2 inputs, 1 required
urlstringrequired“Public http(s) URL”formatstring“markdown keeps links; text drops them”
- check_prompt_injectionon 2 other servers
“Scan HTML or text you already have (an email, a document, a tool result) for prompt injection.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
4 inputs, 1 required
contentstringrequired“The HTML or text to scan”formatstringurlstring“Where the content came from (optional)”return_textboolean“Include the cleaned text (default true)”
- audit_mcp_serveron 1 other server
“Check an MCP server for tool poisoning before you connect: hidden instructions, secrecy, sensitive-file access, cross-tool shadowing and rug pulls.”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
4 inputs
urlstring“Streamable HTTP endpoint of the MCP server”toolsarray“Or the tools/list result, pasted”instructionsstring“Server instructions, if pasting”pinnedobject“Tool name to fingerprint from a previous audit”
- audit_agent_skill
“Check an agent skill (SKILL.md with its scripts and references) or AGENTS.md, CLAUDE.md, .cursorrules before loading it: prompt injection, curl | bash, encoded commands, credential theft, exfiltratio…”
Publisher declares: read-only yes · destructive no · open-world yes
3 inputs
filesarray“The skill files, e.g.”urlstring“Or a public URL of one raw text file”pinnedobject“Path to fingerprint from a previous audit”
Each quoted sentence is the first sentence of the publisher’s own description. The kind of tool and the “changes data” mark are our AI model’s reading of that description, not something we tested: two differently worded runs had to agree, otherwise no label is shown, and nobody has checked them by hand. A tool without the “changes data” mark is described as only reading, searching or calculating, or the two runs did not agree. No tool was called. Read the publisher’s full description before relying on it. “Publisher declares” lists the hints the server itself sends with the tool (MCP annotations: read-only, destructive, idempotent, open-world); they are the publisher's claims, not checked by us. Inputs are the parameters in the tool's own input schema: name, declared type, whether it is required, and the first sentence of its description. Read 2026-10-31.
How well are its tools described?
Features #4 and #5
How clearly this server's own tool descriptions say what a tool does, and how consistent its tool list is. The first part is an AI model's yes/no reading of each description; the second part is counted. We do not turn it into a grade.
Descriptions
AI reading of each description
No AI reading was available for this server's tools (the two runs did not agree, or the listing was not reviewed).
Counted from the listing
- Parameters with a description
- 92% of 13
- Tools with a description
- 100% of 4
- Typical description length
- 291 characters
The tool set
Counted from the listing
- Tools
- 4
- Size of the list
- about 853 tokens for an agent to load (characters ÷ 4)
- Naming
- 4 of 4 names use snake_case
AI reading: easy to mix up
No pair found.
The AI items cover 0 of 4 tools: for a tool where two differently worded runs disagreed, that item is left out. They were not checked by hand, and no tool was called. “Easy to mix up” means two tools whose names or descriptions overlap without saying how they differ; the AI found none. We do not rate whether the tool set is complete or whether side effects are spelled out, because our AI reading of those was not reliable enough.
How do I add it to my client?
Config from the registry entry
From the npm package power-strip-security-mcp
This entry needs values of your own (marked < > or { } in the config below), so there is no one-click link: paste the config and fill them in.
Claude Desktop · claude_desktop_config.json (Settings → Developer → Edit Config)
{
"mcpServers": {
"power-strip-security": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"power-strip-security-mcp@0.2.0"
],
"env": {
"PSS_PRIVATE_KEY": "<PSS_PRIVATE_KEY>"
}
}
}
}Cursor · .cursor/mcp.json in a project, or ~/.cursor/mcp.json
{
"mcpServers": {
"power-strip-security": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"power-strip-security-mcp@0.2.0"
],
"env": {
"PSS_PRIVATE_KEY": "<PSS_PRIVATE_KEY>"
}
}
}
}VS Code · .vscode/mcp.json
{
"servers": {
"power-strip-security": {
"type": "stdio",
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"power-strip-security-mcp@0.2.0"
],
"env": {
"PSS_PRIVATE_KEY": "${input:pss-private-key}"
}
}
},
"inputs": [
{
"type": "promptString",
"id": "pss-private-key",
"description": "PSS_PRIVATE_KEY",
"password": true
}
]
}Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "PSS_PRIVATE_KEY=<PSS_PRIVATE_KEY>" --transport stdio power-strip-security -- npx -y power-strip-security-mcp@0.2.0
Cline · cline_mcp_settings.json (Cline CLI: ~/.cline/data/settings/; in the editor: MCP Servers → Configure → Configure MCP Servers)
{
"mcpServers": {
"power-strip-security": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"power-strip-security-mcp@0.2.0"
],
"env": {
"PSS_PRIVATE_KEY": "<PSS_PRIVATE_KEY>"
},
"disabled": false,
"autoApprove": []
}
}
}Gemini CLI · ~/.gemini/settings.json, or .gemini/settings.json in a project
{
"mcpServers": {
"power-strip-security": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"power-strip-security-mcp@0.2.0"
],
"env": {
"PSS_PRIVATE_KEY": "<PSS_PRIVATE_KEY>"
}
}
}
}OpenAI Codex · ~/.codex/config.toml, or .codex/config.toml in a trusted project
[mcp_servers.power-strip-security] command = "npx" args = ["-y", "power-strip-security-mcp@0.2.0"] [mcp_servers.power-strip-security.env] "PSS_PRIVATE_KEY" = "<PSS_PRIVATE_KEY>"
Zed · Zed settings file (command: zed: open settings file)
{
"context_servers": {
"power-strip-security": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"power-strip-security-mcp@0.2.0"
],
"env": {
"PSS_PRIVATE_KEY": "<PSS_PRIVATE_KEY>"
}
}
}
}Try it in the MCP Inspector · runs on your machine, opens in your browser · Node 22.19+
npx @modelcontextprotocol/inspector@2.11.0 -e "PSS_PRIVATE_KEY=<PSS_PRIVATE_KEY>" -- npx -y power-strip-security-mcp@0.2.0
- Replace <PSS_PRIVATE_KEY> with your own values; the entry marks PSS_PRIVATE_KEY as secret, so keep the file out of version control.
- Optional settings the entry also lists (left out above): PSS_MAX_SPEND_USD.
- This runs the publisher's code on your machine (npx). Read its README first.
- The MCP Inspector lists the server's tools, resources and prompts; a tool you call there runs for real.
From the remote endpoint (Streamable HTTP)
We connected to this URL on 2026-10-31 (a read-only session: no tool was called).
Add to CursorAn install link in the format Cursor documents, holding the Cursor config below.
Claude Desktop or claude.ai
Settings → Connectors → Add custom connector, then paste: https://api.powerstripsecurity.workers.dev/mcp
Cursor · .cursor/mcp.json in a project, or ~/.cursor/mcp.json
{
"mcpServers": {
"power-strip-security": {
"url": "https://api.powerstripsecurity.workers.dev/mcp"
}
}
}VS Code · .vscode/mcp.json
{
"servers": {
"power-strip-security": {
"type": "http",
"url": "https://api.powerstripsecurity.workers.dev/mcp"
}
}
}VS Code (command line) · Bash or zsh terminal (macOS, Linux)
code --add-mcp '{"name":"power-strip-security","type":"http","url":"https://api.powerstripsecurity.workers.dev/mcp"}'Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http power-strip-security https://api.powerstripsecurity.workers.dev/mcp
Cline · cline_mcp_settings.json (Cline CLI: ~/.cline/data/settings/; in the editor: MCP Servers → Configure → Configure MCP Servers)
{
"mcpServers": {
"power-strip-security": {
"type": "streamableHttp",
"url": "https://api.powerstripsecurity.workers.dev/mcp",
"disabled": false,
"autoApprove": []
}
}
}Gemini CLI · ~/.gemini/settings.json, or .gemini/settings.json in a project
{
"mcpServers": {
"power-strip-security": {
"httpUrl": "https://api.powerstripsecurity.workers.dev/mcp"
}
}
}OpenAI Codex · ~/.codex/config.toml, or .codex/config.toml in a trusted project
[mcp_servers.power-strip-security] url = "https://api.powerstripsecurity.workers.dev/mcp"
Zed · Zed settings file (command: zed: open settings file)
{
"context_servers": {
"power-strip-security": {
"url": "https://api.powerstripsecurity.workers.dev/mcp"
}
}
}Try it in the MCP Inspector · runs on your machine, opens in your browser · Node 22.19+
npx @modelcontextprotocol/inspector@2.11.0 --server-url https://api.powerstripsecurity.workers.dev/mcp --transport http
- The server runs on the operator's infrastructure; it may ask you to sign in when you first connect.
- Zed's docs we read on 2026-10-26 describe remote servers by URL and do not name the transport.
- The MCP Inspector lists the server's tools, resources and prompts; a tool you call there runs for real.
Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21; Cline, Gemini CLI, OpenAI Codex and Zed 2026-10-26). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.
Can it be installed, and is it up to date?
Version pin · advisories
Listed version
- Registry lists
- 0.2.0
- Latest stable
- 0.2.0
- Status
- current
- Withdrawn
- no
Source: registry.npmjs.org · 2026-10-31. About the version the registry lists; a manual install may resolve to a different one.
Dependency advisories
Counted in the full dependency tree as resolved on 2026-10-31 (npm audit; each bar counts packages with an advisory, not advisories). Bars share one scale. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev).
Integrity, provenance, license
- Integrity
- sha512-JHRWmx0yv8LoKtIVh…
- Signature
- signed
- License
- MIT
Source: the package registry · 2026-10-31.
Usage
- Downloads
- 328 in the last month
Source: api.npmjs.org · 2026-10-31.
Does the registry listing match what we found?
Feature #6The registry checks an entry when it is published (each new version), and nothing re-checks it on a schedule. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.
| Registry says | We found | Result | Source · date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Remote endpoint api.powerstripsecurity.workers.dev/mcp | Session opened | matches | our test · 2026-10-31 |
| A secret is declared as required | Opened a session without any credential | differs | our test · 2026-10-31 |
| Version 0.2.0 on npm | Exists and can be installed | matches | npm · 2026-10-31 |
Choosing
Record checks
Public records · not a safety rating3 of 6 record checks met · 3 do not apply
- #8,732 of 18,055 packages by monthly downloads, tied with 11 others
- Not ranked by stars: no public GitHub repository
- MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
- Not metSource repository link opensThe registry entry gives no repository link.What changes this check: This check opens the repository link in the registry entry. GitHub's documentation describes changing a repository's visibility in its Settings, under Danger Zone, Change visibility. GitHub: setting repository visibility
- Does not applyRepository is not archivedNo public GitHub repository to read.
- Does not applyCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkNo public GitHub repository to read.
- Does not applyRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)No public GitHub repository to read.
- MetPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierMIT
- MetThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnThe listed version exists and is current.
- Not metnpm package carries build provenance (attestation)Signed by npm, but no build attestation.What changes this check: npm's documentation describes publishing with provenance from a cloud-hosted runner of a supported CI/CD provider, using npm CLI 9.5.0 or newer and npm publish --provenance. npm: generating provenance statements
- Not metNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies5 packages in its dependencies with a critical or high advisory (npm audit counts packages, not advisories).What changes this check: npm's documentation describes listing a project's dependency advisories with npm audit and applying compatible dependency updates. npm: npm audit
Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-10-31. No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating, and the same rules apply to every server. How each check works · Leaderboards · How we stay neutral
Common questions about io.github.AlbertBalestrini/power-strip-security
Answered from the data aboveWho publishes io.github.AlbertBalestrini/power-strip-security?
The registry ties the namespace io.github.AlbertBalestrini to the GitHub account AlbertBalestrini; only its owner can publish under it. These are facts from the registry and GitHub, not a rating.
Is io.github.AlbertBalestrini/power-strip-security safe to install?
We do not rate servers as safe or unsafe. 3 of its 6 applicable record checks are met (facts from public records, each listed on this page). What the records show: The listed version is the latest stable release. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev). Its full dependency tree has packages with advisories (5 high; npm audit). These are facts with their sources on this page, not a safety guarantee, and we did not run its tools.
Does io.github.AlbertBalestrini/power-strip-security need an API key or sign-in?
It opened a session without any credential on 2026-10-31. The registry entry declares a required secret.
Has io.github.AlbertBalestrini/power-strip-security been security tested?
Partly. 2 of the 14 checks that apply to it were exercised. We connected and read what the server declares, but did not call its tools: ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes. This is our choice, not a block by the server. ProtocolProbe publishes no security verdict for a named server.
Is the listed version current?
Yes. The registry lists 0.2.0, the latest stable release on npm.
Found this page useful?
Anonymous · no sign-inA quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.
Compare with another server
Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.
Security testing
What did we test, and what did we leave out?
18 checks · features #1, #2
Not probed (we call no server's tools)
We connected and read what the server declares, but did not call its tools: ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes. This is our choice, not a block by the server. No security score is given; a check we did not run is never counted as passed.
- Inventory: exercised
- Hidden instructions: exercised
- Real execution: not run · our policy
- Secret leak: not run · nothing to check it against
- Internal addresses: not run · our policy
- Unconfirmed changes: not run · our policy
- Bad input: not run · our policy
- Model requests: not run · nothing to check it against
- Sensitive questions: not run · nothing to check it against
- Folder boundary: not run · our policy
- Log leaks: not run · nothing to check it against
- Hidden content: not run · nothing to check it against
- Fake assistant turns: not applicable
- Token passthrough: not applicable
- Token audience: not applicable
- Sign-in redirect: not run · our policy
- Consent handling: not testable from outside
- Sign-in metadata: not applicable
2 exercised12 not run (reason given)4 not applicable
Each check ends in exactly one state: exercised, not run (with the reason), or not applicable (with the reason). 2 of the 14 checks that apply to it were exercised. We do not publish security-check outcomes for named servers.
- 1Inventory
tool-listReads the declared tools, resources and prompts.exercised - 2Hidden instructions
description-poisoningLooks for hidden instructions in tool descriptions.exercised
- 3Real execution
real-executionCalls a tool and checks what really happens.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 4Secret leak
canary-leakPlants a fake secret and checks whether it leaks.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 5Internal addresses
ssrfChecks whether a tool can be steered to internal addresses.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 6Unconfirmed changes
write-without-confirmationChecks whether tools that change data act without asking.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 7Bad input
error-handlingSends bad input and watches how the server answers.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 8Model requests
samplingChecks whether the server asks the client's model to act for it.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 9Sensitive questions
elicitation-sensitive-dataChecks whether the server asks users for sensitive data.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 10Folder boundary
root-boundaryChecks whether the server reaches outside the folders it was given.This check calls the server's tools. ProtocolProbe calls no server's tools for anything it publishes; an operator can run this check on their own server with our self-test command.not run · our policy - 11Log leaks
logging-side-channelChecks whether log messages carry data they should not.This check needs at least one successful tool call to have something to check, and no tool was called.not run · nothing to check it against - 12Hidden content
audience-hidingChecks resources that hide content from the user.This check needs content the server returns, and nothing was read or called.not run · nothing to check it against - 16Sign-in redirect
open-redirectChecks the sign-in redirect for abuse.Testing the sign-in redirect means sending probes to the operator's sign-in service, which we do not do.not run · our policy - 17Consent handling
confused-deputyChecks consent handling when one service acts for another.Depends on the operator's own consent screen, which differs per server and cannot be tested from outside.not testable from outside
- 13Fake assistant turns
fake-assistant-turnChecks prompts that pose as the assistant's own words.The server exposes no prompts.not applicable - 14Token passthrough
token-passthroughChecks whether the server forwards a user's token to other services.The server opened a session without sign-in, so there is no token flow to check.not applicable - 15Token audience
token-audience-validationChecks whether tokens meant for another service are accepted.The server opened a session without sign-in, so there is no token flow to check.not applicable - 18Sign-in metadata
oauth-url-schemeChecks the published sign-in metadata for unsafe URLs.No sign-in (OAuth) metadata is published, so there are no sign-in addresses to check.not applicable
Source: our own test, 2026-10-31, mcp-runtime-engine@0.1.0. Which checks count and why follows our published scoring model.
What happened during the test?
Feature #8
The steps in order, as the test record holds them.
- 0 msStarted a read-only session with the server's remote endpoint
- 599 msConnected after 0 redirects. No credential was sent or needed.
- Read the inventory: 4 tools, 0 resources, 0 prompts.
- 1,443 msFinished: 2 checks exercised.
Reference
How is it classified?
18 fields
One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.
“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.
Cite or correct this page
Sources and corrections
Suggested citation
ProtocolProbe. “io.github.AlbertBalestrini/power-strip-security: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-10-31. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.AlbertBalestrini/power-strip-security
Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.
As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.
Badge for your README
[](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.AlbertBalestrini/power-strip-security)
It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.
Something wrong, or is this yours?
If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.
Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology