Skip to content

MCP servers › io.github.aloth › olcli

MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-11-03 · last checked 2026-11-03

io.github.aloth/olcli

by aloth · GitHub account (the registry's namespace rule)repository: same ownerSource ↗npm ↗Website ↗

Overleaf projects from an MCP client: files, compile and PDF, diff, comments and tracked changes — the publisher's description

8 of 9 record checks metversion 0.15.3TypeScriptMITstandard input/output

Summary

io.github.aloth/olcli is a local MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 0.15.3, under the namespace of the GitHub account aloth. Its linked repository, github.com/aloth/olcli, belongs to the same GitHub account.

Record checks

8 of 9 record checks met

  • met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
  • met: Source repository link opens
  • met: Repository is not archived
  • met: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
  • met: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
  • met: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
  • met: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
  • met: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
  • not met: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
  • #717 of 18,234 packages by monthly downloads
  • #524 of 25,254 repositories by GitHub stars, tied with 1 other

From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason · Is it safe to install?

Operate this server? Correct a fact · README badge · Run the checks yourself

Key facts

Runs
local package
Transport
standard input/output
Your own values
a secret: OVERLEAF_SESSION
Package
npm · listed version current
License
MIT
Dependencies
2 packages with a critical or high advisory (0 critical, 2 high)
Repository
public
Last tested
not tested

Tool list

Not read: It requires a credential (a key or token) that the publisher marks as required. We never fill in credentials, so we did not start it. So there is no tool-list size and no result from the three APIs.

Add to your client

Worth knowing before you connect it

  • 2 packages with a critical or high advisory (0 critical, 2 high) in its dependencies (as resolved on 2026-11-03).
  • Its package is signed and carries a build record naming its source.

Each line comes from a section below, with its source and date.

How fresh this is

Live-tested
no
Last tested
not tested
Latest version
0.15.3, published 2026-11-02 (registry, as of the 2026-11-03 snapshot)
First listed version
2026-10-26 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
Version history
2 versions listed, 2026-10-26 to 2026-11-02; 2 in the 90 days before the 2026-11-03 snapshot.
Most recent 2 versions
  • 0.15.3 · 2026-11-02
  • 0.15.2 · 2026-10-26
(versions still listed in the registry only)
Registry data
snapshot 2026-11-03
Package and repository
checked 2026-11-03

Dead or stale signals

None found in the records we hold

Looked for and not found: deprecated in the registry; listed version cannot be installed or is withdrawn; repository link does not open; repository archived; no push in over 365 days. Each line is a dated fact from a public record. It does not say whether the server still works, and a record can change after the date shown.

Changes since the last refresh

Version 0.15.2 (published 2026-10-26) → 0.15.3 (published 2026-11-02), between the registry lists of 2026-11-02 and 2026-11-03.

The publisher’s GitHub release note for v0.15.3 (“olcli 0.15.3”), published 2026-11-02.

Read the release note (the publisher’s text, shown as plain text)
## olcli 0.15.3

### Fixed
- **`mv` and `rename_entity` move entities between folders.** `olcli rename` (alias `mv`) and the MCP tool `rename_entity` used to rename only, so `olcli mv sub/x.txt chapters/x.txt` failed with HTTP 400 even though `mv` is documented as a move. The destination now decides what happens:
  - `intro.tex` renames in place; the entity keeps its folder, as before
  - `chapters/intro.tex` moves the entity into `chapters/` and renames it; missing folders are created
  - `chapters/` moves it and keeps the name
  - `/` or a leading `/` targets the project root

  Documents, files and folders can all be moved. A destination that already exists, a missing source, or a folder moved into itself or one of its subfolders is refused with exit status 1 before anything is written. `rename_entity` accepts the same paths in `new_name`, and its confirmation shows From, To and any folders it creates.

  Thanks to @Wang-Chuming for reporting that the `mv` example could not move a file (#61).

### Changed
- The MCP registry entry (`io.github.aloth/olcli`) is now published by the release workflow after `npm publish`.

### Documentation
- SKILL.md, README.md and docs/MCP.md describe `rename`/`mv` as rename and move. The 0.15.2 docs claimed a rename moves an entity to the project root; it keeps its folder. docs/ARCHITECTURE.md lists the move endpoint.

**Full changelog:** https://github.com/aloth/olcli/compare/v0.15.2...v0.15.3

The release on GitHub

Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-11-02 and on 2026-11-03; release notes from the GitHub Releases API, checked 2026-11-03.

What it is

How do I add it to my client?

Config from the registry entry
  • No config: the npm package declares runtime arguments (options for the runner itself), and the registry documentation gives no rule for where they go.

Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21; Cline, Gemini CLI, OpenAI Codex and Zed 2026-10-26). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.

Can it be installed, and is it up to date?

Version pin · advisories

Listed version

Registry lists
0.15.3
Latest stable
0.15.3
Status
current
Withdrawn
no

Source: registry.npmjs.org · 2026-11-03. About the version the registry lists; a manual install may resolve to a different one.

Dependency advisories

critical0high2moderate0low0

Counted in the full dependency tree as resolved on 2026-11-03 (npm audit; each bar counts packages with an advisory, not advisories). Bars share one scale. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev).

Integrity, provenance, license

Integrity
sha512-e9YqI1+wlesGFAFJG…
Signature
signed and attested
License
MIT

Source: the package registry · 2026-11-03.

Usage

Downloads
3,254 in the last month

Source: api.npmjs.org · 2026-11-03.

Does the registry listing match what we found?

Feature #6

The registry checks an entry when it is published (each new version), and nothing re-checks it on a schedule. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.

Registry saysWe foundResultSource · date
Version 0.15.3 on npmExists and can be installedmatchesnpm · 2026-11-03
Repository github.com/aloth/olcliOpens publiclymatchesapi.github.com · 2026-11-03

Who made it?

Feature #7 · lineage

Facts about the publisher. We do not turn them into a trust score.

Namespace
io.github.aloth · 2 servers
GitHub owner
a personal account (aloth)
Build record
signed and attested
Repository
github.com/aloth/olcli
Stars
240
Repository age
181–365 days
Last push
0–30 days ago
Archived
no
Security policy
SECURITY.md

Source: the registry entry and api.github.com · 2026-11-03; security policy read from GitHub · 2026-11-03.

Publish this server? Run these checks against it yourself before release, from your own machine: a server the command starts, or your own server at its URL after a one-time proof that you control it: npx protocolprobe-selftest.

Choosing

Record checks

Public records · not a safety rating

8 of 9 record checks met

  • #717 of 18,234 packages by monthly downloads
  • #524 of 25,254 repositories by GitHub stars, tied with 1 other
  • MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
  • MetSource repository link opensThe linked GitHub repository is public.
  • MetRepository is not archivedNot archived.
  • MetCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkLast push 0-30 days before our check.
  • MetRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)SECURITY.md found.
  • MetPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierMIT
  • MetThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnThe listed version exists and is current.
  • Metnpm package carries build provenance (attestation)Signed, with a build attestation naming the source and workflow.
  • Not metNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies2 packages in its dependencies with a critical or high advisory (npm audit counts packages, not advisories).What changes this check: npm's documentation describes listing a project's dependency advisories with npm audit and applying compatible dependency updates. npm: npm audit

Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-11-03 (security policy 2026-11-03). No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating, and the same rules apply to every server. How each check works · Leaderboards · How we stay neutral

Common questions about io.github.aloth/olcli

Answered from the data above

Who publishes io.github.aloth/olcli?

The registry ties the namespace io.github.aloth to the GitHub account aloth; only its owner can publish under it. Its linked repository, github.com/aloth/olcli, belongs to the same GitHub account. These are facts from the registry and GitHub, not a rating.

Is io.github.aloth/olcli safe to install?

We do not rate servers as safe or unsafe. 8 of its 9 applicable record checks are met (facts from public records, each listed on this page). What the records show: Its npm package carries a build-provenance attestation that names its source repository and build workflow. Its source repository opens publicly. Its repository had a push in the last 90 days. The listed version is the latest stable release. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev). Its full dependency tree has packages with advisories (2 high; npm audit). These are facts with their sources on this page, not a safety guarantee, and we did not run its tools.

Has io.github.aloth/olcli been security tested?

No. It requires a credential (a key or token) that the publisher marks as required. We never fill in credentials, so we did not start it.

Does io.github.aloth/olcli publish a security policy?

Yes: its repository has a public security policy (github.com/aloth/olcli/blob/HEAD/SECURITY.md). That is the publisher's statement, not permission for us to test the server, and we call none of its tools.

Is the listed version current?

Yes. The registry lists 0.15.3, the latest stable release on npm.

Where is the source code of io.github.aloth/olcli?

In github.com/aloth/olcli, which opens publicly.

Found this page useful?

Anonymous · no sign-in

A quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.

Compare with another server

Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.

Security testing

Has it been tested?

Feature #1

It requires a credential (a key or token) that the publisher marks as required. We never fill in credentials, so we did not start it. — the server's own choice

Required input the publisher declares: OVERLEAF_SESSION (secret).

Reference

How is it classified?

18 fields

One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.

TopicAI-classified
pending: added in the weekly update
listed 2026-11-03; not classified yet
Pricing modelAI-classified
pending: added in the weekly update
the website is not read yet
Programming language
api.github.com · 2026-11-03
Hosting type
registry · 2026-11-03
MCP capability
not checked
not read (no session)
Transport
standard input/output
registry · 2026-11-03
Required credentials
requires a secret
registry · 2026-11-03 · no declaration is not a guarantee
Package registry
registry · 2026-11-03
Freshness
0–30 days
registry updatedAt · 2026-11-03
Lifecycle status
registry · 2026-11-03
License class
package registry · 2026-11-03
Integrity hash
declared (sri)
package registry · 2026-11-03
Signature / provenance
package registry · 2026-11-03
Dependency advisories
high
npm audit · 2026-11-03
Popularity
3,254 downloads a month
package registry · 2026-11-03
Publisher signals
owner: a personal account · repository age: 181–365 days · stars: 100–999 · build record: signed and attested
api.github.com · 2026-11-03
Maintenance
api.github.com · 2026-11-03
Environment
your machine
where it runs, from the hosting type · 2026-11-03

“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.

Cite or correct this page

Sources and corrections

Suggested citation

ProtocolProbe. “io.github.aloth/olcli: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-11-03. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.aloth/olcli

Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.

As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.

Badge for your README

ProtocolProbe: 8 of 9 record checks met

[![ProtocolProbe](https://protocolprobe.com/api/v1/badge/io.github.aloth/olcli)](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.aloth/olcli)

It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.

Something wrong, or is this yours?

If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.

Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology