MCP servers › io.github.mrfentmen › rickandmorty-mcp
MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-10-27 · last checked 2026-10-27
rickandmorty-mcp MCP server
Registry name io.github.mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp
by mrfentmen · GitHub account (the registry's namespace rule)repository: same ownerSource ↗npm ↗
Rick and Morty universe data: characters, locations and episodes with status, origin and episode — the publisher's description
Summary
io.github.mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp is a local MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 1.0.1, under the namespace of the GitHub account mrfentmen. Its linked repository, github.com/mrfentmen/awesome-servers, belongs to the same GitHub account.
Record checks
6 of 8 record checks met · 1 not checked
- met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
- met: Source repository link opens
- met: Repository is not archived
- met: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
- not checked: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
- met: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
- met: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
- not met: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
- not met: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
- #5,157 of 18,234 packages by monthly downloads, tied with 11 others
- Not ranked by stars: 0 stars (ranked from 10)
From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason · Is it safe to install?
Operate this server? Correct a fact · README badge · Run the checks yourself
Key facts
- Runs
- local package
- Transport
- standard input/output
- Your own values
- none declared (not a guarantee)
- Package
- npm · listed version behind the latest release
- License
- MIT
- Dependencies
- 2 packages with a critical or high advisory (0 critical, 2 high)
- Repository
- public
- Last tested
- not tested
Tool list
Not read: It could be started, but has not been tested; we call no server's tools for anything we publish. This is our limit, not the server's. So there is no tool-list size and no result from the three APIs.
Worth knowing before you connect it
- The registry lists 1.0.0; 1.0.1 is newer (1 release).
- 2 packages with a critical or high advisory (0 critical, 2 high) in its dependencies (as resolved on 2026-10-27).
Each line comes from a section below, with its source and date.
How fresh this is
- Live-tested
- no
- Last tested
- not tested
- Latest version
- 1.0.1, published 2026-10-27 (registry, as of the 2026-10-27 snapshot)
- First listed version
- 2026-10-27 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
- Registry data
- snapshot 2026-10-27
- Package and repository
- checked 2026-10-27
Dead or stale signals
None found in the records we hold
Looked for and not found: deprecated in the registry; listed version cannot be installed or is withdrawn; repository link does not open; repository archived; no push in over 365 days. Each line is a dated fact from a public record. It does not say whether the server still works, and a record can change after the date shown.
Changes since the last refresh
New in the registry: not in the list of 2026-10-26, listed on 2026-10-27 with version 1.0.1 (published 2026-10-27).
Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-10-26 and on 2026-10-27.
What it is
How do I add it to my client?
Config from the registry entry
From the npm package @mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp
Add to CursorAn install link in the format Cursor documents, holding the Cursor config below. The command runs the publisher’s code on your machine.
Claude Desktop · claude_desktop_config.json (Settings → Developer → Edit Config)
{
"mcpServers": {
"rickandmorty-mcp": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"@mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp@1.0.0"
]
}
}
}Cursor · .cursor/mcp.json in a project, or ~/.cursor/mcp.json
{
"mcpServers": {
"rickandmorty-mcp": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"@mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp@1.0.0"
]
}
}
}VS Code · .vscode/mcp.json
{
"servers": {
"rickandmorty-mcp": {
"type": "stdio",
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"@mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp@1.0.0"
]
}
}
}VS Code (command line) · Bash or zsh terminal (macOS, Linux)
code --add-mcp '{"name":"rickandmorty-mcp","type":"stdio","command":"npx","args":["-y","@mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp@1.0.0"]}'Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio rickandmorty-mcp -- npx -y @mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp@1.0.0
Cline · cline_mcp_settings.json (Cline CLI: ~/.cline/data/settings/; in the editor: MCP Servers → Configure → Configure MCP Servers)
{
"mcpServers": {
"rickandmorty-mcp": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"@mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp@1.0.0"
],
"disabled": false,
"autoApprove": []
}
}
}Gemini CLI · ~/.gemini/settings.json, or .gemini/settings.json in a project
{
"mcpServers": {
"rickandmorty-mcp": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"@mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp@1.0.0"
]
}
}
}OpenAI Codex · ~/.codex/config.toml, or .codex/config.toml in a trusted project
[mcp_servers.rickandmorty-mcp] command = "npx" args = ["-y", "@mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp@1.0.0"]
Zed · Zed settings file (command: zed: open settings file)
{
"context_servers": {
"rickandmorty-mcp": {
"command": "npx",
"args": [
"-y",
"@mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp@1.0.0"
]
}
}
}Try it in the MCP Inspector · runs on your machine, opens in your browser · Node 22.19+
npx @modelcontextprotocol/inspector@2.11.0 -- npx -y @mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp@1.0.0
- This runs the publisher's code on your machine (npx). Read its README first.
- The MCP Inspector lists the server's tools, resources and prompts; a tool you call there runs for real.
Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21; Cline, Gemini CLI, OpenAI Codex and Zed 2026-10-26). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.
Can it be installed, and is it up to date?
Version pin · advisories
Listed version
- Registry lists
- 1.0.0
- Latest stable
- 1.0.1
- Status
- behind the latest release (1 releases, 0 days)
- Withdrawn
- no
Source: registry.npmjs.org · 2026-10-27. About the version the registry lists; a manual install may resolve to a different one.
Dependency advisories
Counted in the full dependency tree as resolved on 2026-10-27 (npm audit; each bar counts packages with an advisory, not advisories). Bars share one scale. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev).
Integrity, provenance, license
- Integrity
- sha512-mejRw8zdfmt0yQHi/…
- Signature
- signed
- License
- MIT
Source: the package registry · 2026-10-27.
Usage
- Downloads
- 613 in the last month
Source: api.npmjs.org · 2026-10-27.
Does the registry listing match what we found?
Feature #6The registry checks an entry when it is published (each new version), and nothing re-checks it on a schedule. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.
| Registry says | We found | Result | Source · date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Version 1.0.0 on npm | Exists and can be installed | matches | npm · 2026-10-27 |
| Repository github.com/mrfentmen/awesome-servers | Opens publicly | matches | api.github.com · 2026-10-27 |
Who made it?
Feature #7 · lineage
Facts about the publisher. We do not turn them into a trust score.
- Namespace
- io.github.mrfentmen · 1,079 servers
- GitHub owner
- a personal account (mrfentmen)
- Build record
- signed
- Repository
- github.com/mrfentmen/awesome-servers
- Stars
- 0
- Repository age
- 31–90 days
- Last push
- 0–30 days ago
- Archived
- no
Source: the registry entry and api.github.com · 2026-10-27.
Publish this server? Run these checks against it yourself before release, from your own machine: a server the command starts, or your own server at its URL after a one-time proof that you control it: npx protocolprobe-selftest.
Choosing
Record checks
Public records · not a safety rating6 of 8 record checks met · 1 not checked
- #5,157 of 18,234 packages by monthly downloads, tied with 11 others
- Not ranked by stars: 0 stars (ranked from 10)
- MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
- MetSource repository link opensThe linked GitHub repository is public.
- MetRepository is not archivedNot archived.
- MetCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkLast push 0-30 days before our check.
- Not checkedRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)We did not read this repository's security policy.
- MetPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierMIT
- MetThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnThe listed version exists; a newer one is out.
- Not metnpm package carries build provenance (attestation)Signed by npm, but no build attestation.What changes this check: npm's documentation describes publishing with provenance from a cloud-hosted runner of a supported CI/CD provider, using npm CLI 9.5.0 or newer and npm publish --provenance. npm: generating provenance statements
- Not metNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies2 packages in its dependencies with a critical or high advisory (npm audit counts packages, not advisories).What changes this check: npm's documentation describes listing a project's dependency advisories with npm audit and applying compatible dependency updates. npm: npm audit
Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-10-27. No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating, and the same rules apply to every server. How each check works · Leaderboards · How we stay neutral
Common questions about io.github.mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp
Answered from the data aboveWho publishes io.github.mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp?
The registry ties the namespace io.github.mrfentmen to the GitHub account mrfentmen; only its owner can publish under it. Its linked repository, github.com/mrfentmen/awesome-servers, belongs to the same GitHub account. These are facts from the registry and GitHub, not a rating.
Is io.github.mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp safe to install?
We do not rate servers as safe or unsafe. 6 of its 8 applicable record checks are met (facts from public records, each listed on this page). What the records show: Its source repository opens publicly. Its repository had a push in the last 90 days. A newer stable release exists than the one listed. The package itself has no known vulnerability (OSV.dev). Its full dependency tree has packages with advisories (2 high; npm audit). These are facts with their sources on this page, not a safety guarantee, and we did not run its tools.
Has io.github.mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp been security tested?
No. It could be started, but has not been tested; we call no server's tools for anything we publish. This is our limit, not the server's.
Is the listed version current?
No. The registry lists 1.0.0; the latest stable release on npm is 1.0.1.
Where is the source code of io.github.mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp?
In github.com/mrfentmen/awesome-servers, which opens publicly.
Found this page useful?
Anonymous · no sign-inA quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.
Compare with another server
Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.
Security testing
Has it been tested?
Feature #1It could be started, but has not been tested; we call no server's tools for anything we publish. This is our limit, not the server's. — our limit
Reference
How is it classified?
18 fields
One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.
“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.
Cite or correct this page
Sources and corrections
Suggested citation
ProtocolProbe. “io.github.mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-10-27. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp
Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.
As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.
Badge for your README
[](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.mrfentmen/rickandmorty-mcp)
It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.
Something wrong, or is this yours?
If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.
Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology