MCP servers › io.github.agigante80 › actual-mcp-server
MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-11-03 · last checked 2026-11-03
io.github.agigante80/actual-mcp-server
Actual Budget MCP Server — the publisher's title
by agigante80 · GitHub account (the registry's namespace rule)repository: same ownerSource ↗npm ↗Website ↗
Manage Actual Budget accounts, transactions, budgets, rules and reports from an AI assistant. — the publisher's description
Summary
io.github.agigante80/actual-mcp-server is a local MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 0.25.2, under the namespace of the GitHub account agigante80. Its linked repository, github.com/agigante80/actual-mcp-server, belongs to the same GitHub account.
Record checks
- met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
- met: Source repository link opens
- met: Repository is not archived
- met: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
- met: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
- met: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
- met: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
- met: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
- not met: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
- #373 of 18,234 packages by monthly downloads
- #1,001 of 25,254 repositories by GitHub stars, tied with 5 others
From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason · Is it safe to install?
Operate this server? Correct a fact · README badge · Run the checks yourself
Key facts
- Runs
- local package
- Transport
- standard input/output, streamable HTTP
- Your own values
- secrets: ACTUAL_PASSWORD, MCP_SSE_AUTHORIZATION · settings: ACTUAL_SERVER_URL, ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID
- Package
- npm, Docker (OCI) · listed version behind the latest release
- License
- MIT
- Dependencies
- 3 packages with a critical or high advisory (0 critical, 3 high)
- Repository
- public
- Last tested
- not tested
Tool list
Not read: It requires a credential (a key or token) that the publisher marks as required. We never fill in credentials, so we did not start it. So there is no tool-list size and no result from the three APIs.
Worth knowing before you connect it
- The registry lists 0.25.2; 0.26.0 is newer (1 release).
- 3 packages with a critical or high advisory (0 critical, 3 high) in its dependencies (as resolved on 2026-11-03).
- Its package is signed and carries a build record naming its source.
Each line comes from a section below, with its source and date.
How fresh this is
- Live-tested
- no
- Last tested
- not tested
- Latest version
- 0.25.2, published 2026-11-03 (registry, as of the 2026-11-03 snapshot)
- First listed version
- 2026-10-31 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
- Version history
- 3 versions listed, 2026-10-31 to 2026-11-03; 3 in the 90 days before the 2026-11-03 snapshot.(versions still listed in the registry only)
Most recent 3 versions
0.25.2· 2026-11-030.25.1· 2026-10-310.25.0· 2026-10-31
- Registry data
- snapshot 2026-11-03
- Package and repository
- checked 2026-11-03
Dead or stale signals
None found in the records we hold
Looked for and not found: deprecated in the registry; listed version cannot be installed or is withdrawn; repository link does not open; repository archived; no push in over 365 days. Each line is a dated fact from a public record. It does not say whether the server still works, and a record can change after the date shown.
Changes since the last refresh
Version 0.25.1 (published 2026-10-31) → 0.25.2 (published 2026-11-03), between the registry lists of 2026-11-02 and 2026-11-03.
The publisher’s GitHub release note for v0.25.2 (“Release v0.25.2”), published 2026-11-03.
Read the release note (the publisher’s text, shown as plain text)
## 🎉 Release v0.25.2 ### 📦 Docker Images ```bash # Docker Hub docker pull agigante80/actual-mcp-server:0.25.2 # GitHub Container Registry docker pull ghcr.io/agigante80/actual-mcp-server:0.25.2 ``` ### 📝 Changelog - chore(release): bump version to 0.25.2 (4ee0405) - chore(deps): upgrade @actual-app/api to 26.11.0 (38fc34f) ### 📊 What this release ships - `@actual-app/api` pinned at `26.11.0` - All 84 MCP tools registered and validated on this tag ### 🔒 Security This release has been scanned for vulnerabilities. Check the Security tab for details. **Full Changelog**: https://github.com/agigante80/actual-mcp-server/compare/v0.25.1...v0.25.2
Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-11-02 and on 2026-11-03; release notes from the GitHub Releases API, checked 2026-11-03.
What it is
How do I add it to my client?
Config from the registry entry
From the npm package actual-mcp-server
This entry needs values of your own (marked < > or { } in the config below), so there is no one-click link: paste the config and fill them in.
Claude Desktop · claude_desktop_config.json (Settings → Developer → Edit Config)
{
"mcpServers": {
"actual-mcp-server": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"actual-mcp-server@0.25.2",
"--stdio"
],
"env": {
"ACTUAL_SERVER_URL": "<ACTUAL_SERVER_URL>",
"ACTUAL_PASSWORD": "<ACTUAL_PASSWORD>",
"ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID": "<ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID>"
}
}
}
}Cursor · .cursor/mcp.json in a project, or ~/.cursor/mcp.json
{
"mcpServers": {
"actual-mcp-server": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"actual-mcp-server@0.25.2",
"--stdio"
],
"env": {
"ACTUAL_SERVER_URL": "<ACTUAL_SERVER_URL>",
"ACTUAL_PASSWORD": "<ACTUAL_PASSWORD>",
"ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID": "<ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID>"
}
}
}
}VS Code · .vscode/mcp.json
{
"servers": {
"actual-mcp-server": {
"type": "stdio",
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"actual-mcp-server@0.25.2",
"--stdio"
],
"env": {
"ACTUAL_SERVER_URL": "${input:actual-server-url}",
"ACTUAL_PASSWORD": "${input:actual-password}",
"ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID": "${input:actual-budget-sync-id}"
}
}
},
"inputs": [
{
"type": "promptString",
"id": "actual-server-url",
"description": "ACTUAL_SERVER_URL",
"password": false
},
{
"type": "promptString",
"id": "actual-password",
"description": "ACTUAL_PASSWORD",
"password": true
},
{
"type": "promptString",
"id": "actual-budget-sync-id",
"description": "ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID",
"password": false
}
]
}Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "ACTUAL_SERVER_URL=<ACTUAL_SERVER_URL>" "ACTUAL_PASSWORD=<ACTUAL_PASSWORD>" "ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID=<ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID>" --transport stdio actual-mcp-server -- npx -y actual-mcp-server@0.25.2 --stdio
Cline · cline_mcp_settings.json (Cline CLI: ~/.cline/data/settings/; in the editor: MCP Servers → Configure → Configure MCP Servers)
{
"mcpServers": {
"actual-mcp-server": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"actual-mcp-server@0.25.2",
"--stdio"
],
"env": {
"ACTUAL_SERVER_URL": "<ACTUAL_SERVER_URL>",
"ACTUAL_PASSWORD": "<ACTUAL_PASSWORD>",
"ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID": "<ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID>"
},
"disabled": false,
"autoApprove": []
}
}
}Gemini CLI · ~/.gemini/settings.json, or .gemini/settings.json in a project
{
"mcpServers": {
"actual-mcp-server": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"actual-mcp-server@0.25.2",
"--stdio"
],
"env": {
"ACTUAL_SERVER_URL": "<ACTUAL_SERVER_URL>",
"ACTUAL_PASSWORD": "<ACTUAL_PASSWORD>",
"ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID": "<ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID>"
}
}
}
}OpenAI Codex · ~/.codex/config.toml, or .codex/config.toml in a trusted project
[mcp_servers.actual-mcp-server] command = "npx" args = ["-y", "actual-mcp-server@0.25.2", "--stdio"] [mcp_servers.actual-mcp-server.env] "ACTUAL_SERVER_URL" = "<ACTUAL_SERVER_URL>" "ACTUAL_PASSWORD" = "<ACTUAL_PASSWORD>" "ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID" = "<ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID>"
Zed · Zed settings file (command: zed: open settings file)
{
"context_servers": {
"actual-mcp-server": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"actual-mcp-server@0.25.2",
"--stdio"
],
"env": {
"ACTUAL_SERVER_URL": "<ACTUAL_SERVER_URL>",
"ACTUAL_PASSWORD": "<ACTUAL_PASSWORD>",
"ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID": "<ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID>"
}
}
}
}Try it in the MCP Inspector · runs on your machine, opens in your browser · Node 22.19+
npx @modelcontextprotocol/inspector@2.11.0 -e "ACTUAL_SERVER_URL=<ACTUAL_SERVER_URL>" -e "ACTUAL_PASSWORD=<ACTUAL_PASSWORD>" -e "ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID=<ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID>" -- npx -y actual-mcp-server@0.25.2 --stdio
- Arguments are written as the registry entry gives them; a named one as “--name value”, the form the registry documentation shows.
- Replace <ACTUAL_SERVER_URL>, <ACTUAL_PASSWORD>, <ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID> with your own values; the entry marks ACTUAL_PASSWORD as secret, so keep the file out of version control.
- Optional settings the entry also lists (left out above): ACTUAL_BUDGET_PASSWORD, MCP_BRIDGE_DATA_DIR.
- This runs the publisher's code on your machine (npx). Read its README first.
- The MCP Inspector lists the server's tools, resources and prompts; a tool you call there runs for real.
Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21; Cline, Gemini CLI, OpenAI Codex and Zed 2026-10-26). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.
Can it be installed, and is it up to date?
Version pin · advisories
Listed version
- Registry lists
- 0.25.2
- Latest stable
- 0.26.0
- Status
- behind the latest release (1 releases, 0 days)
- Withdrawn
- no
Source: registry.npmjs.org · 2026-11-03. About the version the registry lists; a manual install may resolve to a different one.
Dependency advisories
Counted in the full dependency tree as resolved on 2026-11-03 (npm audit; each bar counts packages with an advisory, not advisories). Bars share one scale. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev).
Integrity, provenance, license
- Integrity
- sha512-NOez8DSLqLLuGq+4k…
- Signature
- signed and attested
- License
- MIT
Source: the package registry · 2026-11-03.
Usage
- Downloads
- 6,187 in the last month
Source: api.npmjs.org · 2026-11-03.
Does the registry listing match what we found?
Feature #6The registry checks an entry when it is published (each new version), and nothing re-checks it on a schedule. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.
| Registry says | We found | Result | Source · date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Version 0.25.2 on npm | Exists and can be installed | matches | npm · 2026-11-03 |
| Repository github.com/agigante80/actual-mcp-server | Opens publicly | matches | api.github.com · 2026-11-03 |
Who made it?
Feature #7 · lineage
Facts about the publisher. We do not turn them into a trust score.
- Namespace
- io.github.agigante80
- GitHub owner
- a personal account (agigante80)
- Build record
- signed and attested
- Repository
- github.com/agigante80/actual-mcp-server
- Stars
- 76
- Repository age
- over a year
- Last push
- 0–30 days ago
- Archived
- no
- Security policy
- .github/SECURITY.md
Source: the registry entry and api.github.com · 2026-11-03; security policy read from GitHub · 2026-11-03.
Publish this server? Run these checks against it yourself before release, from your own machine: a server the command starts, or your own server at its URL after a one-time proof that you control it: npx protocolprobe-selftest.
Choosing
Record checks
Public records · not a safety rating8 of 9 record checks met
- #373 of 18,234 packages by monthly downloads
- #1,001 of 25,254 repositories by GitHub stars, tied with 5 others
- MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
- MetSource repository link opensThe linked GitHub repository is public.
- MetRepository is not archivedNot archived.
- MetCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkLast push 0-30 days before our check.
- MetRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)SECURITY.md found.
- MetPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierMIT
- MetThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnThe listed version exists; a newer one is out.
- Metnpm package carries build provenance (attestation)Signed, with a build attestation naming the source and workflow.
- Not metNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies3 packages in its dependencies with a critical or high advisory (npm audit counts packages, not advisories).What changes this check: npm's documentation describes listing a project's dependency advisories with npm audit and applying compatible dependency updates. npm: npm audit
Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-11-03 (security policy 2026-11-03). No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating, and the same rules apply to every server. How each check works · Leaderboards · How we stay neutral
Common questions about io.github.agigante80/actual-mcp-server
Answered from the data aboveWho publishes io.github.agigante80/actual-mcp-server?
The registry ties the namespace io.github.agigante80 to the GitHub account agigante80; only its owner can publish under it. Its linked repository, github.com/agigante80/actual-mcp-server, belongs to the same GitHub account. These are facts from the registry and GitHub, not a rating.
Is io.github.agigante80/actual-mcp-server safe to install?
We do not rate servers as safe or unsafe. 8 of its 9 applicable record checks are met (facts from public records, each listed on this page). What the records show: Its npm package carries a build-provenance attestation that names its source repository and build workflow. Its source repository opens publicly. Its repository had a push in the last 90 days. A newer stable release exists than the one listed. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev). Its full dependency tree has packages with advisories (3 high; npm audit). These are facts with their sources on this page, not a safety guarantee, and we did not run its tools.
Has io.github.agigante80/actual-mcp-server been security tested?
No. It requires a credential (a key or token) that the publisher marks as required. We never fill in credentials, so we did not start it.
Does io.github.agigante80/actual-mcp-server publish a security policy?
Yes: its repository has a public security policy (github.com/agigante80/actual-mcp-server/blob/HEAD/.github/SECURITY.md). That is the publisher's statement, not permission for us to test the server, and we call none of its tools.
Is the listed version current?
No. The registry lists 0.25.2; the latest stable release on npm is 0.26.0.
Where is the source code of io.github.agigante80/actual-mcp-server?
In github.com/agigante80/actual-mcp-server, which opens publicly.
Found this page useful?
Anonymous · no sign-inA quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.
Compare with another server
Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.
Security testing
Has it been tested?
Feature #1It requires a credential (a key or token) that the publisher marks as required. We never fill in credentials, so we did not start it. — the server's own choice
Required inputs the publisher declares: ACTUAL_SERVER_URL, ACTUAL_PASSWORD (secret), ACTUAL_BUDGET_SYNC_ID, MCP_SSE_AUTHORIZATION (secret).
Reference
How is it classified?
18 fields
One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.
“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.
Cite or correct this page
Sources and corrections
Suggested citation
ProtocolProbe. “io.github.agigante80/actual-mcp-server: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-11-03. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.agigante80/actual-mcp-server
Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.
As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.
Badge for your README
[](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.agigante80/actual-mcp-server)
It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.
Something wrong, or is this yours?
If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.
Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology