MCP servers › io.github.webcafeina › apolo
MCP server · registry snapshot 2026-10-31 · last checked 2026-10-31
apolo MCP server
Registry name io.github.webcafeina/apolo
by webcafeina · GitHub account (the registry's namespace rule)repository: same ownerSource ↗Website ↗
Optimize, convert and compare images locally: WebP, AVIF, JPEG XL, JPEG and PNG. — the publisher's description
Summary
io.github.webcafeina/apolo is a local MCP server listed in the official MCP registry at version 1.0.1, under the namespace of the GitHub account webcafeina. Its linked repository, github.com/webcafeina/Apolo, belongs to the same GitHub account.
Record checks
4 of 4 record checks met · 4 do not apply · 1 not checked
- met: Registry entry is active and says how to run it
- met: Source repository link opens
- met: Repository is not archived
- met: Code pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our check
- not checked: Repository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)
- not applicable: Package names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifier
- not applicable: The version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawn
- not applicable: npm package carries build provenance (attestation)
- not applicable: No known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependencies
- Not ranked by downloads: not an npm or PyPI package
- Not ranked by stars: 3 stars (ranked from 10)
From public records, not a safety rating. Each check with its reason · Is it safe to install?
Operate this server? Correct a fact · README badge · Run the checks yourself
Key facts
- Runs
- local package
- Transport
- standard input/output
- Your own values
- none declared (not a guarantee)
- Package
- MCP bundle
- Repository
- public
- Last tested
- not tested
Tool list
Not read: It could be started, but has not been tested; we call no server's tools for anything we publish. This is our limit, not the server's. So there is no tool-list size and no result from the three APIs.
How fresh this is
- Live-tested
- no
- Last tested
- not tested
- Latest version
- 1.0.1, published 2026-10-30 (registry, as of the 2026-10-31 snapshot)
- First listed version
- 2026-10-27 (earliest version still in the registry; older removed versions would be earlier)
- Version history
- 2 versions listed, 2026-10-27 to 2026-10-30; 2 in the 90 days before the 2026-10-31 snapshot.(versions still listed in the registry only)
Most recent 2 versions
1.0.1· 2026-10-301.0.0· 2026-10-27
- Registry data
- snapshot 2026-10-31
- Package and repository
- checked 2026-10-31
Dead or stale signals
None found in the records we hold
Looked for and not found: deprecated in the registry; repository link does not open; repository archived; no push in over 365 days. Does not apply: listed version cannot be installed or is withdrawn. Each line is a dated fact from a public record. It does not say whether the server still works, and a record can change after the date shown.
Changes since the last refresh
Version 1.0.0 (published 2026-10-27) → 1.0.1 (published 2026-10-30), between the registry lists of 2026-10-30 and 2026-10-31.
The publisher’s GitHub release note for v1.0.1 (“Apolo v1.0.1”), published 2026-10-30.
Read the release note (the publisher’s text, shown as plain text, cut at 4,000 characters)
**Una versión de seguridad.** Llega por el actualizador, y conviene instalarla. *English below.* ## Qué cambia - **Abrir fotos HEIC, más seguro.** libheif, la biblioteca que lee las fotos del iPhone, pasa a la 1.23.7, que corrige catorce fallos graves: entre ellos, uno de memoria que solo tenía la versión que llevaba Apolo, y varios con los que una foto pequeña y manipulada tardaba minutos en abrirse. - **Leer PNG al convertir a AVIF o JPEG XL, más seguro.** libpng pasa a la 1.6.58, con los arreglos de varias lecturas fuera de límites con PNG manipulados. - **El actualizador, al día**: Tauri 2.12.5 y su plugin de actualizaciones 2.14.1, con la biblioteca de zip sin los avisos de seguridad de octubre y una comprobación de la firma más estricta. En macOS, si una actualización falla, ya no se borra la aplicación instalada. - Nada más cambia: cada formato sigue dando el mismo fichero, byte a byte, que su herramienta oficial. Si usas Apolo desde Claude Desktop, ciérralo y vuelve a abrirlo después de actualizar. ## Descargas | Sistema | Aplicación | Línea de comandos | Claude Desktop | |---|---|---|---| | macOS 11+ (Apple Silicon e Intel) | `Apolo_1.0.1_universal.dmg` | `apolo-cli-1.0.1-macos-universal.tar.gz` | `Apolo-1.0.1-macos.mcpb` | | Windows 10/11 x64 | `Apolo_1.0.1_x64-setup.exe` | `apolo-cli-1.0.1-windows-x64.zip` | `Apolo-1.0.1-windows-x64.mcpb` | | Windows 10/11 ARM64 | `Apolo_1.0.1_arm64-setup.exe` | `apolo-cli-1.0.1-windows-arm64.zip` | `Apolo-1.0.1-windows-arm64.mcpb` | | Linux amd64 | `.deb` (Debian 12+, Ubuntu 22.04+), `.rpm` (Fedora, openSUSE) o `.AppImage` | `apolo-cli-1.0.1-linux-amd64.tar.gz` | `Apolo-1.0.1-linux-amd64.mcpb` | | Linux arm64 | `.deb` (Debian 12+, Ubuntu 22.04+), `.rpm` (Fedora, openSUSE) o `.AppImage` | `apolo-cli-1.0.1-linux-arm64.tar.gz` | `Apolo-1.0.1-linux-arm64.mcpb` | Lo más fácil es la web, [apolo.webcafeina.com](https://apolo.webcafeina.com), que te da la descarga de tu ordenador. En Linux, los repositorios APT y RPM la ponen al día con el resto del sistema. Si ya tienes la extensión de Claude Desktop, no hace falta reinstalarla: usa el `apolo-mcp` de la aplicación, que se actualiza con ella. **Después de actualizar Apolo, cierra y vuelve a abrir Claude Desktop** (o apaga y enciende la extensión en Ajustes › Extensiones). En Claude Code, basta con empezar una sesión nueva. Con la v0.3.3 o posterior instalada no hace falta bajar nada: Apolo avisa y se actualiza solo. `SHA256SUMS.txt` tiene la suma de cada fichero; los `.app.tar.gz`, los `.sig` y `latest.json` son para el actualizador. Cada fichero lleva su procedencia firmada por GitHub (`gh attestation verify <fichero> --repo webcafeina/Apolo`). **Los instaladores no están firmados.** La primera vez: - **macOS**: abre Apolo, y en Ajustes del Sistema → Privacidad y seguridad pulsa «Abrir igualmente». Si dice que está dañado: `xattr -dr com.apple.quarantine /Applications/Apolo.app`. - **Windows**: SmartScreen → «Más información» → «Ejecutar de todos modos». Software libre con licencia GPLv3. Lleva libheif y libde265 (LGPLv3) para leer HEIC, MozJPEG (IJG y BSD), OxiPNG (MIT), libimagequant (GPLv3), libavif, aom, libyuv y libjxl (BSD), highway y sjpeg (Apache-2.0), y el SDK de MCP rmcp (Apache-2.0). Los iconos de Linux son de Yaru (CC BY-SA 4.0) en GNOME y de Breeze (LGPL-3.0) en KDE. --- ## In English **A security release.** It arrives through the updater, and you should install it. - **Opening HEIC photos, safer.** libheif, the library that reads iPhone photos, moves to 1.23.7, which fixes fourteen serious issues: among them, a memory bug that only the version Apolo shipped had, and several that made a small, crafted photo take minutes to open. - **Reading PNG when converting to AVIF or JPEG XL, safer.** libpng moves to 1.6.58, with the fixes for several out-of-bounds reads with crafted PNGs. - **The updater, up to date**: Tauri 2.12.5 and its updater plugin 2.14.1, with the zip library free of October's
Source: the official MCP Registry list on 2026-10-30 and on 2026-10-31; release notes from the GitHub Releases API, checked 2026-10-31.
What it is
How do I add it to my client?
Config from the registry entry
- No config: the MCP bundle is a file to install in a client that supports bundles, not a command.
Built from the server's registry entry with each client's documented format (checked 2026-10-14; the Cursor link and the VS Code command 2026-10-19; the MCP Inspector command 2026-10-21; Cline, Gemini CLI, OpenAI Codex and Zed 2026-10-26). Values in < > are yours to fill in; this page never contains a key. Where the server needs a setting the entry does not declare, it can still fail to start.
Does the registry listing match what we found?
Feature #6The registry checks an entry when it is published (each new version), and nothing re-checks it on a schedule. A difference below is about the listing, not a judgement of the publisher.
| Registry says | We found | Result | Source · date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Repository github.com/webcafeina/Apolo | Opens publicly | matches | api.github.com · 2026-10-31 |
Who made it?
Feature #7 · lineage
Facts about the publisher. We do not turn them into a trust score.
- Namespace
- io.github.webcafeina
- GitHub owner
- a personal account (webcafeina)
- Repository
- github.com/webcafeina/Apolo
- Stars
- 3
- Repository age
- 0–30 days
- Last push
- 0–30 days ago
- Archived
- no
Source: the registry entry and api.github.com · 2026-10-31.
Publish this server? Run these checks against it yourself before release, from your own machine: a server the command starts, or your own server at its URL after a one-time proof that you control it: npx protocolprobe-selftest.
Choosing
Record checks
Public records · not a safety rating4 of 4 record checks met · 4 do not apply · 1 not checked
- Not ranked by downloads: not an npm or PyPI package
- Not ranked by stars: 3 stars (ranked from 10)
- MetRegistry entry is active and says how to run itActive, with a package or a remote address.
- MetSource repository link opensThe linked GitHub repository is public.
- MetRepository is not archivedNot archived.
- MetCode pushed to the repository in the 90 days before our checkLast push 0-30 days before our check.
- Not checkedRepository publishes a security policy (SECURITY.md)We did not read this repository's security policy.
- Does not applyPackage names its licence with a standard (SPDX) identifierNot an npm or PyPI package.
- Does not applyThe version the registry lists can be installed and is not withdrawnNot an npm or PyPI package.
- Does not applynpm package carries build provenance (attestation)PyPI packages have no npm-style attestation.
- Does not applyNo known critical or high advisory in the package or its dependenciesNot an npm or PyPI package.
Read from public records only: the registry entry, npm/PyPI, GitHub and advisory databases, checked 2026-10-31. No tool was called. Only “met” and “not met” are counted, so the total differs between servers; a check that does not apply or that we could not run is listed, never counted against it. It is not a safety rating, and the same rules apply to every server. How each check works · Leaderboards · How we stay neutral
Common questions about io.github.webcafeina/apolo
Answered from the data aboveWho publishes io.github.webcafeina/apolo?
The registry ties the namespace io.github.webcafeina to the GitHub account webcafeina; only its owner can publish under it. Its linked repository, github.com/webcafeina/Apolo, belongs to the same GitHub account. These are facts from the registry and GitHub, not a rating.
Is io.github.webcafeina/apolo safe to install?
We do not rate servers as safe or unsafe. 4 of its 4 applicable record checks are met (facts from public records, each listed on this page). What the records show: Its source repository opens publicly. Its repository had a push in the last 90 days. These are facts with their sources on this page, not a safety guarantee, and we did not run its tools.
Has io.github.webcafeina/apolo been security tested?
No. It could be started, but has not been tested; we call no server's tools for anything we publish. This is our limit, not the server's.
Where is the source code of io.github.webcafeina/apolo?
In github.com/webcafeina/Apolo, which opens publicly.
Found this page useful?
Anonymous · no sign-inA quick, anonymous reaction — no account, no email. One per kind from your browser. The tally updates when the page is next refreshed, and it is only a rough count, never a safety rating or a measured number of people.
Compare with another server
Side by side: registry entry, our read-only session, the tools and the 18 classification fields. Same values as each page; no score.
Security testing
Has it been tested?
Feature #1It could be started, but has not been tested; we call no server's tools for anything we publish. This is our limit, not the server's. — our limit
Reference
How is it classified?
18 fields
One value per field, each with its source. Fields written by AI models are marked. A field with no value says why.
“Not stated” means the source did not state it; “does not apply” means it does not apply to this kind of server; “our limit” means our own lookup failed. A linked value opens the directory filtered to the same value.
Cite or correct this page
Sources and corrections
Suggested citation
ProtocolProbe. “io.github.webcafeina/apolo: MCP server record.” Data checked 2026-10-31. https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.webcafeina/apolo
Figures are valid for the date shown. Our facts on this page are CC BY 4.0: reuse them with a link and the check date. Quoted text (the publisher’s descriptions, website quotes, tool names) is not ours to license.
As JSON: this record in the API · API documentation.
Badge for your README
[](https://protocolprobe.com/mcp/servers/io.github.webcafeina/apolo)
It shows this server's record-check count: facts from public records, no tool called. It is not a security rating or a pass. It links here and updates after each data reload.
Something wrong, or is this yours?
If a fact here is wrong, tell us and we will re-check it. If you operate this server, you can run our checks on it yourself with the free self-test command; we call no server’s tools ourselves for anything shown here.
Write to hello@protocolprobe.com · corrections log · methodology