Skip to content

MCP servers › io.github.formray › tachyon

MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-10-30 · last checked 2026-10-30

tachyon MCP server

Registry name io.github.formray/tachyon

Tachyon GPU monitor — the publisher's title

by formray · GitHub account (the registry's namespace rule)repository: same ownerSource ↗Website ↗

Read-only NVIDIA GPU monitor: bottlenecks, VRAM forecast, crash diagnosis, pre-render check, jobs. — the publisher's description

4 of 4 record checks metversion 1.2.0Ruststandard input/output

Summary

io.github.formray/tachyon is a local MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 1.2.0, under the namespace of the GitHub account formray. Its linked repository, github.com/formray/tachyon, belongs to the same GitHub account.

Record checks

4 of 4 record checks met · 4 do not apply · 1 not checked

  • met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
  • met: Source repository link opens
  • met: Repository is not archived
  • met: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
  • not checked: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
  • not applicable: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
  • not applicable: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
  • not applicable: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
  • not applicable: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
  • Not ranked by downloads: not an npm or PyPI package
  • Not ranked by stars: 0 stars (ranked from 10)

From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason · Is it safe to install?

Operate this server? Correct a fact · README badge · Run the checks yourself

Key facts

Runs
local package
Transport
standard input/output
Your own values
none declared (not a guarantee)
Package
MCP bundle
Repository
public
Last tested
not tested

Tool list

Not read: It could be started, but has not been tested; we call no server's tools for anything we publish. This is our limit, not the server's. So there is no tool-list size and no result from the three APIs.

Add to your client

How fresh this is

Live-tested
no
Last tested
not tested
Latest version
1.2.0, published 2026-10-29 (registry, as of the 2026-10-30 snapshot)
First listed version
2026-10-26 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
Version history
3 versions listed, 2026-10-26 to 2026-10-29; 3 in the 90 days before the 2026-10-30 snapshot.
Most recent 3 versions
  • 1.2.0 · 2026-10-29
  • 1.1.0 · 2026-10-26
  • 1.0.1 · 2026-10-26
(versions still listed in the registry only)
Registry data
snapshot 2026-10-30
Package and repository
checked 2026-10-30

Dead or stale signals

None found in the records we hold

Looked for and not found: deprecated in the registry; repository link does not open; repository archived; no push in over 365 days. Does not apply: listed version cannot be installed or is withdrawn. Each line is a dated fact from a public record. It does not say whether the server still works, and a record can change after the date shown.

Changes since the last refresh

Version 1.1.0 (published 2026-10-26) → 1.2.0 (published 2026-10-29), between the registry lists of 2026-10-29 and 2026-10-30.

The publisher’s GitHub release note for v1.2.0 (“Tachyon v1.2.0”), published 2026-10-29.

Read the release note (the publisher’s text, shown as plain text, cut at 4,000 characters)
Four additions for render machines, all read-only like before, plus clearer crash and job reports.

**A Tachyon-only stop is diagnosed from what happened before it**
- When Tachyon stops but the PC keeps running (same boot), only evidence up to the stop counts. Events logged later (an app crashing ten minutes after) go to a separate `after_events` list ("After the stop · not related") and are never evidence. After a restart, application crashes logged after the stop are set apart the same way; the restart's own reports at the next boot still count.
- No RAM, BIOS, PSU or GPU-overclock causes for a Tachyon-only stop without direct evidence (WHEA hardware errors or GPU driver errors just before): the RAM speed, the BIOS start time and the clock belong to the boot, not to this stop.
- Without a crash of Tachyon (its crash log or a Windows Application Error for tachyon.exe) the verdict is "Tachyon was closed at 21:38. Your PC kept running.", a neutral note, not shown on the main view. A real crash of Tachyon reads "Tachyon crashed at ..."; a GPU driver error just before points to the driver.
- Reports saved by an older version are revised on load with these rules (the 26 Oct 21:38 report, which blamed later CC_Engine_x64.exe crashes and EXPO/BIOS from the earlier boot, now reads "closed, nothing to do").
- New `Report::verdict()` (what happened, is the PC OK, what to do) and `severity()` (note / warning / critical).

**Layout: verdict first, details on demand**
- Crash report: one-sentence verdict, then the top cause as a card with plain words (EXPO/XMP explained) and one action; other causes folded; evidence, peaks and timeline behind one row. Times in their own column, text wrapped (no ellipsis), at most three bullets per block, numbers and units aligned in the peaks grid, colour only for meaning (neutral note, amber warning, red critical). Events after the stop shown apart. Sections give way to "in the export" lines when the screen is short (checked at 100, 125 and 150 % scaling).
- New Job report view (menu "Last marked job report", "Job report ›" on the main view and in History): verdict, the numbers in an aligned grid (GPU, power, VRAM, energy, temperature, power-cap and heat-limit time), the PCIe link in one sentence, VRAM by process with bars (three shown, the rest folded), clock-limit reasons and earlier jobs folded.
- Main view: one type scale (12.5 body, 14 values and verdicts, 9.5 labels), wrapped sentences, the limiter shows its first reason "+N" instead of a cut word, a PCIe link row (neutral when full or saving power at idle, amber when slow), process rows drop whole details that do not fit instead of cutting them. The session timer row gave way to the PCIe link.

**Status, comparisons and plain words**
- One status scale for every verdict (`status.rs`): all fine (green dot), worth a look (amber), act now (red), always with its words ("ALL FINE") next to the dot. Crash reports, job reports, the pre-render check, the bottleneck line and the PCIe link use the same mapping.
- Cause shares are percentages only when two or more causes compete (the second has 20 % or more and the top one is under 80 %); otherwise a word: certain, likely or possible. No share bar for a single cause. The voice line follows the same rule.
- The job report compares with the previous run of the same job only (same name, run counters ignored; never a different job): speed, average GPU, VRAM peak, average power and energy as deltas, or "First run, nothing to compare." Also in History and in `get_job_reports` (`vs_previous`, `compared_with`).
- Plain words: "At power limit 55%" (share of the job's time, normal under full load) instead of "power cap 169 s"; "slowed by heat"; clock-limit reasons explained in one sentence each; the PCIe link glossed ("Gen5 x16 (PCIe 5.0, 16 lanes)"). The limiter on the main view says "power limit" in plain text (normal), heat or a power brake in amber.
- The "Tachyon only reads..." note sits behind a small (i) in t

The release on GitHub

Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-10-29 and on 2026-10-30; release notes from the GitHub Releases API, checked 2026-10-30.

What it is

How do I add it to my client?

Config from the registry entry
  • No config: the MCP bundle is a file to install in a client that supports bundles, not a command.

Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21; Cline, Gemini CLI, OpenAI Codex and Zed 2026-10-26). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.

Does the registry listing match what we found?

Feature #6

The registry checks an entry when it is published (each new version), and nothing re-checks it on a schedule. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.

Registry saysWe foundResultSource · date
Repository github.com/formray/tachyonOpens publiclymatchesapi.github.com · 2026-10-30

Who made it?

Feature #7 · lineage

Facts about the publisher. We do not turn them into a trust score.

Namespace
io.github.formray
GitHub owner
an organization (formray)
Repository
github.com/formray/tachyon
Stars
0
Repository age
0–30 days
Last push
0–30 days ago
Archived
no

Source: the registry entry and api.github.com · 2026-10-30.

Publish this server? Run these checks against it yourself before release, from your own machine: a server the command starts, or your own server at its URL after a one-time proof that you control it: npx protocolprobe-selftest.

Choosing

Record checks

Public records · not a safety rating

4 of 4 record checks met · 4 do not apply · 1 not checked

  • Not ranked by downloads: not an npm or PyPI package
  • Not ranked by stars: 0 stars (ranked from 10)
  • MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
  • MetSource repository link opensThe linked GitHub repository is public.
  • MetRepository is not archivedNot archived.
  • MetCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkLast push 0-30 days before our check.
  • Not checkedRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)We did not read this repository's security policy.
  • Does not applyPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierNot an npm or PyPI package.
  • Does not applyThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnNot an npm or PyPI package.
  • Does not applynpm package carries build provenance (attestation)PyPI packages have no npm-style attestation.
  • Does not applyNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependenciesNot an npm or PyPI package.

Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-10-30. No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating, and the same rules apply to every server. How each check works · Leaderboards · How we stay neutral

Common questions about io.github.formray/tachyon

Answered from the data above

Who publishes io.github.formray/tachyon?

The registry ties the namespace io.github.formray to the GitHub account formray; only its owner can publish under it. Its linked repository, github.com/formray/tachyon, belongs to the same GitHub account. These are facts from the registry and GitHub, not a rating.

Is io.github.formray/tachyon safe to install?

We do not rate servers as safe or unsafe. 4 of its 4 applicable record checks are met (facts from public records, each listed on this page). What the records show: Its source repository opens publicly. Its repository had a push in the last 90 days. These are facts with their sources on this page, not a safety guarantee, and we did not run its tools.

Has io.github.formray/tachyon been security tested?

No. It could be started, but has not been tested; we call no server's tools for anything we publish. This is our limit, not the server's.

Where is the source code of io.github.formray/tachyon?

In github.com/formray/tachyon, which opens publicly.

Found this page useful?

Anonymous · no sign-in

A quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.

Compare with another server

Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.

Security testing

Has it been tested?

Feature #1

It could be started, but has not been tested; we call no server's tools for anything we publish. This is our limit, not the server's. — our limit

Reference

How is it classified?

18 fields

One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.

TopicAI-classified
pending: added in a later update
listed 2026-10-30; not classified yet
Pricing modelAI-classified
pending: added in a later update
the website is not read yet
Programming language
api.github.com · 2026-10-30
Hosting type
registry · 2026-10-30
MCP capability
not checked
not read (no session)
Transport
standard input/output
registry · 2026-10-30
Required credentials
none declared
registry · 2026-10-30 · no declaration is not a guarantee
Package registry
registry · 2026-10-30
Freshness
0–30 days
registry updatedAt · 2026-10-30
Lifecycle status
registry · 2026-10-30
License class
does not apply
package ecosystem not queried by this layer (mcpb); only npm and PyPI are supported here
Integrity hash
does not apply
package ecosystem not queried by this layer (mcpb); only npm and PyPI are supported here
Signature / provenance
does not apply
package ecosystem not queried by this layer (mcpb); only npm and PyPI are supported here
Dependency advisories
not checked
only npm and PyPI packages are audited
Popularity
does not apply
package ecosystem not queried by this layer (mcpb); only npm and PyPI are supported here
Publisher signals
owner: an organization · repository age: 0–30 days · stars: 0–9
api.github.com · 2026-10-30
Maintenance
api.github.com · 2026-10-30
Environment
your machine
where it runs, from the hosting type · 2026-10-30

“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.

Cite or correct this page

Sources and corrections

Suggested citation

ProtocolProbe. “io.github.formray/tachyon: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-10-30. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.formray/tachyon

Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.

As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.

Badge for your README

ProtocolProbe: 4 of 4 record checks met

[![ProtocolProbe](https://protocolprobe.com/api/v1/badge/io.github.formray/tachyon)](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.formray/tachyon)

It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.

Something wrong, or is this yours?

If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.

Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology